Reviews - Jennifer P. (ped1990)

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/17/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is honestly the first Dean Koontz book I did not like. I felt like he was trying to write like someone else and he epically failed at it. Too many characters - little to no character development. The storyline was very confusing - way too much scientific mumbo jumbo. I'm not actually sure what ultimately happened - I couldn't get it straight in my mind. I enjoyed the last two pages and that's about it."


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 5/18/2012


"As a paralegal in a small-town law firm, I can attest to the fact that a lot about this book was very realistic. There were many themes - life isn't fair, money = power, every lawsuit is equivalent to gambling, etc. I enjoyed the book, but found it to be depressing also. I will probably never look at a Supreme Court justice the same way again."


The Bride Collector
The Bride Collector
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/22/2012


"Ted Dekker is a very different kind of thrill writer. I enjoyed this book, but feel like there were a number of loose ends that were never tied up. He had a very interesting romantic angle, which I don't believe I've ever encountered before. I liked seeing the killer's view, but felt there was so much mental health discussion that sometimes the storyline got lost in it. Certainly a good book though."


A Case of Need
A Case of Need
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 5/7/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very exciting book. It is a very fast read with lots of twists. The ending was a bit disappointing -- seemed anti-climactic after all the excitement throughout the story. I still highly recommend though."


Charlotte Au Chocolat: Memories of a Restaurant Girlhood
Charlotte Au Chocolat: Memories of a Restaurant Girlhood
Author: Charlotte Silver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/22/2012
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very nicely written book about Charlotte Silver's childhood in her mother's restaurant "Upstairs at the Pudding." I expected this to be more of a funny, cutesy book, however, it was more of a serious look back at what shaped Charlotte's life. I enjoyed her descriptions of the food, desserts, the restaurant's decor and the various personalities that worked at the restaurant over the years. More than anything, it made me want to eat at the restaurant. It's a nice read."


Circle of Friends
Circle of Friends
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 2/5/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I just love Maeve Binchy's books and this one doesn't disappoint. I was sad to see it end and will always wonder what happened to Benny, Eve, Jack, Nan and the others."


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 6/1/2012


"John Grisham has done it again! He has the ability to grab you by the throat and not let go! This book was sometimes difficult to read because of the deep emotion involved. I find myself re-thinking my views of the death penalty after reading this. Mr. Grisham has the ability of making you look at an issue from several angles and really makes you THINK while reading his books. I will not stop thinking about these characters anytime soon."


Dead Ringer (Rosato & Associates, Bk 10)
Dead Ringer (Rosato & Associates, Bk 10)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 3/17/2007


"Another great book by Lisa Scottoline. This one keeps you on your toes. You're going to wish for a third book in this two-book series."


Don't Blink
Don't Blink
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 3/20/2012


"Another page-turner by James Patterson. I couldn't put it down! He definitely knows how to write a roller coaster of a ride book."


Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Dying for Chocolate (Goldy Schulz, Bk 2)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 4/5/2009


"This is the second book in the Goldy the Caterer series. I really love this series. If you're a fan of cooking and a fan of mysteries, then I think you'll enjoy Goldy's adventures. In this book, Goldy has moved to an elite country club subdivision and is working as the live-in cook for an eccentric retired General and his wife. Mysteries abound, starting with the death of Goldy's boyfriend, Psychiatrist Philip Miller. You'll enjoy all of the twists and turns this book takes and Goldy's amateur sleuthing. And, your mouth will water when you read about the menus Goldy is preparing."


Echoes
Echoes
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/20/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had a very hard time getting into this book. It wasn't until about two-thirds of the way through that it finally clicked for me. By the end, I couldn't put it down. I was disappointed in the ending though - it seems like we were left hanging as to what would happen with Clare. This is definitely not one of my favorite Maeve Binchy books."


Fatal Cure
Fatal Cure
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 4/14/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very frightening book about the world of HMOs. Slow start, but picked up halfway through and went screechingly fast at the end."


The First Day of the Rest of My Life
The First Day of the Rest of My Life
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/3/2014


"I am a HUGE Cathy Lamb fan and I think this book was a masterpiece. Yes, it was very difficult to read at times - the molestation details were horrific - but I understood at the end why she had to be so graphic to develop the story. This book and the stories that are interwoven together throughout are truly magical. I cried like a baby several times and was sorry to see the book end. Cathy Lamb is an amazing author and this book is a triumph."


Fortune
Fortune
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/27/2007


"This is a real page-turner. I could hardly put it down. Twists and turns on every page. You'll read this book very fast."


Girls in White Dresses (Vintage Contemporaries)
Girls in White Dresses (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Jennifer Close
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/20/2013


"I loved this book! It's almost written in the form of short essays rather than a continuous story. I laughed out loud several times. Great debut. I'm looking forward to reading Jennifer Close's next book."


The Endless Forest (Wilderness, Bk 6)
The Endless Forest (Wilderness, Bk 6)
Author: Sara Donati
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/28/2012


"I am so sorry to see this series end. I loved every one of these books and fell in love with the Bonner family. Sara Donati does a great job of wrapping up everyone's story - I love the way she does it in a series of newspaper articles at the end of this book. I thought this particular book was a little slow moving at the beginning, but once the pace picked up, I couldn't put it down. It was like saying goodbye to an old friend."


Heart of the Matter
Heart of the Matter
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 4/9/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book. Even though it was a more serious book for Emily Giffin, I thought it was very well written with great character development. I think she truly showed both sides of an affair. I had a hard time putting it down."


Henry's Sisters
Henry's Sisters
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 1/17/2012


"I am a HUGE Cathy Lamb fan. Unlike some of her other fans, I thought this book was amazing. The story of this family's dysfunctionality and the result just made it real. Not every family is perfect, or even close, there are some very harsh realities in this world and this book just puts them out there and works them into something magical. Keep the kleenex handy - there are parts that are tough. I give this big a definite four stars."


The Island
The Island
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/12/2012


"Such an amazing book. I'll be thinking about it for a long time to come."


The Lake House (When the Wind Blows, Bk 2)
The Lake House (When the Wind Blows, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 2/19/2007


"I am a huge fan of James Patterson and this is another awesome book by him. I highly recommend. If you enjoy a fantasy-type, sci-fi book, this is for you."


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: