Juli W. (juliW) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
204 Rosewood Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Another book in the Cedar Cove series. Grace Sherman's husband has disappeared, and she's struggling to cope.


Babe: The Gallant Pig
Babe: The Gallant Pig
Author: Dick King-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/17/2006


The happy tale of a gallant pig and his quest to not become...a sheepdog!


The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 1)
The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 1)
Author: Lloyd Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Taran the Pig Keeper longs to be a hero. Along with his companions, he goes on a quest to save his homeland from evil.


The Cassandra Complex (Emortals, Bk 4)
The Cassandra Complex (Emortals, Bk 4)
Author: Brian Stableford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/17/2006


In the 21st Century, World War III is on the horizon. There's no avoiding it. A scientist disappears with his discovery that could change the fate of mankind. Has he discovered what everyone wants?


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 719
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Cold Mountain is a love story based in the Civil War era. A Confederate soldier deserts the army to walk back home to Cold Mountain to see the woman he loves. Ada is desperately trying to survive during the war. It's a very emotional story.


Dance Upon The Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Dance Upon The Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 12/6/2006


I enjoyed this book. Although it was pretty much a "formula'' romance book with a bit of suspense/mystery added in, the story was interesting and kept my attention. Nice relaxing read.


The Final Crossing
The Final Crossing
Author: Harvey Ardman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/17/2006


World War II intrigue surrounds the French luxury liner Normandie as it speeds across the sea carrying secret cargo. Its passengers have no idea that the largest maritime disaster in history is only minutes away!


Good dog, bad dog
Good dog, bad dog
Author: Mordecai Siegal
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/23/2006


Great book on positive dog training! Siegal goes into basic commands like Sit and Stay, and housetraining, and also more complex training for sport dogs.


Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 786
Review Date: 11/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Finally a cozy series with a new twist to it! The main character can sense dead bodies and find out how they died, and oftentimes who killed them. Very cool! I really enjoyed this book. I was getting tired of reading cozies because they were all becoming so formula. Glad to see that Charlaine Harris continues to provide stories that are original and just fun to read.


The Grey King (Dark is Rising, Bk 4)
The Grey King (Dark is Rising, Bk 4)
Author: Susan Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/17/2006


A boy recuperating from a serious illness comes to Wales only to find that he's destined to fulfill an ancient Welsh legend.


Howl's Moving Castle
Howl's Moving Castle
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 9/23/2008


I really enjoyed this book! It's YA sci-fi/fantasy, and just a fun read. I would recommend it for a young child (ages 10+), and for any adult looking for a quick read that is also entertaining.

If you've seen the animated movie version, the book is even better.


The Incredible Journey
The Incredible Journey
Author: Bel Ria
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Lost in the Canadian wilderness, a labrador retriever, bull terrier and a siamese cat work together to make their way home to their owners. Fabulous story! Great for reading aloud to the kids. :)


Maiden Voyage
Maiden Voyage
Author: Cynthia Bass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Three passengers on the ill-fated Titanic meet to face their fears and overcome their greatest challenge.


Maze of Worlds (House of Doors series)
Maze of Worlds (House of Doors series)
Author: Brian Lumley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/17/2006


This book is part of the House of Doors series. A group of people, along with a dog, brave a maze of alien machinery to fight for the future of Earth.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5396
Review Date: 2/20/2007


I didn't enjoy this book at all. For me, the main characters had very few redeeming qualities at all. And, the story seemed very contrived and overly melodramatic. What was supposed to make me feel sympathetic was really just annoying.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4029
Review Date: 12/6/2006


I really enjoyed this book. At first I thought it might be too depressing, but it was so well written that I couldn't put it down.


The Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy, Bk 16)
The Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy, Bk 16)
Author: Rita Mae Brown, Sneaky Pie Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/13/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I used to love the Mrs. Murphy series. The early books in the series were fun to read. But the last 3 books in the series have been more about Rita Mae Brown's social and political views than about the cozy mystery series. This one was no exception -- Brown rails on the Republican party and its views on economics, abortion and other issues, while the mystery portion of this book falls flat. Characters have long discussions about politics and the mystery portion of the story is slow to develop, and a bit uninteresting.

I wish the series still had the fun and sweet feeling that it once had. I want to read about 3 pets helping their owner solve mysteries, not sweeping commentary on politics, gay rights and abortion by the author.

I'm going to pass on any more books in this series. The earlier books are great....the new ones just aren't an enjoyable read, IMO.


The Search For Significance
The Search For Significance
Author: Robert S. McGee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/22/2010


Search for Significance is a Christian counseling book. It stresses reliance on God rather than on people's opinions when it comes to our self-worth. Excellent book! It mixes psychology and spirituality. McGee is a psychologist and a Christian. His knowledge makes this a powerful book about how to find balance and fulfillment in our lives.


Search for Significance
Search for Significance
Author: Robert S. McGee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/22/2010


This is a companion study/workbook to go with Search for Significance by Robert McGee. McGee points out that most people look to the opinions of others, rather than God's Word to find their self-worth. The 12 week study is Biblically based, and stresses finding satisfaction and happiness through a close relationship with God, rather than on opinion or performance. It's just an outstanding book!


The Spark: The 28-Day Breakthrough Plan for Losing Weight, Getting Fit, and Transforming Your Life
Review Date: 1/22/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This book is written by Chris Downie, the founder of SparkPeople.com. He outlines the core SparkPeople approach to health and wellness, and also includes stories from members of the website. If you want a common sense approach to weight loss and finding balance in your life, then this is a book you must read!


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: