Reviews - Sarah T. (sarah5775)

1 to 20 of 389 - Page:
23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 9/13/2007
14 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Ok. A bestselling book gets published by a pastor called "90 Minutes in Heaven" and makes millions.

Then a little while later some unknown guy says he has a vision of hell and writes a book entitled "23 Minutes in Hell" and sells it and makes millions.

He didn't have a documented near death experience. He just says that one night Jesus came and "took him into hell." He has no way of verifying his story. No proof at all. Just his word.

His story is poorly written, and has no new or unique information, just the basic "its fire and it's awful" teachings that people all have heard again and again, but yet Christians flock to his book like sheep, and buy multiple copies to give their friends. This guy says he wants to save people from hell, but he sells his books, doesn't give a single one of them away, sets up a "ministry" website with nothing on it but and reviews of the book that say its great and a link to buy the book. Then he goes on speaking tours and gets paid to talk about his book, and sells copies of the book to more and more people.

All the while there is not one shred of proof or evidence that anything happened to him at all.

I think Weise is laughing all the way to the bank."


264 Great Outreach Ideas for Individual Christians and for Churches (Ministry Solutions)
Review Date: 1/26/2008


"God is faithful and gracious, God's Word is powerful and effective, and Jesus forgives and changes people! Despite all of this, we often find it difficult as individuals and as churches to share our faith with others.

In this book Joel Heck clearly advises that every Christian outreach effort begin by focusing on God's Word and the message of salvation. Next, look at your community and the needs of the people living around you. Then, explore the myriad number of "delivery systems" proposed in this book and start reaching out.

Heck has divided the book into two sections, presenting outreach ideas both for churches and for individuals. The ideas are not cure-alls, but tested ways of capitalizing on ministry opportunities.

Use the ideas in this book and experience the joy of sharing God's Word in ways that will make a difference in peoples' lives!"


3 minute a day extreme devotions for girls
3 minute a day extreme devotions for girls
Author: Simon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/18/2006


"This is a good devotional for teenage girls."


31 Days of Wisdom and Praise
31 Days of Wisdom and Praise
Author: Dean Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/18/2010


"This little pocket sized bible reader can fit in your purse and be pulled out when you want to pray of read God's word."


40 Days to Freedom: Live the Miracle!
40 Days to Freedom: Live the Miracle!
Author: Tom Lomas
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 12/4/2006


"Haven't read this Christian book, but here's what it says on the back:

"Tom Lomas, a family man and a professional, was pssessed by a powerful addiction. It was defined by psychiatry as a classic neurosis and a masterful instinct. He lived with this all of his adult life until age 50. He realized his condition was incurable by human means. In desperation and faith he prayed to be cured. The prayer was answered in the form of an extraodinary miracle. He was then instructed to write this booki about the miracle so it could be experienced by others with similar afflictions who want to gain control of their own minds and actions.

Forty days to freedom takes you okn an exciting journey to a new way of living. Authr Tom Lomas clearly and simply explains how you can free your mind from imprisonment of personal demons and receive a rebirth of spirit and inner strengh to face life's challenges with joy and confidence."


Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 9/29/2010


"I really liked this. I have read a few by her that I didn't like all that much, but I'm glad I gave her another chance because this one was really good. Likable characters and a lot of suspense. Really good overall."


Aborting Planned Parenthood
Aborting Planned Parenthood
Author: Robert H. Ruff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/9/2010


"I did not agree with this author's religious beliefs or his belief that premarital sex (as he terms it, fornication) is wrong. However, it was very interesting to get an inside look at how Planned Parenthood deals with its clients. (the author found records from a Planned Parenthood clinic in the dumpster outside it and wrote the book about what they said) I really got an idea of the inner workings of an abortion clinic and birth control clinic, and that made the book worth a read, although I skipped over some parts of it- the quotes and comments from Planned Parenthood nurses and doctors are really interesting to read."


Aborting Planned Parenthood
Aborting Planned Parenthood
Author: Robert Ruff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/13/2008


"Late one November night, Robert Ruff managed to obtain two full years' worth of the complete medical and financial records of America's third largest Planned Parenthood affiliate. Never before has any outsider had access to Planned Parenthood's confidential internal records. This book is the story those records tell- a story of financial scandal and medical failure.

This is a book that blows away the myth that Planned Parenthood is at least dong some good. This is the book that exposes Planned Parenthood, not with rhetoric, but with cold, hard facts gleaned from Planned Parenthood's own internal records."


Abortion: A Rational Look at an Emotional Issue
Abortion: A Rational Look at an Emotional Issue
Author: R. C. Sproul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/21/2010


"This book explains the pro-life position from a Christian view. Also, there is a court transcript of a famous geneticist talking about when life begins which is very valuable and interesting."


Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood
Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood
Author: Kristin Luker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/25/2010


"this book does not address whether abortion should be legal or anything like that, but gave some valuable information about the history of abortion in America, and I learned quite a bit about the origins of the pro-life and pro-choice movements, as well as the differences in the way pro-choice and pro-life activists see the world. The author interviewed activists from both sides and discussed the way they came to their views and why they felt the way they did. I am a pretty untypical pro-life person, so I only related to some of what she said about pro-lifers, but it was really interesting seeing how people with different views on abortion have different ways of looking at so many other issues and how they perceive things.

I feel I gained a lot of knowledge by reading this about why people are pro-choice or pro-life. The book is old but I think much of the same still applies. I have read many books by abortion that CLAIM to be unbiased but clearly aren't- in this one, I really think she did a great job of treating both sides fairly. I have read the whole thing, and I honestly can't tell what the author thinks about abortion, whether is it right or wrong."


Abortion and Unborn Human Life
Abortion and Unborn Human Life
Author: Patrick Lee, Patrick Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 4/20/2011


"A defense of the pro-life position from a philosophical standpoint. Heavy on theories of competing ethics and different philosophical traditions. Definitely a book for a heavy thinker and someone interested in questions of ethics. Perfect for a philosophy major, probably a little difficult for the average person."


The Abortion Dilemma: Personal Views on a Public Issue
The Abortion Dilemma: Personal Views on a Public Issue
Author: Miriam Claire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/15/2010


"This book is pro-choice propaganda and is full of lies. It claims that abortion is 100 times safer than childbirth, uses the story that Becky Bell died of an illegal abortion (this has been disproven)and falsifies statistics about when abortions take place. The author is clearly pro-abortion and, not surprisingly, is a member of Planned Parenthood. She rants and raves how abortion should be a choice and then says that mentally ill people or people on welfare should be forced to have abortions. She is awful.

Still, the book is definitely interesting, the quotes by abortionists and stories of women who have had abortions in different countries and cultures are captivating. It is good to read these stories of people telling in their own words there experiences about abortion, even if I do suspect that they were included based on the author's agenda."


Abortion: My Choice, God's Grace : Christian Women Tell Their Stories
Review Date: 6/17/2010


"I am not religious, but this book twists fundamental Christian teachings in order to justify a selfish act. It claims that Jesus supports abortion and that women are justified in killing their unborn babies because "god forgives." And that anyone who opposes abortion is "judging" and therefore wrong.

At the time many of the women in this book had their abortions, their babies were far enough along to have faces, arms, legs, fingers, toes and heartbeats. Somehow it doesn't seem like Jesus would really support killing them."


Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints (Opposing Viewpoints)
Abortion: Opposing Viewpoints (Opposing Viewpoints)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/18/2012


"this book is an excellent overview of the abortion issue. It contains many articles on abortion written by both pro-life and pro-choice activists. It covers all the major issues, including the abortion pill, whether or not abortion is safe, whether or not rate justifies abortion, whether abortion should be legal, etc. The essays are really well thought out and present the best arguments of both sides. It's great because it helps you clarify your beliefs"


Abortion Papers: Inside the Abortion Mentality
Abortion Papers: Inside the Abortion Mentality
Author: Bernard Nathanson, Adelle Nathanson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/13/2009


"A former abortionist who worked with NARAL to legalize abortion talks about how it happened. He discussed the propaganda they used to push legalized abortion and reflects on different aspects of the abortion debate. Dr. Nathanson is now a big name in the pro-life movement, he produced The Silent Scream.

The book is dry at times but has good historical detail and helps the reader understand how and why abortion was legalized with a view on how to change that in the future."


Abortion: The Clash of Absolutes
Abortion: The Clash of Absolutes
Author: Laurence Tribe, Laurence Tribe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/14/2010


"This book provides a history of abortion rights and legislation in America, from colonial times to the mid 1990s, when it was written. It also discusses the status of abortion in other cultures. Although the author's pro-choice bias shows at times, it is a good look at the issue from the standpoint of constitutional law as well as history. I feel I learned a lot about abortion politics from reading this book."


Abortion:  The Silent Holocaust
Abortion: The Silent Holocaust
Author: John Joseph Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/2/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this a long time ago, but I remember that I felt moved by it. It is written by a pro-life man who discusses different aspects of the abortion debate. The tone of the book is gentle and he is not self-righteous or radical, but he makes some good points about abortion."


Absolute Convictions : My Father, a City, and the Conflict that Divided America
Review Date: 1/22/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is written by a man whose father performs abortions in the same city where another abortionist was shot by a fanatical anti-abortion activist. There is a great deal of detail about the city of Buffalo, the father's life, and the day to day experiences of the narrator growing up. The book is well written and seems to be relatively fair in its characterizations of pro-choice and pro-life characters. It is not angry or bitter as I feared it would be. Interesting read."


Acceptable Risk
Acceptable Risk
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 1/17/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is perhaps my favorite book by Robin Cook. Neuroscientist Edward Armstrong discovers a chemical that may have been responsible for the hysteria of the Salem Witch Trials. Genetically engineered, this drug becomes a seemingly miraculous anti-depressant. Reluctant to waste time with FDA trials, a group of scientists test it on themselves. And that's when the troubles begin. This is a really good book and raises many questions about drug safety and what defines 'normal' behavior."


Achieving the Impossible With God: The Life Story of Dr. R.A. Forrest
Review Date: 2/13/2008


"This is the life story and struggles of a man who built a Christian school. He faced much adversity along the way but remained faithful to God and his dream."


1 to 20 of 389 - Page: