Aimee P. (apete1977) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
The Beach Trees
The Beach Trees
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/23/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This is the Karen White I remember and love. A fast, engaging read with a likable cast characters. I loved Aimee's flashbacks and Julie's present day narration. A definite page-turner although the "mystery" was a bit obvious IMO. Still, very enjoyable! Now I remember why White is one of my favorite chick-fiction authors.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1035
Review Date: 12/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book a lot, but won't go so far as to say I loved it. It took a good 200 pages to really get into, but I'm glad I stuck with it. Perhaps I expected to much from this book since I've heard such rave reviews from friends and family.

The narration by the Grim Reaper put an interesting twist into the story-telling as did the sprinkles of foreshadowing throughout the book. Characters were relatable and likable enough. The author's descriptions were vivid.

I'd love a sequel to learn about Liesel's life where this book leaves off.


Bossypants
Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 5/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was an easy and quick read, but not nearly as funny as I expected.


Breaking the Bank
Breaking the Bank
Author: Yona Zeldis McDonough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I guess I'm in the minority here, but I found this book incredibly annoying. The whole premise is ridiculous, but most annoying was the main character Mia. Self described as "impulsive, emotion-driven, spontaneous", she's actually immature, selfish & mis-guided. I cheered for her family when they tried to set her straight. Her relationship with her daughter is the only decent relationship in the book and even that is extremely flawed. Mia is awful to her "best friend", boyfriend, brother, siser-in-law & mother. No wonder her life is falling apart.

Dumb book with a dumb characters. Glad to be done.


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 11/20/2011


Loved this book! The characters were likable and the story was suspenseful. I'll definitely be reading more of this author's work!


Come Home
Come Home
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a frustrating read for me. Jill, the main character, was kind of annoying & as we're the cast of surrounding characters. The story did move at a good pace, but there wasn't much else good about it. The most annoying part of it was the author's attempt at insider knowledge of the medical field. Great job with the repeated "Epic" reference, but you spelled HIPPA "HIPA". Basic stuff - Google it. Also Jill repeatedly breached patient confidentiality throughout the story. Nit-picking? Probably, but it was ridiculous & annoying to read. How did editors not catch this?!

Also, the final chapter with Megan's retaliation was eye-rolling stupid. Should have been dropped from the book.

Definitely not this author's best work.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 1/18/2014


Wow, another freaky & suspenseful book by this author. Fast paced, engrossing & disturbing - a penny for your thoughts Gillian Flynn!


Drinking Closer to Home (P.S.)
Drinking Closer to Home (P.S.)
Author: Jessica Anya Blau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/8/2013


I liked this book. The family was totally screwed up, but I found them hilarious. They loved each other and made the dysfunction work for them. Characters were endearing - even the whacked out mom, Louise.

Well-written, the story flowed well and moved along quickly going from present day to poignant flashbacks with each chapter. The epilogue wrapped the book up nicely and contained some laugh-out-loud moments for me - I could picture my own grandparents having such a conversation.


Falling Home
Falling Home
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 7/1/2014


loved this book & even shed a tear or two which doesn't happen often.

The characters in it were very likable and the story was enjoyable. It was easy to root for Cassie and Sam as well as Harriet and Joe. I've read a few of Karen White's books now and they all seem to follow the same lines, so the plot and big "mystery" were a bit predictable. Sometimes that's okay in a book - especially when the book is as good as this one!


The Fault in Our Stars
The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 7/29/2014


I liked this book, but despite really really wanting to, I did not love it. Most of the characters were likable enough and the story line was realistic, but I had a hard time believing the authenticity of Augustus. He was too abstract and rigid.

This was a quick read, but was somewhat depressing (it does deal with children dying of cancer after all) and heavy. It did however, illustrate very well that true love knows no age or limits. I'm glad to have read it.


Gracelin O'Malley (Gracelin O'Malley, Bk 1)
Gracelin O'Malley (Gracelin O'Malley, Bk 1)
Author: Ann Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/30/2013


Set in 19th century Ireland, this was a riveting story of survival, love and inspiration. This was a fast read for me with many horrific twist & turns - it was very hard to put down. I'm looking forward to reading the sequels and to see how Grace's journey continues!


Heaven, Texas
Heaven, Texas
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book... where to start?!
Gracie & Bobby Tom (main characters) are idiots. She's a 30-something, naive virgin begging to be deflowered & is completely clueless about life in general. He's a 30-something washed-up football star who is nothing but a condescending, chauvinistic pig. He takes pity on Gracie by having pity sex & showing her the ropes. What a great guy - ugh. Throughout the course of the book he basically date rapes her, assaults a police officer, steals a squad car & then nearly assaults her. And he's the "prize" in all of this.

Neither of them are likable. There's no comedy or levity in this horrible book & the supporting characters aren't much better. Finishing this book was torturous & I'm kicking myself for believing it could & would get better. It has a decent rating on goodreads &
Amazon - something that truly baffles me. This was an awful read. If I see anything else from this author, I will probably throw up a bit in my mouth.

Yuck.


Here Lies Bridget
Here Lies Bridget
Author: Paige Harbison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/9/2013


Bridget's a bitch. She's the mean girl of her school. Her life takes a turn for the worst, her shtick doesn't work at school anymore and she offs herself. She gets a chance to make amends. So-so YA fiction. It's been done...


Home Again
Home Again
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/1/2014


I struggled with a bit of the logistical elements in this book, but overlooking those, it was a good enough read. Parts of it were corny and the overall story was predictable, but the characters were likable. Not her best work, but a decent book for light-hearted, summertime reading.


The House on Tradd Street (Tradd Street, Bk 1)
The House on Tradd Street (Tradd Street, Bk 1)
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 2/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Karen White is one of my favorite authors. I adore her love stories set in South Carolina.

This was the first book in her mystery series and if I didn't already know her other works, I wouldn't be inclined to read any more of her books. Unfortunately I already bought the other two in this series, so I will be reading them, but I'm in no rush. A lot of the book was incredibly far-fetched and just plain dumb. There were some twists that I didn't see coming, however there were a lot of other really obvious clues and solutions.

White should really just stick to her love stories and leave the mysteries for other writers. Hopefully her mystery skills improved as the she wrote the series...


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2287
Review Date: 6/12/2011


I had to check out this book - I'd heard way too much about the series to ignore it any longer. ...and am I glad I did!

This is a totally engrossing, page turner of a book. It may be geared toward teens / young adults, but it kept this 30-something mom on the edge of my seat. I may have ignored my darling children for a few hours while I DEVOURED this book in less than a day.

Needless to say, I can't wait to read the two sequels and see what Collins does with Katniss, Peeta & Gale.


Review Date: 5/10/2014


A so-so book. There's one or two really funny essays, but over-all there's not much to laugh about here. Fast & easy to read, it worked well for airplane reading.

The actual book itself is large & looks like a YA or large print book. It's kind of an odd size, IMO.


I Totally Meant to Do That
I Totally Meant to Do That
Author: Jane Borden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/15/2014


Muttled & rambling. By the time I finally finished a chapter, I had usually forgotten what point the author was trying to make. Should have skipped it.


If You Could See What I See
If You Could See What I See
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/8/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Meggie is damaged - we get that, we just don't know why until the book unravels her story. Lamb does a good job of incorporating flashbacks and stories to slowly reveal what happened to Meggie.

However, that's where the compliment ends. The rest of the book is incredibly cliche. The supporting cast of characters have their identities and Lamb keeps beating those same identities like a dead horse. It got old. She needed to develop her characters and round them out a bit more.

The story was predictable and about 100 pages to long. Glad to be finished.


If You Were Here
If You Were Here
Author: Jen Lancaster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 5/18/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I love Jen Lancaster's writing. Her style is fantastic and everything she writes is hilarious (in my opinion, anyway).

This is her first foray into fiction and she nailed it. It's super funny and such typical Jen.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: