Reviews - Deborah M. (teachingelementary)

1 to 9 of 9
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3644
Review Date: 12/26/2010


"A great read! If you loved Davinci Code, you'll love Angels and Demons!"


The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 708
Review Date: 10/31/2013


"A good ending to the trilogy, but it took a lot longer for me to read than the first two. I'm not sure if I just had grander expectations for this. Overall a good read, though."


The Notebook
The Notebook
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1685
Review Date: 12/27/2010


"Tear jerker! This book is definitely for the romantics out there!"


The Princess of Burundi (Ann Lindell, Bk 1)
The Princess of Burundi (Ann Lindell, Bk 1)
Author: Kjell Eriksson, Ebba Segerberg (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 5/27/2011


"This Swedish crime drama is about a murder that takes place in the city of Uppsala. The story follows the lives of the police detectives, the family of the victim and a potential suspects. The story is very slow moving especially in the beginning. I didn't really get into the book until about a third of the way through. The first third has a lot of character development and, in my opinion, too many unnecessary details. The worst part is that the ending was very abrupt. I had finally gotten absorbed in the story and the end came out of nowhere! I really liked the last 2/3 of the book and felt the the author came up short in the end. I think he spent too much energy describing details at the beginning of the story and ran out of energy for the end. So-so book!"


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2077
Review Date: 3/21/2011


"A beautiful book about girls in China in the 1800's. But beyond that, this is a book that explores the delicate nature of friendship, and a sisterhood among women. A must read for anyone who has had a true friendship."


Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 396
Review Date: 12/27/2010


"Felt like a preview for the next book in the series. I loved Wicked, but this book wasn't as good. the story dragged and the ending felt empty, like I just read a 300+ page introduction to another story."


The Starter Wife
The Starter Wife
Author: Gigi Levangie Grazer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 12/28/2010


"This is a great summer read. Its a fun easy read, perfect for that road trip to the beach! Loved the ending because I wasn't expecting it!"


A Thousand Splendid Suns
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1519
Review Date: 12/27/2010


"The Kite Runner was one of my favorite contemporary novels, but A Thousand Splendid Suns is way better! The story follows the lives of two women in Afghanistan, and lets the reader catch a glimpse of the oppression of women under extremist Muslim rule. It is a heart wrenching story, but a must read!"


Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace . . . One School at a Time
Review Date: 1/8/2011


"I am a teacher in a low income area, but nothing that comes close to the poverty and political turmoil in Pakistan and Afghanistan. I truly believe in angels and Greg Mortenson is an angel! his story is amazing and the saga of his years spent in the impoverished areas of those war-torn countries building schools is an inspiration.
The story is sometimes slow moving, but don't let that stop you from reading this book."


1 to 9 of 9