Kathy D. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
American School of Needlework Presents The Great Afghan Book
American School of Needlework Presents The Great Afghan Book
Author: American School of Needlework
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Older book with classic afghan patterns included. Beautiful color pictures of all projects included. Includes projects for all ability levels.


Be the Miracle: 50 Lessons for Making the Impossible Possible
Be the Miracle: 50 Lessons for Making the Impossible Possible
Author: Regina Brett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/17/2016


Very uplifting. Good incites.


BEYOND THE CLASSROOM
BEYOND THE CLASSROOM
Author: Laurence Steinberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book looks at factors outside the classroom that affect classroom performance of students. Examines different ethnic groups and their family influences on their children regarding how they regard education. Looks at things that are beyond the control of the classroom teacher and brings interesting data about how various factors affect academic achievement.


Blue Highways: A Journey into America
Blue Highways: A Journey into America
Author: William Least Heat Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I liked the book but in spite of trying to stay with it I found it did not draw me back. I enjoyed the 1/3 of the book I finished but never got through all of it. Interesting encounters with locals and the parts I read about areas of the US with which I was familiar were quite authentically described.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 6/17/2010


This is a wonderful book that we all need to read. Very sensitive characters who are seen through the eyes of a very naive 9 year old. The "fable" sweeps us along toward its surprising conclusion and leaves us thinking about the characters long after. Highly recommend


Build the Fort... Today
Build the Fort... Today
Author: Jim Kern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/6/2009


I heard this man speak at a motivational assembly for teachers and had to buy his book. Very inspirational. Speaks to the importance of promise keeping and what is really important in life.


Cuentos Breves Latinoam
Cuentos Breves Latinoam
Author: Cecilia Pisos, Various
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2009


Excellent short stories in Spanish. Contemporary authors


Defending Jacob
Defending Jacob
Author: William Landay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 3/19/2013


I liked the writing style in this novel but felt the plot was way too simplistic. The reviews promised lots of plot twists and a riveting story. I found neither. An excellent book leaves you a bit sorry to see it end....not this one. I found it dragged out and the surprise ending was poorly done...no buildup. I guess I didn't feel I connected with the characters.vthey stayed on the page, flat.


Dog on It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Dog on It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 9/9/2010


Much less than I expected after having read previous reviews. Very slow moving and not that clever. I was on page 230 before things began to move forward. Nothing unusual or imaginative in the plot, very ordinary story with no surprises. Disappointed. I am not interested in reading any others in this series.


A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Quick and easy read. Good insight into the life and love of this man with his dogs. Love and loss and the cycle of life.


Eat This, Not That!
Eat This, Not That!
Author: David Zinczenko, Matt Goulding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/21/2009


Really informative book about the hidden calories, fat etc in some of our most popular fast food and restaurant choices. My copy is new and looks great but the last few pages have very slight water damage so I haven't sent it. If anyone is interested let me know.


Front Porch Tales
Front Porch Tales
Author: Phil Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/7/2011


Delightful little book with stories that can make you laugh out loud. Warm folks and lots of "do the right thing" examples abound. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who wants a positive look at the simple side of the world around them. Teaches you to appreciate the ordinary things that really make up our lives.


Game Change: Obama and the Clintons, McCain and Palin, and the Race of a Lifetime
Review Date: 1/15/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Very interesting insider look at the politics of our most recent Presidential election. Lots of insider stuff about the Edwards' camp also. Lot of insight and behind the scenes type scenarios are described. Good read.


A Gathering of Old Men (Vintage Contemporaries)
A Gathering of Old Men (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Ernest J. Gaines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I was living in Louisiana during the time this book takes place. Gaines truly accurately captures the atmosphere, the mindsets and the local color of the time and place. Well written, you care about the characters and you wonder at man's inhumanity to man as well as how really deeply people can care.


Grow Old Along with Me : The Best Is Yet to Be
Grow Old Along with Me : The Best Is Yet to Be
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/15/2009


Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Gives loving, entertaining insights into aging with all its pitfalls and joys.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1383
Review Date: 6/29/2013


I loved this book and will read it again. I almost never do that. Heartwarming, well written and it taught me a history lesson also!


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2443
Review Date: 5/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Easy read. The author gives an inside look into the life of domestic help in the 60s prior to the civil rights movement. We meet "the help" and see their challenges. You come to care about the characters which are well developed. I am a Southerner and even so, I gained some insight into what life was like for "the help" in that era. Insightful,I would recommend it.


I'd Know You Anywhere
I'd Know You Anywhere
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 6


I was disappointed in this book. It never really got my interest to the point of "can't put it down" status. I found it ordinary and kept waiting for the suspense to build as the reviewers on the cover had reported it would. Never did. Not memorable, didn't learn anything, didn't stimulate thought or imagination.


The Letter (Christmas Box, Bk 3)
The Letter (Christmas Box, Bk 3)
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 1/15/2009


Richard Evans always pulls the heart strings and this is no exception. I thoroughly enjoyed it, finished it in 2 days.


The Light Between Oceans: A Novel
The Light Between Oceans: A Novel
Author: M.L. Stedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/30/2016


Well developed characters , good story, well told. Became a page turner about half way through. Thoroughly enjoyed it, Made me feel empathy for all of the main characters.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: