Lynne W. (pbutterfly) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 3/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A celebration of women's friendships over a lifetime; I found myself envying this fictional bookclub. I was pleasantly surprised at some of the weightier parts of the book, as the title sounded more 'fluffy and light'. I'd liken it to a non-Southern "Ya-ya's".


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1540
Review Date: 3/6/2006


Book 1 of the "In the Garden" trilogy, this book centers on Stella - a widow looking to rebuild her life for the sake of her two young boys. It also begins a mystery that will continue through the trilogy - a family ghost who seems both pathetically sad and potentially destructive.


The Borgia Bride
The Borgia Bride
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 2/27/2006
Helpful Score: 10


Intrigue, scandal, murder, and liasons.... all well-researched and grounded historically. This book made the era vivid while giving interesting, complex characters to love and hate. If you like Phillipa Gregory books ("The Virgin Queen", etc) or historical fiction of any kind, you'll like this.


Born in Ice (Concannon Sister, Bk 2)
Born in Ice (Concannon Sister, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 585
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Second book in The Irish Trilogy. Brianna (who is the focus of this volume) was probably my favorite of the three Irish heroines. The whole series is worth a read (Born in Fire was first, and the third is Born in Shame).


Breath of Scandal
Breath of Scandal
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 2/27/2006
Helpful Score: 8


The characters, especially our heroine Jade, were very well defined and interesting. The story kept my interest, and like any good Sandra Brown book, kept me reading long past bedtime!


The Calhouns: Catherine, Amanda and Lilah
The Calhouns: Catherine, Amanda and Lilah
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 2/28/2006


Typcial Nora Roberts romance, which is to say better than most romances with a bit of mystery thrown in to boot. The Calhoun family comes to life and again Ms. Roberts manages to create vividly individual characters, each of whom has her own story under the umbrellas of family and mystery. (This is the first book of a two-book series.)


The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan (Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate)
Review Date: 2/28/2006


Typcial Nora Roberts romance, which is to say better than most romances with a bit of mystery thrown in to boot. The Calhoun family comes to life and again Ms. Roberts manages to create vividly individual characters, each of whom has her own story under the umbrellas of family and mystery. (This is the second book of a two-book series.)


Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1261
Review Date: 5/24/2006


One of my favorite Nora Roberts series, the Three Sisters begins with Nell's story. Highly recommended that you read the other two books after! (Heaven and Earth, Face the Fire).


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 4/24/2007


If you've seen the movie, there's not much new here (well, a few more anecdotes and a much better reason for the ending), but it's still a lot of fun and a great escape-book. I found it especially helpful on the days I was having a bad day at work... it could be just a little worse!


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 947
Review Date: 10/7/2006


More fun with Stephanie Plum. This time she tries other jobs on for size, having quit bounty hunting (well, officially, anyhow). Stephanie at the drycleaners, Stephanie at Chick-in-a-Bucket, Stephanie in trouble (of course). More good Ranger/Morelli (what's a gal to do??) tension... and just a fun quick read.


Eva's Cousin
Eva's Cousin
Author: Sibylle Knauss, Sibylle Knauss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book interesting, as it was based on true experiences, but lacking in it's narrative. I wanted it to draw me in more, express more of the conflict and tension of the time period, and give me more insight into the characters than it did. However, there were events and 'storylines' which kept my interest enough to keep me reading. If you're interested in this time period, it's a unique perspective.


Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1105
Review Date: 5/24/2006


One of my favorite Nora Roberts series, the Three Sisters concludes with Mia's story. Highly recommended that you read the other two books (Dance Upon the Air, Heaven and Earth first).


Genuine Lies
Genuine Lies
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 3/6/2006


I really enjoyed this book - it's nothing terribly surprising or deep, but it was a fun read that lived up to it's promise of movie star 'scandals', including enough potential villans to keep me guessing.


The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
Author: Melissa Bank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 616
Review Date: 11/3/2006


Collection of vignettes of the life of Jane Rosenal as she navigates the waters of relationships and life as a young woman in New York trying to find happiness and love. The characters she encounters are often funny (like her boss, Mimi), charming (like older-man Archie), and downright wonderful (friend Sophie, among others). Not too deep, but not light-n-fluffy, this book manages to balance whimsy, humor, and deep issues of love and loss.


Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island, Bk 2)
Heaven and Earth (Three Sisters Island, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1152
Review Date: 5/24/2006


One of my favorite Nora Roberts series, the Three Sisters continues with Riley's story. Highly recommended that you read Dance Upon Air first, then finish the series with Face the Fire.


Honest Illusions
Honest Illusions
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Fun romp -- magicians, jewel thieves, crooked politicians, and a love story.


Hot Ice
Hot Ice
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 3/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Fun, adventure-movie with romance of a book. Great light reading for commute or vacation, in Nora Roberts style. Fun characters - the spoiled yet spunky heiress and the loner with a heart jewel thief who encounter a number of interesting people along the way.


I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 7/4/2006
Helpful Score: 14


At least this book serves as a warning! Women, beware! Parents, be scared! Men, please be the anti-Tucker! Drunken, selfish, womanizing that is sometimes funny, but mostly just mean and sad. Then again, I'm a woman, so I'm not exactly the target audience!


If You Really Loved Me: A True Story of Desire and Murder
If You Really Loved Me: A True Story of Desire and Murder
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 3/24/2006


be sure you know that this is TRUE Crime. I thought it was fiction when I glanced at it, so if you (like me) enjoy reading thrillers but can't stomach it when you know it really happened, this isn't for you.


Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1476
Review Date: 12/16/2006


The modern vampire classic. Flowery, ornate style, classic undead evil sexiness.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: