Lisa R. (alterlisa) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 289 - Page:
13 Minutes
13 Minutes
Author: Sarah Pinborough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/12/2017


Well here I was patting myself on the back because I had it all figured out. Yeah, sure I did! Then I realize I'm only halfway through the book! Let me tell you the rest of the story blew me away!
In general, I stay away from "mean girl" books and movies although PLL did suck me in big time for years. I honestly can say that despite not caring a crap about any of the characters in the book, I had a very hard time putting this book down. It is a great twisty story and though listed as a YA book, I wouldn't recommend it to YA readers. Way too much sex, drugs, and lies for this parent's comfort level. This is definitely a book I'm passing on to my 20ish daughter who teaches these creatures that honestly at times I didn't even recognize as human beings. Through most of the story, my one thought as a parent would be the horror of knowing that you had birthed and raised some of these girls.
This is a book that is told from alternating POVs, diary entries and texts. Ordinarily this style would piss me off royally as it drags me out of the story but (and it kills me to say this) it works here. Had I know up front this was the writing style, I'd have probably walked away as I have from so many other YA books. I guess I'm just going to have to accept this style if I continue to read YA books but I don't have to like it. That said, I'm glad and scared that I enjoyed the ride.


Abandon the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 3)
Abandon the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Joss Ware
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/26/2010


Omg, how does this series just keep getting better! The romance in this one was super! I just love a kick-ass woman that can still be so feminine. Ware has yet another winner in this series. I again managed to read this book in less than a day although it'll be 6 more months before I get another taste of new Las Vegas, aka NV, aka Envy. Ware is amazing as always with her descriptions and great action scenes. Once you start this book, you won't lay it down. In this book we get a much more detailed look at the Strangers and a few of the what's and why's are answered, although, there's still a lot of storyline yet to come. This is paranormal romance mixed with urban fantasy for a trip to the future that will keep you enthralled for hours.


Absolute Trust (True Heroes, Bk 3)
Absolute Trust (True Heroes, Bk 3)
Author: Piper J. Drake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/16/2016


Though I'd not read the earlier books in this series (and I will go back and indulge in them), I had no problem following this story. Loved Drake's characters, one of the main things that made this such a fun read. The other- the pacing-OMG, I felt like I was driving on black ice and had to keep stopping and flexing my fingers as I was clutching my Kindle so tight, my fingers would not let loose. I just love a story that has me clinging on for dear life. I've just started listening to audiobooks and this series if narrated by a strong voice would be awesome to listen to while driving.


Accidentally Demonic (Accidentals, Bk 4)
Accidentally Demonic (Accidentals, Bk 4)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 3/18/2010


Accidentally Demonic (Accidental Friends, Bk 4)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Rating * * * *
Review Date 3/18/10
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Berkley Trade; 2/2/2010
ISBN-13: 978-0425232286

When mild-mannered Casey Schwartz wakes up in jail, she has no memory of how she got there.
But after her sister, Wanda, bails her out, Casey has more to deal with than a foggy memory-
like abrupt mood swings and fireballs shooting from her fingertips. But things really head
south when a vampire shows up on her doorstep...

Vampire Clayton Gunnersson is seriously hot. And seriously taken -- by a demon. In a ritual,
gone wrong, Clayton tried to get rid of his unwanted bond, but spilled some demonic blood on
Casey, getting her possessed in the process. Now, Casey has to share her body and manage to
keep her growing attraction to Clayton in check, because falling for her demon's boyfriend
just might get Casey killed -- from the inside out.

If you like a laugh or snort with your paranormal, youve got to read Dakotas latest addition to her Accidentally series. I made myself take at least 2 days to read this as I knew that her next Accidentally was 15 months away. May 2011-too long I tell you.

While Casey can hold her own with that whinny bitch Nina, it was hilarious to see the two of them go at it. Nina was always bitchy and its a hoot to see someone as mild mannered as Casey go from normal to womp-ass in 3 seconds flat. Ive never seen the emos swing so much in anyone under 50 that wasnt going through menopause. Wow! What Id have given to be able to shoot fire out of my fingertips at that time and singe a little hair. And when Nina and Casey take on the Double Knit twins, honestly I thought Id pee in my pants.

While the romance factor in this book didnt seem as smooth, maybe even a little forced, this book is well worth the time to read. The best parts in my opinion are the three characters from the earlier books. I love how their friendship unites them in a cause but I sure missed the Bobbie-Sue Cosmetics color wheels. :(

Check out Dakota Cassidy at http://www.dakotacassidy.net/ for a list of her other books and where she had this to say:
And lastly, I got another gig. Yepthose crazy accidentals have another installment in May 2011 titled Accidentally Catty. A vet who turns into a cougar who kinda IS a cougar cause shes 40HAHAHAHAHAHA.
An unfortunately, I can't put this book up to swap as it's autographed by DC so you're going to have to get your copy elsewhere.

Accidental Friends
1. Accidental Werewolf (2008)
2. Accidentally Dead (2008)
3. The Accidental Human (2009)
4. Accidentally Demonic (2010)
5. Accidentally Catty (5/2011)


After Dark (Vamps, Bk 3)
After Dark (Vamps, Bk 3)
Author: Nancy A. Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/26/2010


Again, a seriously fun action packed read. My only complaint was it was over way too quick. While I asked myself if Cally hadn't become to dumb to live, I still did not want this series to end. So if you want a quick read and don't mind that there may not be another book and thus answers to some of your questions, pick up this series.


The Aftermath
The Aftermath
Author: Jen Alexander
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/31/2014


Though Im a lover of YA Dystopian fiction, Ive never been much of a gamer, so I thought that a lot of this book would be over my head. Surprising, it wasnt and I really loved the idea of the RPG being played by real people (though they don't realize it) that was controlled by richer real people. The one thought that kept circling in my mind was what if the gamer was grounded by their parents for awhile, would their game character die without food and water? I gotta admit, this aspect of it really freaked me out.
I enjoyed the pace of the book and while it wasnt overly action driven there was a nice balance between the action in the game and the downtime of the characters. In the beginning, I thought that the characters were a bit flat but once realizing that they were just movable pieces in a game, it made sense for them to be pretty emotionless. You quickly realize that Claudia is the exception to this and then it reaches a whole other level of intensity. Im looking forward to the next book in this series cause when you say cliffhanger, boy does the author leave you with a doozy of one.


Aftermath
Aftermath
Author: Clara Kensie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/4/2017


This is a great book-this is a horrible book- this is a horribly great book. It will rip your heart out and you'll cry nasty tears. You'll curse yourself for picking it up to read (cause you knew going in it was NOT going to be an easy read) while not being able to lay it down except to grab a tissue as your nose is spewing snot because you've been crying nonstop.
As a parent, you worry about your child from the time you realize you are pregnant till you take your last breath You worry about if he's going to make it 9 months growing in your belly, you worry if he'll be healthy, you worry if he'll have your husband's gorgeous blue eyes

or your uncle's goofy ears.


You worry about anything and everything. It never ends. When they start school, you worry if they'll make friends easily, if they'll be smart, athletic, popular, and all kinds of crazy stuff. And then there are the real worries as they get older, when you realize you can't be there 24/7. They start being more independent and you realize that you can't vet every friend they make or every stranger they meet.
This story addresses the aftermath of trying to put a broken family back together after having had one of the most horrendous unimaginable things happen to them. One of their precious daughters disappears after a ball game and for over four years they don't know if she's alive or dead.
Everyone handles the loss in a different way and once this child, now a 16 year returns, it really gets rough. This story doesn't get too graphic but your mind will paint pictures that will stay with you for eons after reading it.
This is a YA book and I'll pass my copy on to my daughter to lend to her high school students. It's a pretty quick read but wait and read it over a weekend so that you can devote the time to it as I promise once started you will not be able to ignore it till you read that last page and even then you'll think about it and be pissed that it won't leave you alone.
It would not surprise me to see this book optioned as a movie later on but I'm not sure I could bear to see it.


All Laced Up
All Laced Up
Author: Erin Fletcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/16/2016


This was a pretty cute YA sports romance that was suitable for Middle school consumption and up. This is a heartwarming story that has a lot of hockey and figure skating to entertain you with. I loved seeing the characters work at their individual career struggles and how they related to their siblings. I'm not overly fond of the false beginning to their relationship as I'm one who feels that trust and honesty is a major building block in relationships and though it made for a good storyline, the target age group may not recognize this negative aspect. As a southern, I'm not real familiar with either sports and
thoroughly enjoyed learning more about these cold weather activities and the exhaustive toll on YAs.
This is one of many Entangled Teen Crush books that I've read and I'm sure it won't be the last as my daughter is always looking for new books to add to her classroom library.


All the Missing Girls: A Novel
All the Missing Girls: A Novel
Author: Megan Miranda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/1/2017


While the story was a fun and easy read it was only semi-suspenseful.
I like a good twisty turny thriller and this just missed the mark. To familiar to "gone girl" and "girl on a train" to totally captivate me. I also felt like it had more of a YA or NA leaning and I was really looking forward to a good thriller that would leave you thinking about it afterwards. Unfortunately, it was too easy to lay it down and rather a job to finish.


Almost Midnight (Shadow Falls: After Dark)
Almost Midnight (Shadow Falls: After Dark)
Author: C. C. Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/24/2016


I've been thinking about reading this series
for awhile so when I got a chance to read this
collection of novellas from the series, I jumped
at it as I thought it would be a good chance to get
a quick feel for the series. I'm always looking for a
good YA series that I can recommend for
my daughter to keep in her classroom library.
While I'm primarily a vampire lover, you get
werewolves, fae, witches and vampires in
this series. I like that you get a peek behind the
curtain to see what's going on at the camp.
An excellent addition to a series that over 75%
of the readers have rated 5 stars and fascinating
enough to send me to my TBR shelf to dig out
my copies so I can indulge in the rest of the series
and pass on my copies to my daughter's classroom.


The Almost Sisters
The Almost Sisters
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/17/2017


I read a lot of great books each year and twice that many good books. This book was just so much more than great. It made me laugh out loud, cry a few tears and nod my head with understanding when reading about this small southern Baptist town. This author so knew what she was talking about when she expounded on this small town. Been there, grew up there and it ain't changed a damn bit!
This book has so many layers- family loyalty, a budding romance, unplanned pregnancy, second chance romance, family secrets, racial tension, and a fabulous mystery in a trunk. If this is not optioned for a movie, I'll be so surprised. There is little I can say that has not already been said about this book but it has definitely risen to the top of the list of books that I will try to push on every reader in my orbit so anyone that knows me just give up now and read this fabulous book. Just know that once you start it everything else will go to the wayside till you finish that last page.


Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 6/11/2011


Despite the fact that I bought this book as soon as it was released, I did not read it until a short while ago. Why, you might ask would I buy it in October and allow it to lay on the corner of my desk for months gathering dust? Because, durn it, I knew as soon as I started it, it would be the end of the werecat era! I knew that I would read it in one day and then Faythe, Marc, and Jace would have to be placed on that shelf in my mind only to be brought out every time I saw Vincents name or someone else discovered this awesome series and reviewed one of her books. I know that every time I see a review, Ill have to stop and comment as it was one of my most favorite series. I read few series books as soon as they come out, my preferred style is collecting them and reading them in batches as I hate to wait a year between books. I love being able to finish a book at 2 AM and immediately being able to pick up the next book in the series without that cliffhanger driving me crazy for months. This was a series that I would have loved to have seen Vincent do an off shoot of and do several books on the other females (Kaci, Abby and Melody)in this pride. I even think that the Thunderbirds deserved a book or two of their own. I seriously did not want this to end. Yes, it was a great ending, several surprises I did not see coming and a couple I had hoped for. I sincerely wish I was one of the few that had not already discovered this series just so I could read it all back to back. This series had all the things I enjoy the most, a little romance, a great back story, and enough excitement and mystery to feed my need. Thank you Rachel for sharing your wonderful storyline with me and (hint, hint) Id be the first in line to squeal if you every decided to change your mind and return to this fabulous world.


An American Duchess
An American Duchess
Author: Sharon Page
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/15/2017


This was such a fun read and could have easily ended half way through and been a great HEA but the author did so much more with this story. It has a "Downton Abbish" vibe that had me missing the Grantham family but was so much deeper with the repercussions of the War affecting so many characters in the book in tragic ways. It wasn't all fun, lavish parties and beautiful clothes, but a combination with the loss and horrors of the war. I love historicals from the 1920's and you get to see England, New York and California during this era which is always fascinating to me.
My only fault with the book were the main characters, though I loved both Nigel and Zoe, I felt like both were a bit over the top. Nigel was deeply in love with Zoe but ended up hurting her time after time with his unbending upper crust British coldness when he was trying to "protect" her. Possibly as an American, I saw this as slightly abusive rather than protective. And Zoe was pretty unbending herself and rather selfish. Yes she was only 20 but I think the two of them could have compromised a bit more. But then alas, it is a story not real life.
Still, this book managed to captivate me over two days and ultimately one I'd definitely recommend. Off to snag a copy of book two, has a murder mystery with it.


An American Duchess
An American Duchess
Author: Sharon Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/15/2017


This was such a fun read and could have easily ended half way through and been a great HEA but the author did so much more with this story. It has a "Downton Abbish" vibe that had me missing the Grantham family but was so much deeper with the repercussions of the War affecting so many characters in the book in tragic ways. It wasn't all fun, lavish parties and beautiful clothes, but a combination with the loss and horrors of the war. I love historicals from the 1920's and you get to see England, New York and California during this era which is always fascinating to me.
My only fault with the book were the main characters, though I loved both Nigel and Zoe, I felt like both were a bit over the top. Nigel was deeply in love with Zoe but ended up hurting her time after time with his unbending upper crust British coldness when he was trying to "protect" her. Possibly as an American, I saw this as slightly abusive rather than protective. And Zoe was pretty unbending herself and rather selfish. Yes she was only 20 but I think the two of them could have compromised a bit more. But then alas, it is a story not real life.
Still, this book managed to captivate me over two days and ultimately one I'd definitely recommend. Off to snag a copy of book two, has a murder mystery with it.


American Vampire
American Vampire
Author: Jennifer Armintrout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 1/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Honestly, Im still not real sure how I felt about this book. I finished it a couple of weeks back and thought Id let it simmer for awhile. It wasnt great but I didnt dislike it either. I thought the whole idea of being stuck in a town and unable to leave to be a great plot idea but it fell short in the execution of the idea. Reminds me a bit of a Twilight Zone episode. Why the monster (not the vampire) was there and how one of the other towns people came to have it under his control wasnt really explained very well. While I loved Graf and Jessas characters and their interaction was laugh out loud funny, the rest of the cast was pretty blah however. I was never able to discover if this was the start to a series ( I hope it is) but if so Ill definitely give the next book a try as I hope the world building will go into more depth. I didnt feel as if the vampire laws were fleshed out very well. Yeah, he had to stay out of the sunlight, needed blood and was some stronger than the humans, but it just wasnt enough. It just really felt lacking. A bit more on Grafs history would have helped too. I also felt that there were a lot of little side stories going on that either should have been better fleshed out or left out altogether. It sounds like I didnt enjoy the book but I never had any problem finishing it and really wish that the ending hadnt been so abrupt.


Amish Christmas Twins (Christmas Twins, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 1093)
Amish Christmas Twins (Christmas Twins, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 1093)
Author: Patricia Davids
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/12/2017


A super sweet Christmas story that combines several of my loves- kids (twins no less), Christmas and the Amish. I love getting that peek behind the Amish curtain and seeing a fair amount of the Amish culture.
There's just enough of a mystery here that combined with the typical Scrooge to set the book above the average Christmas stories that are being released right now. A very quick read that I easily finished in one seating.


The Apollo Academy (Volume 1)
The Apollo Academy (Volume 1)
Author: Kimberly P. Chase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/23/2015


The opening of this book reminded me a bit of the first episode of Grey's Anatomy, last night out before starting classes, meeting a hot guy, and wham, he ends up being her instructor. Very awkward! I love sci-fi so reading this was a no brainer for me.
Aurora, though a wealthy heiress, is a nerd and all she wants is to learn to fly the Apollo spaceship. The world building was fascinating, the characters interesting, and the pacing just right. I loved the action and the mystery involving who was trying to kill Aurora.
The main thing I didn't like were the three alternating POVs. This is something I see increasingly in YA books and may ultimately be the reason I stop reading a lot of them. It is also the reason that though I really enjoyed this book, I doubt I'll read the next one.


The Art of Taming a Rake (Legendary Lovers, Bk 4)
The Art of Taming a Rake (Legendary Lovers, Bk 4)
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/31/2016


I do so love a good mystery wrapped up in a historical romance. That the heroine is spunky and funny and the hero a sexy rake also amps up the reading fun. This is a fast paced read and as always Jordan doesn't fail to leave you with a satisfied smile as you turn the last page at 3 AM.


At Twilight: Beyond Twilight / Born at Twilight (Wings in the Night)
Review Date: 11/23/2008


This was another great book by Shayne. She continues to write excellent books in the "Wings in the Night" series. I love the added background and history along with a more indept look at characters you have met in earlier books.


Avalon Revisited
Avalon Revisited
Author: O. M. Grey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/21/2011


This was a book I wasnt real sure how to classify-Paranormal Romance?, Historical Fiction?, Steampunk?, Mystery?, Suspense?- but it didnt really matter as it was a jewel. Its the first O M Grey book Id read and I immediately set out to get more as this was a totally fascinating read.
It was told from Arthurs (Henry VIIs brother) point of view. Hes living (dead) the good life 300 years later in Victorian England when he meets a woman that reminds him of his first love Catherine. Well shes not really interested in him until she runs into him several times while searching for the vampire that has murdered several women that hes had sex with. As Arthur knows he didnt kill them, well maybe one of them, he decides to help her discover the killer. The suspense and mystery, along with the hot sexy scenes made this book hard to put down and a very fast read for me.
I love books from this era and Grey did a fabulous job describing the clothes, the parties and the houses of this time. Im hoping this will be a series as the ending really set it up for another book. This was the first Steampunk Ive read and definitely will not be the last.


1 to 20 of 289 - Page: