Alice M. (alice0427) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
The Accidental Romance
The Accidental Romance
Author: Elizabeth Mansfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/16/2007


Absolutely delightful Regency romance.


Avenger
Avenger
Author: Frederick Forsyth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/2/2009


I have read Vince Flynn and David Baldacci and Kyle Mills and Daniel Silva....All very good and very "thrilling."

Yesterday I found "The Avenger" in my bookcase and decided I should see if I wanted to read it.

I just finished it. Oh, the younger guys are good, very very good, but this man, Frederick Forsyth, is still the Master. WOW!!!!!

Alice M.


Bath Tangle (Large Print)
Bath Tangle (Large Print)
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Georgette Heyer is still my very favorite Regency romance writer!

Alice


Black and Blue
Black and Blue
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/20/2008


While browsing through a book stall in London, in 2002, I found Ian Rankin's "Black & Blue", the winner of the 1997 CWA MacAllan Gold Dagger Award. The book was also short-listed for the Mystery Writers of America 'Edgar" award for best novel. I decided to try it. It looked interesting enough and hefty enough (490 pages) to get me back home, so I think I can say that I "met" John Rebus in a waiting room at Heathrow Airport and got to know him as I crossed the Atlantic. Wow. I could not put it down.

When I decided that it was time to list my Ian Rankin books here, I decided to read this one again. Wow. STILL good.

Should I ever make it to Edinburgh, I'm going to look for the pubs and bars mentioned and, who knows, I might run into John Rebus!


Blindfold Game
Blindfold Game
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I discovered Dana Stabenow several, several years ago while on a small boat cruise through the Inland Passage and have read every Kate Shugak and Liam Campbell novel I could find. I wasn't sure about this one when I bought it, but was delightfully surprised!! So, of course, I stayed up all night reading it...which, wonderfully, I can do now that I have retired (all of seven days ago).

I recommend it to other Stabenow fans!

Alice


Blood is Thicker (James Fleming, Bk 1)
Blood is Thicker (James Fleming, Bk 1)
Author: Ann C. Fallon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I discovered the author Ann C. Fallon by accident and am so glad that I did. This series, set in Ireland with Solicitor James Fleming, is absolutely wonderful. The characters live, the plot twists and turns and finishes with satisfying surprise.

I heartily recommend this book to all who enjoy "British" mysteries.


The Bomber Boys: Heroes Who Flew the B-17s in World War II
The Bomber Boys: Heroes Who Flew the B-17s in World War II
Author: Travis L. Ayres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/18/2014


Author Travis L. Ayers has gathered a collection of previously untold personal accounts of combat and camaraderie aboard the B-17 bombers that flew countless sorties against the enemy, as related by the men who lived and fought in the air-- and survived. They are stories of heroism, sacrifice, miraculous survival, and merciless warfare. They should all be remembered. One of the men, Peter (Scott) Seniawsky, Waist Gunner, 384th Bomb Group says: I have waited sixty-plus years to have my WW II exploits accurately recorded. Mr. Ayres's splendid work...has told it well and gotten it right! I applaud his tenacity.


Born Fighting : How the Scots-Irish Shaped America
Born Fighting : How the Scots-Irish Shaped America
Author: James Webb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/17/2008


One review of this book called it " readable history" and, indeed, it is.
Very enjoyable reading.

Alice M.


Brought in Dead (Nick Miller, Bk 2)
Brought in Dead (Nick Miller, Bk 2)
Author: Harry Patterson, Jack Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/15/2007


Apparently this was written in l967 and because it didn't have one of my favorite Higgins characters, Dillon, in it, I wasn't sure I'd enjoy it. But I did!! Nick Miller is a great character. Wonder if he is in any other Higgins novels???


By Order of the President (Presidential Agent, Bk 1)
By Order of the President (Presidential Agent, Bk 1)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 5/9/2007


A Presidential Agent Novel. A new series with Major Carlos Guillermo Castillo and Major Richard Miller. Another fantastic story, this one set in Africa.


The Cleaner (Jonathan Quinn, Bk 1)
The Cleaner (Jonathan Quinn, Bk 1)
Author: Brett Battles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/22/2014


A debut novel by Brett Battles; a real thriller!

Jonathan Quinn is a "professional cleaner" who,with his new apprentice, Nate, and friend, Orlando, will take you on a harrowing journey of violence, betrayal and revenge.

Thank goodness I am retired so I could read all night.

Am looking for the second one now.


Damage Control (Joanna Brady, Bk 13)
Damage Control (Joanna Brady, Bk 13)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 11/1/2008


Wow!

I had forgotten how GREAT J.A. Jance is until I received and immediately began to read "Damage Control" with Arizona sheriff Joanna Brady. Thank goodness today is Saturday and is wet and messy, to boot. Gave me the perfectly acceptable excuse to curl up on my couch and read.

This is #13 in the Joanna Brady series. Hope there are many more to come.

Alice M.


A Deadly Quiet (Inupiat Eskimo, Bk 5)
A Deadly Quiet (Inupiat Eskimo, Bk 5)
Author: Christopher Lane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Although this book is not as easy to read as a Dana Stabenow, I found it to be quite good. I was particularly interested in the information about the Inupiat Eskimo culture. And I WILL look for more books by this author.


Death on the Family Tree (Family Tree, Bk 1)
Death on the Family Tree (Family Tree, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Sprinkle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


"Death on the family Tree" introduces Katharine Murray and her family in this new series of Oh My Goodness, HE(SHE) did it?

Absolutely delightful and worth every minute of reading.

Alice M.


Deception Plan
Deception Plan
Author: Patrick A. Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/29/2006


Not as good as his others; however, this one had surprising twists which made it interesting.


Delirium of the Brave
Delirium of the Brave
Author: William Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Grew up on the Southern Mythology of the 1860's and was intrigued to understand William Harris included in this novel many true events as told to him by his father. Made the novel even more fascinating.


Don't Tell Dad: A Memoir
Don't Tell Dad: A Memoir
Author: Peter Fonda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/16/2009


Although I was too proper to become a part of the 60's generation, I saw "Easy Rider" and had always wanted to understand the message of the film. Reading this book gave me a belated understanding, but, more importantly, I could rejoice that Peter Fonda finally found love and peace.


Final Justice (Badge of Honor, Bk 8)
Final Justice (Badge of Honor, Bk 8)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/20/2007


Matt Payne and Mickey O'Hara go to France! So much fun to "travel" with "friends."


Firestorm (Anna Pigeon, Bk 4)
Firestorm (Anna Pigeon, Bk 4)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This Nevada Barr was first published in hardback in 1996 and is apparently just now available in paperback. That may explain how I missed it when I was much into Anna Pigeon. Once again Nevada Barr takes "the classic 'marooned on a desert island with a madman concept' ", added facts about the dangers of fighting fires, and twisted everything into an incredible story.....all the way to the very last page.

This is a thriller to read!


Garden Style (Better Homes and Gardens) (Better Homes and Gardens)
Garden Style (Better Homes and Gardens) (Better Homes and Gardens)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/18/2008


It says, "Decorating Ideas for Indoors and Out" and it certainly is. A delightful, visual book of great ideas. If I had several houses and lots of money, there are MANY ideas I'd just HAVE to use.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: