gray9cat - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 480
Review Date: 9/3/2011


Excellent anchor to the Dark Hunter series. Really love this story of the son of the a goddess who has the power to destroy a world. I was a bit frustrated with the character of the hero's half sister who I wondered throughout the book if she was suppose to be for or against the main character. The antagonist are truly bad people who get what comes to them. A different hero - one who survives although he is not the classically strong, super macho guy. You cheer out loud for this protagonist. A must read in the Dark Hunter series.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 9/24/2015


A great read. True Southern comfort and "small town charm". Great humor and a wonderfully romance. Love the solid characters. You almost fill you know them. While are two great central characters, the entire cast are the heroines and heroes. I would loge to see this in a movie.


Alien Taste (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 1)
Alien Taste (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 1)
Author: Wen Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 11/11/2015


A well written story with all the right elements. Suspense, thrill, action, humor, romance, and many others. I finished it in one sitting. A story which shows the innocence of love in all it many facets, for family and friends alike. Just right amount of twists and turns without being long winded on excess detail. A new twist on "alien". Really like the story and seriously recommend it for those looking for something different and exciting.


Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 12/24/2012


A great finale for a great series. Love Jude Deveraux's writing style and the life that she gives to her heroines. A story in which the heroine comes into her own in her understanding of herself, powers granted to her and finally understanding what is needed to find her husband who has been lost since the first book of the series - Forever.


Amber Beach (Donovan, Bk 1)
Amber Beach (Donovan, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 4/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A good suspenseful romance. Suspense revolves around the lost fortune of the Russian Czar's world renown Amber Room, which was new to me and rather intrigueing.


And Able (Mercenary, Bk 3)
And Able (Mercenary, Bk 3)
Author: Lucy Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/8/2013


A good, fun read to end a good series. The main characters met in book two and carries on much to the surprise of the characters. Her not trusting in her charm and him not looking for anything long term. Love the camaraderie between the hero and the characters from the book 1, Ready, and book 2 Willing and his family. Well told and makes you believe in the story. All three books are a good read for women and men equally.


Ashes To Ashes (Blood Ties, Bk 3)
Ashes To Ashes (Blood Ties, Bk 3)
Author: Jennifer Armintrout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 6/29/2012


Keeping it simple. The heroine is protrayed as strong and independent, but in reading book 1-3, which was a trial, I found her not to be what one would expect. The character has moments of lucidity, but over all is written to have no common sense. Readinbg the series became so painful that I could not even finish book three. - and for me not to finish a book is saying a lot.


Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 8/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very good read. A very impactful cliffhanger. A wonderful next step to the series. Cannot wait to read the next installment. As always, I love the hot guys and the strong women throughout the tale.


Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 1)
Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 1)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 8/27/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Fairly predictable in the classic made for each other pattern, but a fun read. Not to be a spoiler, but a surprise awaits in book 2.


Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 9/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Good addition to the Warriors of Poseidon series. Leaves enough in the air that you cannot wait for the next installment.


Be With Me
Be With Me
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 1/4/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Book written just it seems for the erotic angle. Hard to enjoy a book in which a character comes from an abusive home in which the mother is killed by the father and a sibling is left behind and forgotten. Did not enjoy the story. Some of the characters are seriously "damaged" and unforgiving. It is all about the main characters getting what they want. Almost obsessive.


Beyond the Dark: Dragon Dance / Caught by the Tides / Queen of All She Surveys / In a Wolf's Embrace
Review Date: 9/19/2011


Very good read. Love Lora Leigh and Emma Holly who are at their best with their part in this anthology. A must read for Lora L. Breed fans and Emma Holly's Tale of a Demon World fans.


Beyond the Darkness
Beyond the Darkness
Author: Alexandra Ivy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/9/2011


Really enjoyed this one. Even though the heroine, Harley was understandably hard headed considering she had been held somewhat captive for thirty years, she was also smart and made you want to be her. Especially when she get the, as always, ever so hot guy. Salvadore is irresistable in his machimo and smarts. Love it. A must read, even if you have not had a chance to read the other books of the series.


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/19/2013


Loved the book. Loved the around the way love story. Had me guessing, but guessing wrong. I like that. A very tangible relationship that has you rooting for the heroine to make the right choices.


Blackveil (Green Rider, Bk 4)
Blackveil (Green Rider, Bk 4)
Author: Kristen Britain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/6/2013


This series is one of the best I have ever read. While I am a bit disappointed that his book did not bring the story to it's conclusion, I have to admit that it makes me happy that there will be more to come of the ever intriguing heroine. If you are a fan of fantasy and sci-fi, this is a series that you have to try. It keeps you on the edge of your seat with the intrigues of court life, the mysteries of love and the impending doom of the antagonist. Love, love, love it. Can not wait until the next installment.


The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 11/8/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Oh my goodness - This book is fantastic. The worse thing about this book is that it is a sequel, but a fantastic cliffhanger. I was so anxious to find out what would happen when the "mask" came off and how relationships would be affected. But I have to wait for book two. I CANNOT WAIT TO GET IT. Luckily, I did not read it when first published so I do not have to wait. I have already ordered the next TWO books in the series. I recommend this book to everyone no matter your reading preference. I loved this story. Worthy of rewards.


Breathless (House of Rohan, Bk 3)
Breathless (House of Rohan, Bk 3)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/17/2016


A fun read in spite of the dark undertones. The consistency of the heroine is refreshing. She does not turn from a fun loving, risk taking, go for the gusto, strong woman to a simpering miss at the turn of a threat. She is well suited to the "hero" even with his blind vengeance. Enjoyed the fun, side romance as well. A good dose of humor is applied to the story. This is to be greatly appreciated in any good romance. Recommend to all, not just lovers of historical romances.


Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Can't Teach an Old Demon New Tricks (Demon, Bk 2)
Author: Cara Lockwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/23/2016


Good read. Very cute and fun tale of love found among demon and angel adventures. Good humor and story telling.


Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 11)
Cerulean Sins (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 11)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 777
Review Date: 5/25/2011


I love this series. This particular paranormal, vamp, werefolk thing works for me in the stories that L.K.H. tells. Sexy guys, strong yet insecure woman, saucy, erotic by-play - LOVE IT! The drama of a Master Vamp who wants to get to the heroines guys through her keeps you on the edge, making it hard to put the book down. It is also tantalizing to watch the drama of how her relationships with "her" guys intensifies. Each book pulls you in to see which one of the guys if any will really and truly, get the girl. On the other hand, hey, if it at broke - don't fix it.


Chosen by Desire (The Guardians of Destiny, Bk 2)
Chosen by Desire (The Guardians of Destiny, Bk 2)
Author: Kate Perry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/13/2011


A fun read, even though the heroine was a bit syrupy and the hero classically he-man. A bit predictable.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: