Michael S. (Czarmike) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
American Savior: A Novel of Divine Politics
American Savior: A Novel of Divine Politics
Author: Roland Merullo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting concept--having Jesus run for the presidency. At times the author pulls off the concept well--other times it falls a bit flat. As a person who is cynical about both political parties I found it interesting.


Arms of Nemesis (Roma Sub Rosa, Bk 2)
Arms of Nemesis (Roma Sub Rosa, Bk 2)
Author: Steven Saylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is Steven Saylor's second book in the Gordianus the Finder series. Set in first century B.C. Rome, it breathes life into very remote historical figures while weaving a great murder mystery. This book centers on Marcus Crassus, the richest man in Rome, and probably the richest man in the history of mankind. Unless you are a historian, like me, you probably never heard of him, but you did hear about the man he defeated---Spartacus. Both history buffs and mystery lovers will love this book and this series.


Ben-Hur
Ben-Hur
Author: Lew Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/10/2009


I wasn't sure I'd like the book since it had been written about 130 years ago. Too often books of that era tend to be overly sentimental or preachy. I was pleasantly surprised that the book was very well written. I found it be pretty historically accurate with a nice plot development. It was a very nice quick read.


Gates of Fire : An Epic Novel of the Battle of Thermopylae
Gates of Fire : An Epic Novel of the Battle of Thermopylae
Author: Steven Pressfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 11/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book is an excellent description of the Battle of Thermopylae written by the fictitious only survivor of the battle. As a historian I found the novel extremely well written and a great counter point to the cartoonish movie "300 Spartans" of a few years ago. The blood and gore are still there, but the warriors are made human by an gifted author in Pressfield. We're always told that history needs to come alive to be appreciated. This book does it better then anything I've ever read.


The House of Thunder
The House of Thunder
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 10/1/2013


Not close to being the best effort of Dean Koontz. It was an amusing read, but not up to the quality of other titles.


Knights of the Blood (Knights of the Blood, Bk 1)
Knights of the Blood (Knights of the Blood, Bk 1)
Author: Scott MacMillan, Katherine Kurtz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Not a bad little read if you like vampire and Nazi novels. If you don't care for this genre, you'll probably hate the book. Characters need a little more development, but the overall premise is well thought out.


Military Misdemeanors: Corruption, incompetence, lust and downright stupidity (General Military)
Review Date: 2/12/2011


Nice little book that covers military and political blunders from ancient times to present. It is a little uneven at times with some episodes getting only brief analysis. Most of the vignettes are only 3-5 pages in length, so you're not going to get a deep analysis here. As a student of history, I was aware of most of these stories, but about 25% were new to me. If you like history and don't want to get bogged down in academic treatment of events, you'll like this book. If you're looking for great insights--take a pass on this book.


Monster (Large Print)
Monster (Large Print)
Author: Frank Peretti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Predictable and not good character development. Only saving grace was that it was a fast read.


Rasputin's Daughter
Rasputin's Daughter
Author: Robert Alexander
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/19/2011


This is the second book I've read by Robert Alexander, the first being "The Kitchen Boy". Although it was interesting, I didn't think it was as good as his first novel. Maybe I knew too much about Rasputin, having read several books about him in the past. There is no surprise ending to this book.


Roman Blood (Roma Sub Rosa, Bk 1)
Roman Blood (Roma Sub Rosa, Bk 1)
Author: Steven Saylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 12/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the third novel I've read by this author and the first in his Gordianus the Finder series. He really is able to bring the Pre-Roman Empire era to life with his careful and crafty way of weaving historical figures into his writing. This was a great, fun read.


The Serpent's Tale (Mistress of the Art of Death, Bk 2) (aka The Death Maze)
Review Date: 11/11/2008


Excellent read. This is volume two of the story of Vesuvia Adelia Aguilar, a female doctor sent to England to help solve crimes. Being a female doctor in the Middle Ages has it's problems and she is constantly going up against bias against her gender as well as the distrust of science by the church. These books are extremely well written and have great characters. This volume deals with trying to solve who murdered Henry II's mistress. If Adelia can't figure it out, Civil War might break out again with devasting consequences for England. Tough to put this book down.


1 to 11 of 11