Deborah T. (nysbikergirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 94 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 6/3/2008


Great story line. If you love Agatha, you will be enthralled with this one as well as all the others. I like the ending, it was a bit different. As usual, the descriptive writing about the Cotswold countryside and thatched roof cottages makes you want to curl up with a cup of tea and the whole series of these Raisin books.


Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/3/2008


If you have been reading Agatha Raisin stories, you will love this one as well, it really goes into Agatha's and James' lives and romantic history. You just fall in love with the Cotswold area and feel more and more like you're neighbors with this pair of murder solving lovers.


Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, Bk 5)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 6/3/2008


More Agatha and more James, and more murder. This one was good, with some one liners that made me laugh out loud. Agatha has got to be bi polar, don't you think? She is the best.


Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 6/3/2008


Poor Agatha Raisin, she can't cook, she can't garden, and she is getting a weight problem....her jealousy makes her so human and real, it draws the reader closer, instead of making one dislike her. Another great read in the M.C. Beaton Agatha Raisin series, not to be missed.


Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 6/4/2009


I read this the year it came out.....long ago. I never forgot the charm of the small English village, the thatched roof cozy home that Agatha was fortunate to have and share with her two cats. The physical picture of Agatha alone is enough to hook you in the story as she is a formidible yet lovable amature dectective full of surprising moves. It will make you want to visit if not move to the Cotswolds,England. I have read this one twice and all the others...they are my favorite cozy.


Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Angelina's Bachelors: A Novel with Food
Author: Brian O'Reilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. If you like Italian cooking, the New Jersey flair for Italian slang, and resturants, and big Italian family neighborhoods, you will love this book.

Parts were very far fetched, such as how can Angelina while fighting her grieving heavy heart, cross town searching for gourmet ingredients, visiting 4 or 5 stores, get back home then made a scratch pasta, yeah, from flour and eggs...5 course dinner,including multilayered sauces, and combinations only seen in high end resturants- serve it to 6 people, visit with them, do the clean up...all in one day-6 days a week? Other than that wonder woman aspect, I loved the characters, and the growth each of them made throughout the story. There are some surprises, but they can be guessed at quite easily. These factors are very forgivable because the book is so warmly written, so full of fun and family, let alone the delicious food, food, food, it is a winner.


An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
Author: Lucy Burdette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/5/2013


I am getting very fussy about my cozy's! This one is a winner. First in the series, and it was a page turning delight. Loved the cast of characters, young and old, a good mix. The foodie connection is fun, descriptive, and varies from the hot dog stand to the elite black tie. The only down side is the ditzyness of the main character, and how the author allows her to run on and on and on during stressful situations..it just seems to be out of place as she does have enough intelligence to be considered for the top slot as a food critic in the Key Zest, new food mag...but not have enough sense to zip it shut when needed.
Other than that, I am well into the second in the series now, and love the Florida Key setting, very colorful, lots of discription of the local flair. 3.5 stars.


Back to the Bedroom
Back to the Bedroom
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 6/3/2008


If you love the Plum series, this may dissappoint you. It did me. Just a superficial romance, it's okay for a diversion. Just really girly girl, and playful, frivilous and a bit of fun.


The Bake-Off
The Bake-Off
Author: Beth Kendrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/22/2014


this book appealed to me right away, and I looked forward to reading it. However after a few pages in, I put it down and did not want to continue. This was due to the 'theft' in the beginning. It was such a negative and stupid incident! Who was this guy? Why did Linnie not inform the police? We are talking thousands here! This intro was VERY off-putting to me. That being said, I gave it one more shot. I finished it the next day. It picks up, and the humor and quick one-liners are what kept me hooked. The interplay between the sisters was interesting, the love line was cute, and Linnie and Amy's characters were quirky. all in all it is a fun, humorous chic-lit quick read. I give it 3 stars and could recommend it to readers who enjoy a fluffy, foodie, and fun read.


Bargain Hunting (Finlay Anderson Tanner, Bk 5)
Bargain Hunting (Finlay Anderson Tanner, Bk 5)
Author: Rhonda Pollero
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/12/2013


Love this series. It's way more than a who done it. It's a really fun ride through lots of fashion name dropping and daily wardrobe descriptions, a fun and interesting work environment, Ebay shopping, an engrossing mom and daughter relationship, and just right romance. I have read all the Finlay Anderson Tanner books, and really hope there will be more. It is just enough in depth in her life to keep me page turning and hooked. Love the beach house, and how she has fixed it up. Very enjoyable reads, all of them.


Bedrock
Bedrock
Author: Britney King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/6/2014


Okay. Well, There is a lot of ups and downs going on here. First of all, I like the subject matter, and the multi dynamics going on in the plot (s). But-so poorly written and so many points left out and scenes left unexplored, that it was a barely one star read (for me).

Addison Greyer's (the main character) initial meeting and romance with Patrick (soon to be husband) was so fairy tale, so explosive, and ideal, it is very hard to follow it down the muddy, ugly trail it soon becomes. Just not planned out well, and the same scenario with her lover, Richard was written in. Same hot explosive chemistry between them both. It was like a carbon copy meeting, romance, etc. Too much of a good thing. Just unbelievable, and needed some contrast to develop the two story lines.

So Addison has the first baby, Connor. This theme is well developed, and the baby's first year explained well, the colic, the screaming, the changes in their lifestyle a new baby brings. Then the next pregnancy. It just kind of -happens. Nothing about the babies, (twins). I watched in expectation for their names to be reveled. They were nameless until the end of the book when the name - Hunter, pops up. Apparently this was one of the babies names. It was on the very last page of the book I saw both names! Hunter and James. This was a very odd and vague way to write about the main character's children.

The 'elevator scene'. It was so unrealistic and contrived it made the whole story line lose credibility. It could have been a powerful intro into how the book developed, Addison's encounter with Patrick and the following new part time job of dominatrix. Addison's own intense sexuality being rekindled by a total stranger. But we go from - in bed with her loving husband-to a sudden, 'heck yeah', to abrupt sex with a handsome man in an elevator. Not entertaining in a believable sense, it lost the drama and powerful intensity it could, and should of had. The start out intro of Addison meeting Patrick and their romance leading to marriage was very deep and full of loving description, the stuff that Happily Ever After is made of; so this was a very lame unbelievable segue to her romp with Richard.

The editing was horrific, with many, MANY typo's, double words, if's, and's and they's, mixed up and punctuation problems. I felt I must be reading a draft copy.

The distinct feel of Fifty Shades was a disappointment here also, and felt very 'copy cat'. The emailed flirty messages between both Patrick and Addison, he is Mr. Corporate America personified, the security available all the time, the penthouse, the endless stream of available funds, gifts- etc.

After she launches into more than a one time elevator sex with Richard, there is no explanation of their relationship, it just kind of is understood she is having an affair with him. Okay. Why? Toward the end, the book states that she is trying to 'keep some distance' between herself and Richard as she really loves her husband and wants her family back. Within the same few pages, she is having an afternoon delight of her own whim with Richard at a new location. Okay. No credibility here at all.

All this being what it is-'Why did I keep reading'? There were redeeming features. Unlike some other reviewers, I did like the main character Addison, and appreciate that real life love and affairs are never textbook. And I also liked the part time job idea she got into as a Dom, although it could have been explored so much more than it was, a reading of the hand book was about the deepest exploration offered into this subject.

The whole book had a -hurry up and write this thing-, feel to it, so much was left out, yet some parts elaborated on, the first kid, the marriage, etc. filled with detail, then the mother in law, the China trip, Patrick's mistress, and so many other themes were cut short.

Lets see how Ms. King does with the sequel.

I think it could have been done much smoother, more detail where needed and less Fifty Shades. All in all, as it took me a night or two to read the book, it was manageable.


Belladonna: A Novel of Revenge
Belladonna: A Novel of Revenge
Author: Karen Moline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/15/2013


Really enjoyed this book! Strong, defined, brutal at times, and spanning a lifetime, this book has it all, no one has their feeling spared here. Not a sappy type romance, that's for sure. Good 'lose yourself in' type of lengthy read.


Black Beans & Vice (Supper Club, Bk 6)
Black Beans & Vice (Supper Club, Bk 6)
Author: J. B. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/12/2017


Having read all the Supper Club books up to now, I am reading bk 6 ahead of book 5, but can follow it okay. Hey, it's what's available on PBS and being mailed. But that will work out. Easy to follow, lots going on in this installment, more of Jackson and his Supper club girlfriend, as they have taken it to the next level in book 5, but Jackson has some new issues in this installment. James becomes more and more attached to Jane, and lots going on in the library. It's a good addition to this series, but I have to say it dragged for me a bit. Several victims, several suspects, and it gets a bit convoluted through the story line. As usual, the foodie parts are interesting, and some decent recipes given as well. I am sticking to a 3 star on this one.


Bound
Bound
Author: Sally Gunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/21/2015


I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and did read it in about three sittings over a weekend. Great fictional entertainment. I found no fault with the characters, plot, or the room left at the last third of the book for the reader's interpretation of how emotion played out the final choices.

In fact that is what I believed was the saving grace of this story, the questions it did raise toward the conclusion-could Alice understand, identify, or acknowledge what 'love' is (due to her trauma and suffering)? When things 'changed' among the three at the end-who had the most strength in setting the path straight again? Does good EVER triumph over evil? Was the courtroom decision fair in both cases? What really happened to the baby, and was it Alice's fault?

The book also came together in a black and white manner of writing, it was so matter of fact, without exceptional drama or explanation of how a young girl could witness such horrors and continue on in life. It just-was. How people survived, how hunger and poverty paved the road of people's lives. How love, lust, and decisions plotted individual courses.

Great book. I did not read the first 'Widow's War' that apparently was written, as I did not even know about it until reading some of these reviews.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 4/7/2014


Bread Alone, in my opinion, did not have any extreme merit, or 'hook' for the reader. It was an okay read, just not anything exceptional.

the story just kind of flowed-first through the shock and devastation through Wynter's eyes to find out her husband is a cheating creep, then through the pain of the rest of the breakup, and ensuing divorce. It was beyond annoying, down right sad, how Wynter constantly was looking over her shoulder for the ex (David) to suddenly love her again, and there may still be a 'happily ever after' to be found. Not going to happen. The saving grace was the bakery with the down to earth characters and every day setting, the recipes, the comforting delicious bread itself.
Other than than...just barely a 2 star for me. There were no peaks and valleys, no-hold your breath, just lots of emotional pain, an apathetic main character, and some bland lover interests along the way.


Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Author: Jimmie Ruth Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 6/2/2013


This is a great series for those who like country, and diners, and momma drama. It's a very 'down home' kind of book with just enough romance, mystery, and laid back comfort full filling subjects to make it a great summer or quick easy read. I will continue on with the series, for easy reading.


Cabin Fever
Cabin Fever
Author: Marilyn Pappano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/28/2008


Great story. A little out of the norm, no perfection in the cast of characters. It will make you remember the author's name, and look for more of her books. It was a sad day when I finished it!


Carbs and Cadavers (Supper Club, Bk 1)
Carbs and Cadavers (Supper Club, Bk 1)
Author: J. B. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/23/2015


It was not a book of depth or extraordinary writing, but it was cute. I like James and the interaction between him and his father. The plot was ok, but I think the simplistic writing was forgivable due to the fact that the characters are very human, and the subject of weight loss touches many of us. Good entertaining read, and I will follow up with the others.


Chili Con Corpses  (A Supper Club Mystery, Bk 3)
Chili Con Corpses (A Supper Club Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: J. B. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/4/2016


The Flab Five of Quincy's Gap are all living some excitement again, with a new homicide. I love this series, and how the main characters are evolving, but this one installment in the series left me confused, and had a very winding road, which was too hard to follow for the mystery part. I just ended up kind of giving up on who was who (other than the 5, and Jackson, and Milla)-it was too convoluted. The group itself held my interest, especially James and his new Murphy interest. It was not the best in this series, but not bad enough to stop following the Supper club.


Cloche and Dagger (Hat Shop, Bk 1)
Cloche and Dagger (Hat Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 11/16/2015


Great first in a new series. I enjoyed this one a lot. It has the 'cozy'-English Tea, hat shop, Notting Hill. It has the two young ladies who star as main characters (one is not present for most of the story, as she is missing). The other characters are charming, well described, and very fitting, and I even liked the male star of the book, he was interesting and the story line was not contrived as it sometimes is. Ms. McKinlay has a way with her words, and this is true of the word play throughout, with Scarlett (MC) and her new friends, as well as the shop intern, Fee. It has the slight oddity-Fred, the raven. It has London in the springtime weather. The whole book comes together nicely, and has me looking for the second one soon.


1 to 20 of 94 - Page: