Dianne R. (nanadi) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
About Face (Guido Brunetti, Bk 18)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/11/2012


As always, Donna Leon has made me at home in Venice. I love the meals she has Paolo cook. It is so interesting how the clues arrive to Guido and how he mixes them up to come to a conclusion. Wonderful.


The Bone Garden (Wesley Peterson, Bk 5)
The Bone Garden (Wesley Peterson, Bk 5)
Author: Kate Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/8/2012


Another great mystery by Kate Ellis. I enjoyed the uncovering of many layers of relationships and the time lines of the mystery.


Closed Circle
Closed Circle
Author: Robert Goddard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2014


As I started this book, it seemed to be very slow in revealing the story line. The further I read, the better it got. I was fooled from the beginning to the end. Just as I thought I understood what was going on, I was surprised. Goddard did a great job with a simple premise.
Loved it.


Cruel Habitations
Cruel Habitations
Author: Kate Charles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely the best I have read in a long time. The setting is well described as are the people. There were a lot of possibilities and when I picked the one I thought was correct, it was not. Well written. I will look for more books like this one.


The Damascened Blade (Detective Joe Sandilands, Bk 3)
The Damascened Blade (Detective Joe Sandilands, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Cleverly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/7/2012


Excellent continuation of this series about Sandilands. The detective is "forced" by higher authorities to travel to a remote British outpost in India. The descriptions of the land and atmosphere as well as the people who inhabit and the visitors of the land are outstanding. Twists and turns occur that have you wondering if you are really reading a book or watching a detailed murder-thriller. The reasons behind the actions in the book are revealed and only seen at the end. A great story.


Dancing to the Precipice: The Life of Lucie de la Tour du Pin, Eyewitness to an Era
Review Date: 5/25/2014


Even though I don't understand politics very well, this was a great book about France and England before, during and after the French Revolution. Napoleon, Kings and Queens came alive and some just as quickly died. The descriptions of the clothes, methods of travel and behind the scenes action was great. Glad I read it.


The Dante Killings: A Thriller
The Dante Killings: A Thriller
Author: David Hewson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2014


This book in the series is not my favorite. The clues came too slowly but in the end it all made sense. It was good to see the "group" work in America.


Death at Daisy's Folly (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 3)
Death at Daisy's Folly (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: Robin Paige
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 2/16/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This author continues to use her special abilities to read people and events. She makes "good reading".


A Death in Summer: A Novel
A Death in Summer: A Novel
Author: Benjamin Black
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/8/2014


The Audio CD of this book by Benjamin Black was exciting. Not only the story line but hearing the accents was revealing. You have to really like Black's method of writing and have patience because all will be revealed in the end. I do like how he gives a good continuation at the end of what happened to everyone after the murder is solved. Looking forward to more of Black's books/CDs.


Dig Deep for Murder (Manor House, Bk 4)
Dig Deep for Murder (Manor House, Bk 4)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/3/2012


One of the best of the series. I am so sad there will be no more.


First Wife, Twice Removed (Superintendent Mike Yeadings, Bk 8)
First Wife, Twice Removed (Superintendent Mike Yeadings, Bk 8)
Author: Clare Curzon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/29/2011


Excellently written mystery. Loved all of Clare Curzon mysteries.


Folly du Jour
Folly du Jour
Author: Barbara Cleverly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/4/2012


Joe Sandilands to the rescue again. This time Paris is the place to NOT be for Sir George Jardine. This gentleman is up to his eyeballs in murder---which he is convicted of my the French police. Joe saves the day but it takes a while. Very interesting and excellent descriptions of Paris.


French in 10 Minutes a Day
French in 10 Minutes a Day
Author: Kristine K. Kershul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/29/2011


Very good little book. It has needed phrases and words you need to tour France.


Friend of the Devil (Inspector Banks, Bk 17)
Friend of the Devil (Inspector Banks, Bk 17)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/9/2011


Peter Robinson continues to bring freshness to a mystery.


Funeral Music (Sara Selkirk, Bk 1)
Funeral Music (Sara Selkirk, Bk 1)
Author: Morag Joss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/8/2012


Never having visited Bath in my many travels to England, this was a joy to read. Great descriptions and history of Roman Bath. Joss created more than a few great personalities and a few horrible people as suspects. Good read.


The Hidden Assassins (Javier Falcón, Bk 3)
The Hidden Assassins (Javier Falcón, Bk 3)
Author: Robert Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/4/2014


A very good continuation of the series about Falcon. The story line is very well continued and the author "tickles" you with the results or rewards of occurrences in the first book. Falcon comes across as very strong and determined. Can't wait for the next book.


The Ignorance of Blood (Javier Falcon, Bk 4)
The Ignorance of Blood (Javier Falcon, Bk 4)
Author: Robert Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/15/2014


The last and the best. All the questions are answered and it is amazing how the answers all tie together. I wish there was more of this series. Robert Wilson is a great writer.


Jack, Knave and Fool (Sir John Fielding, Bk 5)
Jack, Knave and Fool (Sir John Fielding, Bk 5)
Author: Bruce Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/16/2012


This book was a little hard to read. Lots of things happening I could not keep up with. Did enjoy it.


Lazybones (Tom Thorne, Bk 3)
Lazybones (Tom Thorne, Bk 3)
Author: Mark Billingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/23/2012


Very well written. The opening was enough to get me hooked. There really was no stopping, all the way to the end. I will look for his other books.


A Most Contagious Game
A Most Contagious Game
Author: Catherine Aird
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/4/2012


Anything by Catherine Aird is great. Once again she had made murder interesting. You can learn a lot about old English Manor Houses and see a lot of different types of neighbors. Good read.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: