Lynn M. (officerripley) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 231 - Page:
2012: The War for Souls
2012: The War for Souls
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/10/2008
Helpful Score: 4


So bad I couldn't finish it. Holy cow, what a mixed up mess!


30-Minute Meals
30-Minute Meals
Author: Rachael Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 1/29/2006


Rachael Ray loves to cook, and loves to share her cooking experience with others. In this wonderful first collection of recipes, 30-MINUTE MEALS, you will discover how to make imaginative, nutritious meals in very little time, using short-cut secrets, on-hand ingredients, and easy-to-follow instructions. As her television fans will tell you, whether it's a pasta, salad, sandwich, make-your-own take-out--whatever--Rachael's recipes ALWAYS work, and they are unfailingly delicious, too.


50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 4/24/2006


From the back of the book:

Corrie McAfee
50 Harbor Street
Cedar Cove, Washington

Dear Reader, considering that I'm married to Cedar Cove's private investigator, you might think I enjoy mysteries. But I don't--especially when they involve us! Roy's been receiving anonymous postcards and messages asking if we "regret the past." We don't know what they mean...

On a more positive note, we're both delighted that our daughter Linnette has moved to Cedar Cove to work at the new medical clinic. A while ago I attended the humane society's "Dog and Bachelor Auction," where I bought her a date with Cal Washburn, who works at Cliff Harding's horse farm. Unfortunately Linnette is less enthusiastic about this date than I am.

Speaking of Cliff, the romance between him and Grace Sherman is back on. But that's only one of the many interesting stories here in Cedar Cove. So why don't you drop by for a coffee at my husband's office on Main Street or our house on Harbor and I'll tell you everything that's new!

Corrie


Almost a Bride (Almost, Bk 1)
Almost a Bride (Almost, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 12/8/2006


In this spectacular new romance from acclaimed NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Jane Feather, fate deals one stubbornly single young woman and one deceptively heartless man a shocking hand in a high-stakes bet. But is love in the cards?

Jack Fortescu gamble to win, and this time his prize is not only his rival's lavish mansion but everything in it--including the man's beautiful sister! But when it comes to games, Jack has met his match...

Left homeless by her brother's escapade, Arabella Lacey has two appalling choices: pack her bags--or agree to marry the lunatic who's taken over her house. Why would such a handsome--and outrageously wealthy--man want such an unromantic arrangement? Arabella intends to find out, and have a little fun in the process at Jack's expense...literally. As Jack discovers that his reluctant bride is no ordinary beauty, he feels a stir of admiration, among other emotions, that wasn't part of the bargain. Now he's the one with everything to lose...


Alone (Bobby Dodge, Bk 1)
Alone (Bobby Dodge, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 4/15/2006


From the New York Times bestselling author of THE KILLING HOUR and THE PERFECT HUSBAND comes a brilliant new novel of seduction, deceit, and revenge that will leave readers breathless and defenseless because the killer who stalks these pages knows just when to strike...

It's where you're most vulnerable...It's where there's no one to hear you cry for help...It's the last place you want to be when this killer comes...

ALONE.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 4/3/2006


Forged of the exquisite gem, the Amber Room is one of the greatest treasures ever made by man--and the subject of one of history's most intriguing mysteries. German troops invading the Soviet Union seized the Room in 1941. When the Allies started their bombing, the Room was hidden, and it has never been seen since. But now the hunt has begun once more.


Ancient Shores
Ancient Shores
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/28/2014


Great book and I just heard that the author is writing a sequel!


Ancient Shores
Ancient Shores
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/28/2014


Great book & I just heard that the author is writing a sequel!


Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 6/28/2014


Great book & I just heard that the author is writing a sequel!


The Angels of Morgan Hill
The Angels of Morgan Hill
Author: Donna Vanliere
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/17/2007


Wonderful book! I wish they'd make a movie of it!


Atlantis
Atlantis
Author: David Gibbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/26/2006


ATLANTIS: the fabled island which disappeared beneath the waves at the dawn of history. One of archaeology's most enduring mysteries. Fact or myth? No one has ever known--until now...

One day, on a dive in the Mediterranean, marine archaeologist Jack Howard gets lucky. Very lucky. He and his team uncover what could be the key to the location of the lost island.

Jack is on the verge of making an astounding breakthrough, but someone else knows about Atlantis's location. And Jack and those closest to him are suddenly locked in a life or death game with consequences that could destroy thousands of lives. For what Jack discovers is beyond his wildest dreams--but it comes at a terrifying price.


Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 4/15/2006


Snow is in the forecast. They are ice and fire. Ridding the world of evil, one alien at a time: That's Mia Snow's mission. In a time and place not too far away, Mia is an alien huntress for the New Chicago Police Department. Heading up her expert team of Alien Investigation and Removal agents, Mia's unmatched at battling the elusive enemy among us, and she's the perfect girl for the job. She's seen her brother die at the hands of aliens. She's earned each of her scars. And she'll die before she cries. Now, a series of killings have Mia and her partner Dallas tracking alien suspects--but a sudden blast of violence leaves Dallas fighting for his life. The chance to save Dallas appears in the form of a tall, erotic stranger. An alien. A murder suspect. Kyrin en Arr, of the deadly Arcadian species, holds the power to heal the injured agent but not without a price. For Mia, that price is surrending to Kyrin's forbidden seduction...and embracing their electric attraction. She's walking a knife's edge, risking her badge and even her life. The closer she gets to Kyrin, the more Mia learns about her own heart, her human needs--and the shocking secret that will shatter everything she's ever believed.


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 7/14/2010


I loved this book! Loved all the characters--especially the heroine, Stella; now her I can identify with--loved the plot, the action, everything! Can't wait to read the next in the series!


Badlands
Badlands
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/2/2015


Very, very good book; don't care for his Joe Pickett novels at all (too much outdoorsy stuff for this ol' big city bookworm, lol) but really liked this one a lot. Great characters, gritty (and therefore realistic) setting. Hope to see more of Cassie Dewell; finally: a female cop who's not a cleavage-showing, shampoo commercial bimbo! Thanks for the great book, Mr. Box!


Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 2)
Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 2)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/2/2015


Very, very good book; don't care for his Joe Pickett novels at all (too much outdoorsy stuff for this ol' big city bookworm, lol) but really liked this one a lot. Great characters, gritty (and therefore realistic) setting. Hope to see more of Cassie Dewell; finally: a female cop who's not a cleavage-showing, shampoo commercial bimbo! Thanks for the great book, Mr. Box!


Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Badlands (Cassie Dewell, Bk 3)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/2/2015


Very, very good book; don't care for his Joe Pickett novels at all (too much outdoorsy stuff for this ol' big city bookworm, lol) but really liked this one a lot. Great characters, gritty (and therefore realistic) setting. Hope to see more of Cassie Dewell; finally: a female cop who's not a cleavage-showing, shampoo commercial bimbo! Thanks for the great book, Mr. Box!


A Beautiful Mind: The Life of Mathematical Genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash
Review Date: 4/15/2006


The true story of John Nash, the mathematical genius who was a legend by age 30 when he slipped into madness, and who--thanks to the selflessness of a beautiful woman and the loyalty of the mathematics community--emerged after decades of ghostlike existence to win a Nobel Prize and world acclaim. The inspiration for a major motion picture, a drama about the mystery of the human mind, triumph over incredible adversity, and the healing power of love.


Beginning Algebra
Beginning Algebra
Author: R. David Gustafson
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 4/7/2006


Beginning algebra textbook used for a junior (or community) college class.


Belonging
Belonging
Author: Alexandra Raife
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/29/2005


Wonderful starting-over story set in Scotland; for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Marcia Willet.


The Berets (Brotherhood of War, Bk 5)
The Berets (Brotherhood of War, Bk 5)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/2/2006


They were the chosen ones--and the ones who chose to be the best. Never before had the United States given so select a group of fighting men such punishing preparation. Now they were heading for their ultimate test of skill and nerve and sacrifice, in a war unlike any they or their country had ever fought before...in a land that most of America still knew nothing about...Vietnam.


1 to 20 of 231 - Page: