April (LadyVampire) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 88 - Page:
The Adventurer (Ladies and Legends, Bk 2)
The Adventurer (Ladies and Legends, Bk 2)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/19/2005


I like to read about mystery and romance and this book has both of those elements. There is also the friction of two people drawn together fighting against the attraction which keeps you on edge. A great book and yours for the asking.


Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 8/27/2008
Helpful Score: 8


Ive come to enjoy Lori Handelands Nightcreature series. So when I learned she was starting a brand new series, I was one of those who was lined up on wish lists for that moment when the book would hit the shelves. But a miracle occurred. I somehow actually found a copy of Any Given Doomsday at a book store in August 08 instead of its release date of November 08! How the person who had it before me could bear to let this book go was beyond me. And Im not speaking about the fact that its an ARC. I am speaking about how wonderful this book is!
I started reading this book while walking home from the store and WOW..it just took off. Grabbed me right away. This is one of those books that are written so fabulously. Action packed with characters that are a joy to get to know. Its a book that you miss lunch and lose sleep on because you cannot bear to stop reading. The chant of one more chapter" ringing in your head as you read on and on heedlessly to find its almost one in the morning and you had best get some restafter that one last chapter.
Elizabeth Phoenix is my kind of heroine. Up to her elbows in trouble, an unflinching tide of determination, and flying by the seat of her pants. She grew up being psychic and learned how to more or less handle what she had but then ends up with a whole new batch of powers one fateful day. And its the kind of power that comes with a price tag and a huge responsibility. Basically Elizabeth is the last hope to prevent doomsday.
And while Elizabeth was a favorite of mine in this book. I also loved so many other supporting characters. Ruthie for one. I think everyone at sometime in their life has met a person like Ruthie. Kind souls like her are just too hard to forget. And then there is Sawyer, the man of mystery. Im looking forward to finding out more about him in the next book of The Phoenix Chronicles. And theres Jimmy of course. I sympathized with his struggle between the dark and the light but although beautifully written, his character had me on edge. At times I wanted to hug him and banish his self doubts while at others I
wanted to slap some sense into him. Thankfully Elizabeth is a woman right after my own heart and made sure he got what was coming to him.
All in all this book was something else! A most wonderful something else! I love the Phoenix Chronicles and cannot wait until book two comes out. I can highly recommend Any Given Doomsday and feel free in giving the added warning that this series is definitely going to be addictive!


Barbie & the Beast
Barbie & the Beast
Author: Linda Thomas-Sundstrom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Personally I agree with the first reviewer in that this book came out feeling and reading like a Young Adult book. The romance was hinted at but never fully blossumed. And I definitely agree that the heroine's reactions were mixed up. In fact I thought that a lot of the book was based on her thoughts rather then action. Another thing that kind of bugged me was the referance to the Mattel Barbie doll. In the first part of the book she claims she hates others jokingly connecting her to the doll. Yet all through the book she kept mentioning it. It got to the point that I kind of wished Barbie would stop viewing herself in doll-like fashion and just be herself.
Still if your looking for a light, fun read then you may enjoy this book. It was a good read in my opinion and I'm hoping I'll see more from this author of the same genre but without the hang-up of repeated references.


Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Author: J. D. Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I found BBB to be a good book. It left me feeling like an easy going beach read but it wasn't the fast paced kind. This type of book has action and romance but it does take some time to get to those parts so reader beware that patience is required when reading this novel. There is also a lot of things unresolved in this, book 1. Questions that go unanswered and a romance that has not really cemented. If your looking for book 1 to sum it all up in one novel, you'll be disappointed because this is a series where you'll need to keep reading on to the next book to satisy your curiosity. Where most Paranormal books have a hard, thriller type edge, Bedlam, Bath and Beyond has a softer edge which is different but still a great read if your willing to really give the book a chance. Personally this book was three and a half stars for me. I'm hoping the author keeps more of a steady action-paced story in book 2 though and I will definitely be reading book two, no question about it.


Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Alliance Vampires, Bk 1)
Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Alliance Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/30/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Shannon Drake is a great author and her work that involves historical or paranormal storylines is the best in my opinion. This is a paranormal book and a must have for any of her fans.


Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Vampires, Bk 1)
Beneath a Blood Red Moon (Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 6/30/2005


Shannon Drake is a great author and her work that involves historical or paranormal storylines is the best in my opinion. This is a paranormal book and a must have for any of her fans.


Between Worlds (Charmed)
Between Worlds (Charmed)
Author: Bobbi JG Weiss, Jacklyn Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/31/2005


A nice book from the Tv series "Charmed". Between wraiths and melting buildings, its an interesting read.


The Blue Sword
The Blue Sword
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/12/2005


For those who love Robin McKinley, this is one of her "must have" books. For those who don't know her but enjoy fantasy novels..you will not be disappointed by this book. If you enjoy books by authors like Terry Brooks or Anthony Piers then you should give this book a chance and you may find you want to read some of her other novels afterward as well.


The Bodyguard (Captive Heart, Bk 3)
The Bodyguard (Captive Heart, Bk 3)
Author: Joan Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 6/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A really nice read! I thought the author did a great job of establishing the characters and giving alot of insight to them.


The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tale, Bk 2)
The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tale, Bk 2)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 6/18/2005
Helpful Score: 5


There is a dragon terrorizing the Highlands of Ballybliss. One night they decide to give their own dragon-doubting vigin Gwendolyn Wilder to the dragon to hopefully sate the dragon. And its amazing what a woman can do when she puts her mind to it, even if she is the prisoner of a dragon. So dont think that Gwendolyn is going down without a fight. I am sure you will love this book as I have.


The Bride (Lairds' Fiancees, Bk 1)
The Bride (Lairds' Fiancees, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 6/18/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I love Julie Garwood. Every book has action, adventure, mystery, romance and of course some humor. In this book Scottish laird Alec Kincain must take an English bride by order of the king and he selects Jamie, youngest daughter of Baron Jamison. He dosent know what he's in for by picking her but soon finds out. An wonderful story with great, memorable characters. I bet you will have trouble putting it down once you start reading it.


The Captive (Secret Circle, Bk 2)
The Captive (Secret Circle, Bk 2)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/5/2005


Part 2 of the Secret Circle series. This is a great book, all about magic and the unknown. Fans of L J Smith will prize this book as its a rare find. The copy I am offering has the older cover so its not as shown above but you will enjoy the book if you take a chance on it.


Catching Midnight (Midnight, Bk 2)
Catching Midnight (Midnight, Bk 2)
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 6/19/2005
Helpful Score: 8


An excellent paranormal book where the culture of the werewolf meets the culture of the humans. Go on an adventure with Gillian, once an orphan child, now taken in by the shape-shifting immortals. She loves her people but also longs for the world beyond the forest and caves. She escapes one day only to be caught by Aimery Fitz Clare who has no idea what he's caught. Can love conquer the limits of the imagination and sooth the savage beasts? Only one way to find out...read the book!


The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, Bk 1)
Author: Jean M. Auel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 613
Review Date: 7/5/2005


If you love epic hostory books as I do, you will love this book. Jean Auel, is an excellent author who makes you fall in love with her charcters and get wrapped up in the story. A real page turner. Note: My copy has a different cover than the one shown.


Confrontation (Mobile Suit #3)
Confrontation (Mobile Suit #3)
Author: Yoshiyuki Tomino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/19/2005


This is a Gundam 3 novel "Mobile Suit". Its by Yoshiyuki Tomino and translated by Fredrick L. Schodt. This is an older 1991 version of the book and a used copy but pretty good condition and a collectors item for those who love Gundam and Japanese animation/cartoons. I am not into this kind of work and bought this as a gift but was unable to give it to the intended person and so now I am offering it to anyone who would like it.


Cupid's Kiss: A Marriage Made in Heaven / Heaven on Earth / Heaven in His Touch / A Gift from Heaven
Review Date: 6/24/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Some great historical romance stories in this book by great authors. The authors: Patricia Hagan, Bobby Hutchinson, Linda Madl, and Bobbi Smith. Example: Bobbi Smith's "A Gift From Heaven" reads..Tennesse, 1865. A Yankee soldier and a Southern belle are ready to start their own civil war until a heavenly visitor draws up terms of surrender that will bring them eternal bliss. This book even has the Valentine's Day postcard still attached inside if you want to use it.


Dark Challenge (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 5)
Dark Challenge (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 5)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 718
Review Date: 7/28/2005


Feehan spins magic when writing her Carpathian series. Once you read one of the books, I bet you'll have to go out and get the rest.


Dark Fire (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 6)
Dark Fire (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 6)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 582
Review Date: 7/28/2005


I really loved this book. But then again, any book of Feehan's is bound to be good. Literally.


Dark Melody (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 10)
Dark Melody (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 10)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 624
Review Date: 7/28/2005


Christine Feehan creates magic once again in this, another of her Carpathian books. I really enjoyed this book.


Dark Prince (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 1)
Dark Prince (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 1)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 7/28/2005


If your into the paranormal, you will love all of Christine Feehan's books. She combines an elegant blend of vampires, romance and adventure into one.


1 to 20 of 88 - Page: