Billy N. (bnardini) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Boxer and the Spy
The Boxer and the Spy
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/27/2014


This was a quick, easy read, but no less good for that. Think Spenser and Susan in ninth grade. I throughly enjoyed it.


Catch-22
Catch-22
Author: Joseph Heller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/29/2011


I read this book shortly after the movie came out. I was hoping the book would make sense of the movie. The book turned out to be as confusing as the movie plus it was long winded and boring.


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1939
Review Date: 7/9/2011


This has to be the STUPIDEST book I have ever read in my whole life! How it ever became a "classic" is beyond me.


Dear America: Behind The Masks
Dear America: Behind The Masks
Author: Susan Patron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/5/2011


Bodie is in Nevada and was a silver mining town.


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 553
Review Date: 1/13/2010


Being a fan of the TV series I thought I would give the book a try if only to see where series came from. I was very disappointed by the dark plodding nature of the book. The main character, Temperance Brennan, goes on and on about her personal problems at home, at work, with her best friend: Well, I got so bored with this book that I put it down unfinished. I'll stick with the quirky, humorous cast of the TV show.


Down the Long Hills
Down the Long Hills
Author: Louis L'Amour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/30/2010


This is my favorite L'Amour novel. It is actually a fairly short easy read but don't let that fool you! Hardy Collins, the main character, is written with great depth and gets my vote for "Best Hero" Louis L'Amour ever created. That says a lot about Hardy, a seven year old boy, who finds himself the care-taker of a three year old girl in the middle of nowhere after Indians massacre his wagon train. How he survives while taking care of a three year old girl is the stuff of legends.


A Fistful of Collars (Chet and Bernie, Bk 5)
A Fistful of Collars (Chet and Bernie, Bk 5)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/8/2015


As always, Chet gets right to crux of the problem: Who has the best snacks? Oh, he also manages to put the bite on the bad guys in the process. Always a fun romp with Chet.


Give Your Hearts To The Hawks
Give Your Hearts To The Hawks
Author: winfred blevins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/7/2009


I read this book years ago and when I finished I wished I was born about 1805 so I could be a Mountain Man too. While this is not a complete history of the Era the Interludes between chapters dealing with aspects of Mountain Man life will make you wish you were there too!! Nobody before or since was as wild and free as the Mountain Men.


The Godwulf Manuscript (Spenser, Bk 1)
The Godwulf Manuscript (Spenser, Bk 1)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 2/7/2009


I have been a fan of hard boiled detectives ever since I discovered "I The Jury" when I was about 13 or 14 years old. Spenser doesn't disappoint. He is big, tough, smart and never breaks the rules he lives by. They don't come any better.


The List of Adrian Messenger (Anthony Gethryn)
The List of Adrian Messenger (Anthony Gethryn)
Author: Philip MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2009


This book gets my vote for the best mystery of all time. I first read this book back in the sixties when I was in high school and have yet to find a better mystery novel. If you come across a copy READ IT!! You won't be disappointed. Forget the movie though, it was a complete and total disappointment.


The Mouse that Roared: A Novel
The Mouse that Roared: A Novel
Author: Leonard Wibberley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/24/2009


I read this book in the early 60's when I was a teenager. I laughed from beginning to end and when I finished my mother did the same. Well worth your time!!


Tarzan of the Apes (Tarzan, Bk 1)
Tarzan of the Apes (Tarzan, Bk 1)
Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/30/2009


Often imitated, never equaled. A must read for every adventurous boy who has ever lived. A hundred years from now Tarzan will stir young hearts with his exploits.


A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Author: Betty Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 2/21/2012


This is one of those books that only get read in high school literature classes. It is the second worst book I have ever read. Catcher in the Rye has first place "honors". Don't bother reading it, it is a waste of time.


1 to 13 of 13