Wilma (Wendy) K. (wendyk) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
A Billionaire After Dark (Overnight Billionaires, Bk 2)
A Billionaire After Dark (Overnight Billionaires, Bk 2)
Author: Katie Lane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/29/2016


*I received this book early for the purpose of an HONEST review.*

A BILLIONAIRE AFTER DARK is book two in Katie Lane's THE OVERNIGHT BILLIONAIRES' SERIES. This book can be read as a stand alone however I think you'll understand Nash a little bit more if you've read A BILLIONAIRE BETWEEN THE SHEETS (a great read as well). A BILLIONAIRE AFTER DARK is Nash Beaumont's story, and oh what a story! First off you have a hot guy who's still struggling with events from his past and now he's rich! Then you have Eden who honestly is still trying to figure herself out even if she doesn't know that. I loved watching these two fall in love. Their road to HEA is both hot, and sigh worthy and at the same time it's so very touching. Especially watching Nash come to terms with his past, which I won't go into. I very much loved learning a bit more about Nash. And we get to see a little more of Grayson, Nash's younger brother. Be warned you'll fall in love with these three Beaumont brothers! You won't be able to help yourself. A BILLIONAIRE AFTER DARK is a perfect read! It's hot, it's quick paced, it's easy to read and it has hot guys........what more could you want? Oh it has a great setting, well written, realistic characters and a story that keeps you engaged til the end. This is one of those stay up all night, hate to see it end reads. So be warned! I highly recommend A BILLIONAIRE AFTER DARK to everyone! Just be warned once you read this one you'll be eager to read the other books in the series. I can't wait for Grayson's story to come out, WAKING UP WITH A BILLIONAIRE, which comes out in July 2016. Fans of Katie Lane will find this one another great read. If you are new to Katie Lane you'll be eager to read her backlist after reading this one!


Burn So Bright (Jupiter Point) (Volume 2)
Burn So Bright (Jupiter Point) (Volume 2)
Author: Jennifer Bernard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/28/2017


WOW! I have read every book Jennifer Bernard has written and I have to say she just keeps getting better and better. I fell in love with Josh when I read the first Jupiter Point book, SET THE NIGHT ON FIRE. He's such a fun character, and always makes every scene he's actually in better. I loved the heroine, Suzanne, from the first book as well. But Josh I think steals the show each and every time. Together they are a pair you just can't help but root for. Watching them clash, and interact is awesome. I love small town romances, feeling like you are part of the town, connecting with more than just a few characters, it's all so very appealing to me. BURN SO BRIGHT is one of the best books I've read this year. The setting is engaging, the characters are realistic and fun, the writing it outstanding and the overall storyline leaves you smiling and wanting more. This is one of those can't put down, why does it have to end reads that will leave you eager for more. I can't wait to see what Jupiter Point has to offer next! Please write faster Ms. Bernard, I need to visit Jupiter Point again and soon. Highly Recommended!


Coming Undone (Harlequin Blaze)
Coming Undone (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Stephanie Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/1/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was a very good book. It deals with a woman who mistakingly sends a fax to a Naval base that is home to a SEAL unit. A SEAL comes to investigate and ends up her date to her sister's wedding. There are a few errors in regards to SEALs, however if you can overlook these you wil enjoy reading this fun story. It does seem to be the first book in a series of upcoming stories that should be fun to read.


Driven to Distraction (American Bachelors) (Loveswept, No 769)
Driven to Distraction (American Bachelors) (Loveswept, No 769)
Author: Terry Lawrence
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/10/2005


This book is in good condition, it has been read and is used.


Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, Bk 1)
Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, Bk 1)
Author: Larissa Ione
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 3/24/2011
Helpful Score: 8


My Thoughts:

First let me say I love and adore Larissa. Shes a wonderful person. Second let me say she had me with the first Demonica book I read, from then on I was hooked to her writing. Now let me get to ETERNAL RIDERFirst it is the beginning of a new series, THE LORDS OF DELIVERANCE series, however it is connected to her DEMONICA SERIES. I can honestly say that you can read this series without reading the other, by honestly why would you want to? Afterall, Larissa wrote them. Now for the story itself. ETERNAL RIDER is one of those stories that as soon as I started the first page I forgot who wrote it, I forgot the things on my list that I needed to be doing, I was completely lost within this world and with these characters. I did NOT want to leave. And Ill say I started this book waiting at the doctor for my FIL and completely missed him coming out, had a woman sitting near me saying 3/4 times, miss isnt that your father, miss, miss FIL said she repeated it serveral times, he just laughed because he said it was like I was dazed when I finally looked up and noticed someone was talking to me. So yes I was lost within the world Larissa had created. These are characters that are flawed, tortured, have evil in them yes but are good as well. They are realistic even if they have paranormal aspects to them. I fell in love, how odd to say I LOVE WAR? Or I should say I LOVE ARES! We do get a visit with characters from the Demonica series so those of who loved those characters will be thrilled to see them again. Add to all these delicious characters we get a story that is fast-paced, engaging, and keeps you guessing. Honestly I worried up til the very end if wed really get a HEA out of this one. I just had no idea what to expect. It was a true EDGE OF YOUR SEAT read. Id highly recommend ETERNAL RIDER to any fan of paranormal, steamy, deeply engaging, fascinating, and so much more that I cant even explain it well reads. You wont be disappointed! Now go read the excerpt and be warned once you do, youll be dying to get your hands on this fabulous read! Thank you Larissa for writing a story that let me completely forget about the world around me and just be lost for a few hours(yes I finished this book in one day) in a world of delicious men, and strong women, even if they arent all human! Now how fast til we get the next book??? Must I wait???

reviewed by Wendy Keel

Rating 5


Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 7/10/2005


This is a hardcover, bookclub edition.


Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1359
Review Date: 2/11/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is a great book about a man trapped for years as a sex slave summoned out of a book. When Grace calls him, he finds more than he ever expected, but can it last? Will at last a two thousand year old curse be broken by true love?

A great read!


Forever and Always (Forever Trilogy, Bk 2)
Forever and Always (Forever Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 9/3/2005


Book 2 in the trilogy. should read together if you like Paranormal you may enjoy this one.


Forever... (Forever Trilogy, Bk 1)
Forever... (Forever Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 9/3/2005
Helpful Score: 1


1st in the Trilogy and should be read in order. A very good book if you like Paranormal elements and quirky heroines.


Ghost of a Chance (Frenchman's Island, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 1319)
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good book. Has a sequel. A little slow at times but still a good read.


Nobody But You (Cedar Ridge, Bk 3)
Nobody But You (Cedar Ridge, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/29/2016


*I received an eARC of this title for the purpose of an honest review.*

This book is part of the Cedar Ridge series and while I think you'll enjoy the whole series you can read this one and not feel totally lost. You will want to learn more about the town and it's "characters" but you'll be completely taken with Jacob and Sophie!

NOBODY BUT YOU is the story of Jacob, the long lost twin brother. Those who have read previous titles will know Jacob, but honestly if you haven't read the series, somehow I think you'll feel more for Jacob. I personally fell in love with Jacob. Then you have Sophie, a recently divorced woman, who's ex is well a big jerk to be nice. You can't help but feel for Sophie, although at times I could only laugh at the things that seem to happen to her.

When Jacob first meets Sophie sparks fly but coming from a bad relationship Sophie isn't about to let that affect her. To bad she didn't plan for Jacob. I found myself quickly turning pages or swiping my Kindle as it were. There's just so much chemistry between these two you can't wait to see what's going to happen next. There's more to this story than just the romance between Jacob and Sophie, you have the returning of Jacob to his family, after years of no communication. You have Sophie trying to figure out just what she wants and who she wants to be, add in Sophie's ex and well you get a story that full. There's more to life than just falling in love.

NOBODY BUT YOU is an excellent story. It's well-written, engaging and full of wonderfully drawn out characters and a setting that makes you want to leave today to visit! Fans of Jill Shalvis will love this one. If you are new to Ms. Shalvis you'll find a story that is easy and fun to read. The story is full of depth but nothing too heavy. There are some strong emotions expressed but you don't feel overwhelmed. I highly recommend you add this one to your list of new buys today. You'll be glad you did! A wonderful addition to anyone's bookshelf.


Ripe for Pleasure (The League of Second Sons)
Ripe for Pleasure (The League of Second Sons)
Author: Isobel Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


RIPE FOR PLEASURE by Isobel Carr is the first book in THE LEAGUE OF SECOND SONS series. This is a very different story, for one the heroine is not a virgin, for two the hero is not a Duke or Earl. This is a historical that is very interesting and kept me quickly turning pages. Viola is a strong heroine with flaws and this touch of sweetness that is hard to resist. While Leonidas or Leo, is a hero to die for, but hes got his flaws. There is romance, sensuality, suspense, and a sweetness that is surprising, there are also moments of humor. This is a great first book that will leave you eager to read the next book, the secondary characters, namely the other League members, second sons, will steal your heart. I will say I still prefer my virginal heroines but RIPE FOR PLEASURE is a truly engaging story that may have me rethinking my preferences. Fans of historical romances with a hot romance, strong characters with flaws, and a page-turning storyline with touches of suspense and a villain youll love to hate will adore RIPE FOR PLEASURE by Isobel Carr.


Texas Thunder (Rebel Moonshine, Bk 1)
Texas Thunder (Rebel Moonshine, Bk 1)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/9/2015


WOW! What a great read! I put off reading this one and have no idea why. Now I can't wait to get my hands on the next book. Fans of great romances with well written outstanding characters and a great storyline need to pick this one up NOW. I laughed, I sighed, I got misty eyed....okay so mostly I smiled and sighed but still there was a bit of it all. I read this one in a matter of hours and hated for ANYONE to bother me while reading. Kimberly Raye has a true winner with this series, Rebel Moonshine, and I can't wait to see what comes next!I highly recommend this one to everyone. Just be warned once you start you won't be able to stop!


Two of a Kind (Fool's Gold, Bk 12)
Two of a Kind (Fool's Gold, Bk 12)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


TWO OF A KIND is Felicia and Gideon's story. I won't rehash the blurb for you but will just say that the story is a true finding love romance. Felicia is a great character. Fans of smart characters who are quirky will adore Felicia, she just makes you smile. Gideon is a hero to die for, he's strong, silent and simply sexy. The story itself will leave you laughing, sighing, and at times a little teary-eyed. There are great characters, both main and secondary. The setting of Fool's Gold, CA is just outstanding. Fans of the series will have another winner on their hands. Those who are new to the series will have a great introduction that will leave them eager to read all the previous titles. While this is part of a large series, The Fool's Gold Series, you can read it alone or with just the previous title, Just One Kiss, which begins the Bodyguard Trilogy. However you don't have to read any title to follow TWO OF A KIND. I do highly recommend TWO OF A KIND. Fans of small town romances, romances with characters who seem completely different, fans of lovers who are reunited and basically any reader of romance. I'd suggest you pick up TWO OF KIND today, you won't regret it! I finished it in one night, so be prepared to not want to put it down!

*review posted at MyBookAddictionAndMore.com*

*received from author for the purpose of an honest review*


1 to 14 of 14