BostonBooks - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
Aloha, Baby-Sitters! (Baby-Sitters Club Super Special, 13)
Aloha, Baby-Sitters! (Baby-Sitters Club Super Special, 13)
Author: Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/14/2006


The Baby Sitters are going to hawaii. Mallory can't come so they let Logan join along with abby stevenson. What i really liked here was when abby got her high flying adventure that she will never forget!


Are You Afraid? (Signet Eclipse)
Are You Afraid? (Signet Eclipse)
Author: Carla Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/5/2007


Loved the book, very interesting.


Beast House (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 2)
Beast House (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book, couldn't put it down, read it in one day stayed up to 2:30 am.


Before The Cradle Falls
Before The Cradle Falls
Author: James F. David
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/8/2007


Interesting,read it in one day.


Beware the Child
Beware the Child
Author: Ruth Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2006


Oh my loved the book its spooky and keep you interested.


Beyond Murder: The Inside Account of the Gainesville Student Murders
Review Date: 10/14/2006
Helpful Score: 4


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great read, hard to put down, accurate accounts., January 16, 2005
Reviewer: T. Hoffer "lielvarde" (Gainesville, FL) - See all my reviews

I lived this story. After graduating from UF in 1992, I went overseas for 7 years, not knowing the entire happenings with the case. I knew some of the details of the case and that Rollings plead guilty, but I was unaware of the entire story. This book changed all of that.
Reading this book brought tears to my eyes on several occasions. This whole ordeal was so shocking, it is impossible to comprehend. Reliving the memories of fear was hard for me, but I needed closure.
"Beyond Murder" recounts the story of the victims and their families prior to and following the murders, the police force, the killer, and every aspect of the case. There are a few times during the read that I felt as though I was reading a police report when family members were quoted, which I am sure was the case. It took a little from the overall story, but not enough to change my 5 star rating.
Get this book, learn the importance of safety, and always remember Sonja, Christina, Christa, Tracy, and Manuel, five beautiful people taken away from this world by evil.


The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/16/2006


lol, i had read this book before, real nice book.


Body Double
Body Double
Author: Don Lassiter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/14/2006


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly
Pregnant women play key roles in this bone-chilling fourth novel in Gerritsen's edgy, suspenseful series of thrillers featuring Boston Medical Examiner Maura Isles and Homicide Detective Jane Rizzoli. Both of the usually gritty crime fighters are uncharacteristically vulnerable. Rizzoli is carrying her first child, and Islesdivorced and alone at age 40 and suddenly, unsettlingly aware of her biological clockis experiencing decidedly unspiritual feelings for her priest. As the novel begins, Islesan adopted child who never knew the identity of her birth parentsis confronted by the corpse of a murdered woman who is apparently her identical twin. Another detective, Rick Ballard, comes forward to say that he knew the victim and is certain her killer is a powerful pharmaceutical baron known to have stalked her. Isles falls for the handsome Ballard, but she isn't convinced by his theory, and she launches an investigation into her sister's past, following the trail to a state correctional facility and a schizophrenic inmate who may be her mother. This opens the cobwebbed pages of a nightmarish family album and leads Isles to a remote cabin in Maine where the long-dead body of a pregnant woman is discovered buried in the woods. The killer, Isles discovers, has been murdering pregnant women for decades, making periodic sweeps of the country. Meanwhile, brief scenes chronicle the diabolical kidnapping of an affluent pregnant housewife who is kept buried in a crude coffin. An electric series of startling twists, the revelation of ghoulishly practical motives and a nail-biting finale make this Gerritsen's best to date.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.


Born Guilty (Joe Sixsmith, Bk 2)
Born Guilty (Joe Sixsmith, Bk 2)
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/6/2006


From Publishers Weekly
In Pictures of Perfection, 1994's Dalziel/Pascoe mystery, Hill conjured up a nearly faultless puzzle with virtually no crime and no dead folks. Less successful is this, the second in his series starring laconic, balding, middle-aged Joe Sixsmith, a black detective in the gritty English town of Luton. Joe has an old suit, an old cat, a young lover and an aunt who wishes he would settle down with a nice girl. Joe sings with the church choir, sips Guinness in a bar full of Gary Glitter fans and stumbles into cases. These involve a dead homeless boy, a high-ranking cop's wife accused of sexual harassment and a relative of Joe's girl who might just be a war criminal. Hill is lamentably slapdash with all three plot threads, and the whole thing quickly deteriorates into provincial coyness. Those who have never listened to Gary Glitter or been anywhere near Luton won't get many of the jokes-but, on the other hand, they can bless their luck, as both are truly grim. A petition demanding that Hill stick to Dalziel/Pascoe capers or the psychological chillers he pens as Patrick Ruell might be in order.

(I have not read it yet)


Buried Dreams: Inside the Mind of a Serial Killer
Buried Dreams: Inside the Mind of a Serial Killer
Author: Tim Cahill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/12/2006


Hard to put down, i felt sorry for him, good reading book.


Cemetery of Angels
Cemetery of Angels
Author: Noel Hynd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/21/2006


great book couldn't put it down read it in a few hours.


Child of Darkness (Gemini, Bk 3)
Child of Darkness (Gemini, Bk 3)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 2/27/2006


I just love v.c.andrews books.


Claudia and the Phantom Phone Calls (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 2)
Claudia and the Phantom Phone Calls (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 2)
Author: Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/14/2006


Free with any other book, Received like this: no back cover,math problem writen on back page, front cover torn right top corner.


The Cobra Event
The Cobra Event
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 8/28/2006


I loved this book, couldn't put it down.


Cradle of Fear
Cradle of Fear
Author: Meg Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/21/2006


This book had me up all night,waiting to see what would happend to the babies. Good thriller.


Cries of the Children
Cries of the Children
Author: Clare McNally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/7/2006


Real good book i read it twice.


Deadly Deception
Deadly Deception
Author: Alva Busch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/15/2006


great reading book.


Disordered Minds
Disordered Minds
Author: Minette Walters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/14/2006


From Publishers Weekly
Bestseller Walters (Fox Evil, etc.) delivers another complex tale of murder and deception. In 1970, 20-year-old Howard Stamp is convicted of brutally killing his 57-year-old grandmother with a carving knife; three years later, he commits suicide in prison. In 2002, London anthropologist Jonathan Hughes includes the Stamp case in his book, Disordered Minds, which examines infamous miscarriages of justice. The mentally slow Stamp may have been coerced into confessing to the murder. George (Georgina) Gardener, an elderly councilor living in Stamp's hometown of Bournemouth, has come to believe in Stamp's innocence herself and asks Jonathan for help in clearing the young man's name. The two get off to a rocky start, but they form an uneasy alliance that gradually grows into a deep friendship. Watching this relationship develop is one of the novel's more entertaining aspects. Walters uses to good effect the multiple viewpoints of her numerous characters, as well as flashbacks, letters, newspaper articles and e-mails to reveal the truth behind the decades-old murder. However, as in life, there are no easy answers, and although the ending may disappoint some, it caps perfectly all that has come before it.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.


Fat Girl : A True Story
Fat Girl : A True Story
Author: Judith Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 12/15/2006


Oh my i read the book in one day, so emotional.


A First Look at the Bible
A First Look at the Bible
Author: Lois Rock
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/5/2006


Help call 911 I need the jaws of life to get this book out. thank you the book is perfect, my seven yr old likes it. He said to tell you that your cool.

nancy


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: