Reviews - Mercedes (mercedesveronica)

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man: What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment
Review Date: 3/22/2013


"Amazing book!!!

And this is coming from a strong, independent woman!
If you feel he's telling you not to be strong and independent, then you don't understand what he's saying.

The truth isn't always pretty or nice, but it's the truth that frees you, makes life easier. I didn't like hearing all he had to say, and sometimes his advice rubbed me the wrong way, at first....but after taking an objective look at it, I not only understood, but agreed.

And I now feel I understand my man a helluva lot better now, and as such, we have a better relationship!!! His advice really really works!!!

Love this man!!

And his humor is great! A must read, and a keeper!!"


The Adoration of Jenna Fox
The Adoration of Jenna Fox
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/10/2011


"I most definitely enjoyed this book! Mary E. Pearson has yet to fail me!"


After Midnight (Kane/Cabot Vampire, Bk 1)
After Midnight (Kane/Cabot Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 8/10/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really loved this book! Medeiros is one of my favorite authors."


The Black Book of Hollywood Pregnancy Secrets
The Black Book of Hollywood Pregnancy Secrets
Author: Kym Douglas, Cindy Pearlman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/10/2011


"Most of these secrets are quite expensive...
and i just found the book incredibly superficial and just unrealistic. Some parts were interesting...but not worth the read. I will be re-posting this."


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1449
Review Date: 10/30/2013


"I really love this series! I don't read a lot of YA, but this series was good"


A Courtesan's Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 3)
A Courtesan's Scandal (Scandalous, Bk 3)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 10/18/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My first book by this author and I LOVED her! I can't wait to read more books by her! It's hard to make a story really different and original the historical romances genre. After you read a bunch for years, the back story is almost always the same. But this was original as it book in this genre could get! I liked it!"


Daimon: The Prequel to Half-Blood
Daimon: The Prequel to Half-Blood
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/22/2013


"Good start to Half-Blood! Just don't read this book without having the Half-Blood next to you ready to start!"


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 8/24/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"different than the rest of Moning's books, but well worth the read. I just finished the 4th book in the series a week ago.
I disliked the heroine in this book. she was annoying. But throughout the series, you watch her grow up and change as she faces many trials. She transforms into a strong, independent woman.
the whole series is a mystery! you are left w/ many questions! (and thank goodness there is a message board on the author's website where you can speculate the answers to these questions w/ readers!!!)
but I have never been involved with fictional characters at this level. KMM will hook you to this series. And you will just LOVE the heros and heroines.
the only bad thing is the wait for each book (you left on some SERIOUS cliff-hangers for a year!) good news for you??? if you're just starting this series, there is only one book left. and it's coming out sometime next year.

even if you don't like the genre (mystery/thriller/paranomal/urban fantasty) you'll love this series!! this wld be your one exception. it's a great book to escape into, yet you walk away w/ things for your mind to chew on.
it's amazing and a MUST READ! don't wish for it...many wont post it. Go out and by it! NOW

Moning's books have layers, are complex, somewhat heavy and well-researched books! you will love her style, skill, and wit!

also, her books are in audio format! Phil G does Moning's highlander series and the 4th book in the Fever series (with Natalie). His voice is orgasmic! But you'll love the 4th book's audio (Dreamfever) w/ all the sound effects and the two narrotors and the music!!!

(also, from her highlander series, you have cross over characters and more info into the Fever world)"


The Devil Wears Plaid
The Devil Wears Plaid
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 10/18/2010


"Medeiros has done it again! I love watching how she gets better and better with each book she writes! This one was very enjoyable and escape worthy! I loved the twist!"


The Dream Thief (Drakon, Bk 2)
The Dream Thief (Drakon, Bk 2)
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 1/6/2011


"Original, excellent idea.

i hate the storytelling of it. could've been done much better.
everything seemed unnatural and random. as if the author understands nothing of human nature or delivering an awesome reader experience"


Dreamfever (Fever, Bk 4)
Dreamfever (Fever, Bk 4)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 8/18/2009
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is off the chain!! the series is amazing!
you have no clue what you're missing out on. even if you don't like this genre, i'll garuntee you'll love it!

it's a great book to escape into, yet you walk away w/ things for your mind to chew on.
it's amazing and a MUST READ! don't wish for it...many wont post it. Go out and by it! NOW (however, you need to read the FIRST book in the series first, which is Darkfever. These are NOT stand alone novels and will not make sense w/o them. also, from her highlander series, you have cross over characters and more info into the Fever world)

Moning's books have layers, are complex, somewhat heavy and well-researched books! you will love her style, skill, and wit!

also, her books are in audio format! Phil G does the highlander series and the 4th book in the Fever series (with Natalie). His voice is orgasmic!"


Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1326
Review Date: 8/10/2009


"I loved this book! Original! Funny and great!!! Not a book anyone could go wrong w/!"


Half-Blood (Covenant, Bk 1)
Half-Blood (Covenant, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/22/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'll admit that in the beginning, my only interest in this book was purely superficial; I fell in love with the cover.

Now, I know not to judge a book by its cover. The cover rarely shows how awesome, or not awesome, the story itself is.
But I gravitated to this book instantly. When I ordered it (on my kindle), I didn't have high hopes for it because the cover was so pretty. But I just HAD to give it a chance.

And boy was I ever wrong about the story not being so great!! It was phenomenal!! I rarely give a full 5 star rating. But this book has ended up on my all time favorites list!!

I've read the entire series to date, and enjoy this author a lot!!!

This is a MUST READ.

Small caveat: I'm not nearly as fond of Armentrout's other series (Lux). Something is missing from it...but most others seem to enjoy it.

Anyways, if you're looking for something different than all the books out there you've read, this is it.
I was hooked on every word, and HAD to turn every page once the story picked up.

I started off with the novella that is before this book. I was NOT enamored of it, but still had to give Half-blood a try because the story had SOMETHING going for it...the novella may have been mediocre, but the novel may be more than that. And I had been right!!!

Must read!"


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1124
Review Date: 4/6/2010


"Excellent Book! Loved it! just as much i did the twilight series (if not more, so). I really hope she writes a sequel!!! This is sci-fi for even non-sci-fi readers! Definitely order this book. You'll love it.
She says this is an adult book, but it might as well be a YA book. I was very satisfied w/ this one"


I Hate Other People's Kids
I Hate Other People's Kids
Author: Adrianne Frost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/10/2011


"Loved this book! it's hilarious! definitely written for people who hate other people's kids! a keeper!"


If You Dare (MacCarrick Brothers, Bk 1)
If You Dare (MacCarrick Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 7/11/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Loved it! Definitely different and not what I expected! Cole can really write and I love it!! Can't wait to finish the trilogy!
You felt as though it was love, the love scenes were great, and you couldn't really guess the plot! After reading the back, I thought I had the story all figured out and I would just see how well she wrote...nope, it was more than that! Good read, good use of your credits!"


If You Dare (MacCarrick Brothers, Bk 1)
If You Dare (MacCarrick Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 11/10/2011


"I love me some Kresley Cole. This chick can write! Loved the whole series! She has yet to disappoint me!"


Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 695
Review Date: 5/16/2010


"Very good book. Mystery, Suspense, Romance. Not the best book I've read, but a good enough book. Stayed up all night to read it. Can't wait for the next book to come in the mail :D"


Lover Beware: Magic in the Wind / Hot August Moon / After Midnight / Only Human
Review Date: 8/9/2010


"i only read Magic in the Wind. And couldn't stand it. The writing sucks!! As for the other 3 stories,i haven't a clue if they are any good or not."


The Mathematics of Love (P.S.)
The Mathematics of Love (P.S.)
Author: Emma Darwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/15/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I gave the book two stars in order to try and be fair.
I have to be honest, I couldn't even get through the whole first chapter.
Something about this book just turned me off from the first sentence. And I'm not sure why. I knew this book would be a bit different than what i'm used to, but...
Anyways, I'm the book has some fine points to it, I just wouldn't know since I haven't really read it.

Interestingly, the author is the great-great-granddaughter of Charles Darwin"


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: