Mary S. (marysommer) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Been There, Done That
Been There, Done That
Author: Carol Snow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 9/29/2011


This is a fun read. I think Carol Snow did a great job of capturing dorm life, and apparently things haven't changed that much in 30 years.. YIKES. This book is light and breezy and quite fun with a few insights into the publishing world of small magazines. I love the fact the heroine was unsure and tentative with her assignment and had great angst over the whole charade... it was a bit more fun that way.... and made her likeable


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1740
Review Date: 3/18/2011


I think this is one of Dan Brown's better books. The female protagonist was a nice change of pace and her role as a high level cryptologist allowed for an exciting setting. I am an avid mystery fan and I was pleasantly surprised at some of the twists and turns of the plot. Good quick read


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1500
Review Date: 3/18/2011


I really enjoyed this book. I thought Wells beautifully captured location and time that we won't see again. I loved the enduring friendships and the use of the scrapbook to tell the stories was quite clever.


The First Counsel
The First Counsel
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/18/2011


I have never read Meltzer but if his other novels are as fast paced as this one he is definatly on my reading list. Meltzer gave us a nice little insight into the Washington pressure cooker. I liked the protagonist but I thoughts he lacked a backbone at times.. or at least he lacked good judgment. I hated the First Daughter from the moment she appeared on the page but she did keep things interesting.


The Ghost (aka The Ghost Writer)
The Ghost (aka The Ghost Writer)
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another good who-done-what.... it was a quick and satisfying read and I loved the ending


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 3/18/2011


Sweet, touching, interesting story. Great character study and the characters were far from predictable.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1037
Review Date: 3/18/2011


Another Dan Brown thriller. He provided some intersting achitectural tidbits about our nation's capital and he didn't disappoint in the thriller aspect. I also found the whole Noetics information very thought provoking.


Three Junes
Three Junes
Author: Julia Glass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 541
Review Date: 3/18/2011


Hated it... 'nough said


A Whisper of Roses
A Whisper of Roses
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/18/2011


A sweet little romance book. Nothing too excting, typical plot, characters and incidents.. but an easy quick ready. M&M candy as compared to european dark chocolate


The Year of Fog
The Year of Fog
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 8/11/2017


This was a riveting and at times heartbreaking book. The author perfectly captured a family's turmoil and ultimate breakdown when their child becomes a victim of kidnappers. It is not a who-done-it or a procedural but a deeply moving look into the inner lives of people in crisis. It also captured the love/hate relationship the media has with sensational stories involving children. I highly recommend this book.


1 to 10 of 10