Sue G. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Barbie in a Mermaid Tale (Step into Reading)
Barbie in a Mermaid Tale (Step into Reading)
Author: Christy Webster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/13/2011


Great reader for the young "princess"!!


Body Learning : An Introduction to the Alexander Technique
Body Learning : An Introduction to the Alexander Technique
Author: Michael J. Gelb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/15/2011


An excellent introduction to the Alexander Technique and the history of Mr. Alexander. I think it was helpful to have previous in-depth body knowledge to help with digesting this rich material.


The Clearing
The Clearing
Author: Tim Gautreaux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/15/2011


A really good view of the hearts and souls of men and the relationship between brothers. Well written for the visual reader and a fantastic story. I will read him again.


Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
Review Date: 8/13/2011


A good read but you have to be pretty desensitized to partying to "get it" I think.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2068
Review Date: 10/31/2011


The first two chapters were difficult to get through at best. While it proved to be needed background information for the storyline it was totally uninteresting (Sweedish manufacturing business fraud/cover-up....yawn). I could have also totally edited out 3 of the last 4 chapters. There were good parts but a lot of it dragged for me and the suspense didn't build correctly for my taste. The ending was contrived. Will not be reading any others in the series.This seems to be more of a movie than a book.


Harry's Got a Girlfriend!
Harry's Got a Girlfriend!
Author: Ulli Schubert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/4/2011


Cute book! My daughter (7) really enjoyed it and the message.


Here's the Deal: Don't Touch Me
Here's the Deal: Don't Touch Me
Author: Howie Mandel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Great read! Always fascinating to get to know who someone really is when they work so much from public persona. Good stories about his life. Just wish there had been more content regarding his OCD...strategies and some therapies that helped. Not enough detail about that aspect for me. The title suggested there would be.


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 790
Review Date: 5/15/2011


Great characters and build on character development for future books in series. Loved the story and a total plot page-turner. I really began to feel for the main character and even found myself thinking about the book (and characters) when not reading it! Gripping.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5695
Review Date: 5/15/2011


I thought this book was very predictable with the exception of the return of the main character's childhood arch-nemisis. Once "into" the book I didn't even find the title-led plot (of kite fighting) very interesting. i think I only finished it to see if it would get better....sigh


Living Buddha, Living Christ
Living Buddha, Living Christ
Author: Thich Nhat Hanh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/15/2011


This is a fantastic book that I cannot do without, as it is with many of TNH's more prolific works. What a wonderful understanding of the inter-connectedness of all faiths and how we can all derive great benefit for life through the prophets. A MUST for a healthy spiritual life.


Party Time! (Nibbles)
Party Time! (Nibbles)
Author: Janeen Brian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/6/2010


My 6 year old advanced reader loved this beginner chapter book. It was a clear subject and easy for her to practice her retention skills. Loved the story!


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 8/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


A chilling and realistic account of what might happen in an apocalyptic situation. The emotional journey of the boy as they make their encounters creates an ache to read on. I specifically enjoyed the way it was written. The lack of quotation marks and no names for the main characters helps to maintain the cold and distant feel, while the content sweeps you up in their personal struggle on a moment-to-moment and day-to-day basis.


A Separate Peace
A Separate Peace
Author: John Knowles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 11/29/2010


Great book, makes me want to read more of his work. Lots of momentum!


Steppenwolf
Steppenwolf
Author: Hermann Hesse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Hesse's ability to character-develop really soars with this work. Wasn't sure I could like anything better than his famous "Siddartha" but this equals it at least. A darker and more edgy read, it really takes you into the mind of the characters. Very remeniscent of Dostoyevsky. Couldn't put it down!


There's a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem
There's a Spiritual Solution to Every Problem
Author: Wayne W. Dyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent review of how there is a spiritual solution to every problem, what a problem is, and what/how to get the solution. This book would be great even for a skeptic! Not a big fan of Dyer's until I read this. LOVE the take on St. Francis' prayer. Lots of clarity within!


War and Peace
War and Peace
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Ann Dunnigan (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/21/2011


Excellent and detailed events filled with great visuals. Tolstoy's best


A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father
A Wolf at the Table: A Memoir of My Father
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 11/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A great review of Burroughs' life with his father. So much of his other work focuses on his mother. Ties up a lot of unanswered questions from his other work. One of my FAVORITE authors.

Anyone who has suffered psychological abuse (or knows much about it)can relate to the stories and often the deeper menaings, things that cannot be transposed onto paper.


1 to 17 of 17