Tracey R. (tratz) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 103 - Page:
2666
2666
Author: Roberto Bolano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Disappointing read - I didn't get through even 1/2 the book. The various stories were not engaging, the characters were odd and not relatable. I really wanted this book to be great but it fell extremely short for me.


Abide with Me
Abide with Me
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 4/14/2010


slow moving, sleepy book


Accidental Happiness
Accidental Happiness
Author: Jean Reynolds Page
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was a good book! It had surprises in it that I did not anticipate - that always makes for a good book:) It was an easy read - great for a winter night infront of the fire or a beach read in the summer.


After This
After This
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/31/2008


I really did not enjoy this book. The story was boring and didn't have much going on. Easily forgotten.


Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: Cory Friedman, Hal Friedman, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 5/6/2009


Amazing story of courage and will! Inspiring.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 12/6/2007


I didn't think this book was as good as "The Lovely Bones". It was ok and pretty quick reading.


The Annunciation of Francesca Dunn
The Annunciation of Francesca Dunn
Author: Janis Hallowell
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/15/2010


This was an ok read - not totally engrossing, but not boring enough to leave unfinished.


As If Love Were Enough
As If Love Were Enough
Author: Anne Taylor Fleming
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/21/2007


This book is a great book for people that like to figure out what makes people tick. The way the story is told gets you guessing, then tells you - in an ooohhhh, that's why she's like that - kinda way. I loved this book!


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/7/2007
Helpful Score: 9


It took a while for me to get into this book - it was hard for me to follow at first. But once I got it I really enjoyed it! I grew to like Lillian and wanted to know what happened to her. I think what made it difficult to follow at first was that for every person(s) that had an impact on her life, the story told what happened to those people even after Lillian was no longer in their lives. This was an interesting twist and one I grew to really like.


Banker to the Poor: Micro-Lending and the Battle against World Poverty
Review Date: 5/6/2009


Definately not what I thought it would be. This is a real story, not so much about micro-lending, but about how one person changed the world with micro lending. Yunus thought outside the box and did great things. Very thought provoking. Excellent book!


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 8/15/2011


gut-renching, soul torturing, heart breaking...This book was so hard to read because it is from the 9 year old boys point of view. The unbelievable acts of humans is so disturbing, but it is our history.


The Castaways (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Castaways (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elin Hilderbrand, Katie Hale (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/24/2010


This was a well written intertwined story of a group of friends. The characters are well developed - some you love some you love to hate. Thouroughly enjoyed!


The Children's Hour
The Children's Hour
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! It would be a great read on the beach or in front of a fire. I connected to the characters from the first chapter and cheered them on the entire time.


Citizen Girl (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Citizen Girl (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 4/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Disappointing, confusing, and boring


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 2/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was excellent! The way the story was told from both points of view. Just the circumstances this family endured - WOW! Highly recommend!


The Echo Maker
The Echo Maker
Author: Richard Powers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/2/2007


This book had a lot of filler stuff I didn't understand. It was very long, and it seems to me that the same story could have been told - even better - with less filler.
I did still enjoy the overall story.


Echoes of the Dance
Echoes of the Dance
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/19/2010


There was no one character that took center in this book. It was confusing to determine who the story was about. The way it was written seemed confused and not focused.


Entering Hades: The Double Life of a Serial Killer
Entering Hades: The Double Life of a Serial Killer
Author: John Leake
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/14/2009


This book was difficult to stay interested in with the jumping around of everyone involved.


Every Secret Thing
Every Secret Thing
Author: Lila Shaara
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/8/2009


Disappointing, disorganized, doesn't flow well. I felt some details were useless or in the wrong place...it didn't read well. Story was slow, maybe if I'm generous I could say it was an ok story.


Fall on Your Knees : A Novel
Fall on Your Knees : A Novel
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/18/2009


This story has many twists and turns as families with secrets do. I enjoyed this book alot:)


1 to 20 of 103 - Page: