Robert M. (KazooBob) - , - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Bleachers
Bleachers
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 626
Review Date: 8/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great quick read. I am not a sports book reader, but this book is a liitle more than that. Small town football hero gets revisits his past to change his life.


Code to Zero
Code to Zero
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 7/2/2005


Spy novel set in the fifties involving the launch of Explorer 1. A good read.


Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War
Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War
Author: Joe Bageant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/25/2011


Great quick read. A comical view of American life as it is today.


Fire Wall (Checkered Flag, Bk 2)
Fire Wall (Checkered Flag, Bk 2)
Author: James Pruitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2005


Really have not read it.


Four Blind Mice (Alex Cross, Bk 8)
Four Blind Mice (Alex Cross, Bk 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 629
Review Date: 4/12/2006


Great Read


Hemingway's Chair
Hemingway's Chair
Author: Michael Palin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/11/2005
Helpful Score: 2


English humour, quick and dry. This is one of the Monty Python guys. He now has a great travel series on TV.


Jackdaws
Jackdaws
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 5/25/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Action packed WWII adventure set in France just before D Day involving the German occupiers, the French Resistance and the British Secret Service. A real good read.


The Janson Directive (Janson, Bk 1)
The Janson Directive (Janson, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 7/31/2005


Good read. Action Thriller.


Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 561
Review Date: 1/28/2007


Very, very funny.


The Last Juror
The Last Juror
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 6/27/2006


Another great read from this author.


Lie Down with Lions
Lie Down with Lions
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/25/2005


GREAT STORY


Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right
Review Date: 10/23/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great Book. Funny, well researched and it must be true or Al Franken would have been sued by now.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2246
Review Date: 4/20/2007


Wonderful book, glad I read it.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely Delightful.


Shake Hands with the Devil : The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda
Shake Hands with the Devil : The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda
Author: Roméo Dallaire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/19/2006


Last paragraph in the book Shake Hands with the Devil

As soldiers we have been used to moving mountains to protect our own sovereignty or risks to our way of life. In the future we must be prepared to move beyond national self-interest to spend our resources and spill our own blood for humanity. We have lived through centuries of enlightenment, reason, revolution, industrialization and globalization. No matter how idealistic the aim sounds, this new century must become the Century of Humanity, when we as human beings rise above race, creed, colour, religion and national self-interest and put eh good of humanity above the good of our own tribe. For the sake of the children and of our future. Peux ce que veux. Allons-y. ("Where there's a will, there's a way. Let's go").

An account of the ethnic cleansing in Africa in 1994. In the book, it describes how to risk one soldiers life, 85,000 Rwanadans must die. Not much has changed now in 2006 in relation to risks involved in Africa. It's a sorry comment on our world and those in it.


Silver Tower (Independent, Bk 1)
Silver Tower (Independent, Bk 1)
Author: Dale Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/9/2005


Written in 1988, it is about a space station and the tensions between Russia and the USA. Decent plot line.


Southern Runnin' (Checkered Flag, Bk 1)
Southern Runnin' (Checkered Flag, Bk 1)
Author: James Pruitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/24/2005


Really have not read it.


1 to 17 of 17