Reviews - Melissa B. (Phantene)

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 9/21/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Well developed characters, interesting backstories, and an intriguing plot make this an extremely enjoyable read."


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 11/12/2007
17 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it to be a much better story, and a great deal more engrossing, than "The Lovely Bones". Also, my take on the parents is different than that of others who have written reviews here.

There is no doubt that the mother suffers from a mental illness. However, I do not believe the father also has a mental illness. My thought is that those who think this is the case have misunderstood the actual implications.

The actions of the father (and his inactions), in my opinion, simply illustrate what may inevitably result from living with someone who suffers from a mental illness. The sacrifices and adjustments made in order to placate someone like the mother in this tale would surely have serious effects on those around her. When this is considered, the narrative is, in fact, realistic.

This book was a great read, and I highly recommend it."


An Early Grave (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
An Early Grave (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Gary C. King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/21/2005
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had a hard time getting into this book. Ted Binion is not portrayed in a manner that makes the reader care for him. Although the murder of Mr. Binion is a terrible thing, the reader is left with a feeling of "so what?". Nothing in this book grabs the attention of the reader. Actions throughout are very predictable. A rather boring book and tedious read."


The Baby Merchant
The Baby Merchant
Author: Kit Reed
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/6/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A fantastic book! An intriguing story and engaging characters kept me reading until the wee hours of the morning. Highly recommended."


The Baby Merchant
The Baby Merchant
Author: Kit Reed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/6/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A fantastic book! An intriguing story and engaging characters kept me reading until the wee hours of the morning. Highly recommended."


Bone Fire: A novel
Bone Fire: A novel
Author: Mark Spragg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/17/2012
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was extremely disappointed in this book. While the writing itself is very good, the story is incredibly depressing. Everything that happens to the characters is sad. Just about everything the characters do is sad, and everything they think is sad.

Also, the relationships between the characters is very blury. It took me a very long time to determine who was related to who and in what way (brother, sister, daughter, son, etc), and by the end I was still fuzzy about a few.

I live in Wyoming and I can tell you, life in Wyoming is not nearly as depressing as this book would lead one to believe. If you should read this book, please don't let it form your view of life in Wyoming, because I personally love it here."


Broken Flower (Early Spring, Bk 1)
Broken Flower (Early Spring, Bk 1)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 2/19/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Typical V.C. Andrews book. Storyline is good and it kept my interest throughout. Quick read."


Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 2/1/2007


"An "ok" book. Quite unbelievable and requiring a further stretch of the imagination than reasonable in my opinion, I still found it hard to put down at times. I much preferred the first in this series (Odd Thomas), but am still glad I read this one."


Called Out of Darkness : A Spiritual Confession
Called Out of Darkness : A Spiritual Confession
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/6/2010
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An incredible disappointment, I found this book self-indulgent and very poorly written. I expected so much more from Anne Rice."


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 8/22/2007
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An engrossing novel. I enjoyed this immensely, but was sorely disappointed by the ending. It just sort of - ends. No resolutions or answers."


Charlie All Night
Charlie All Night
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 12/21/2005
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Cute romance. Fun, light reading."


Child of God
Child of God
Author: Lolita Files
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/14/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent book! This one kept me glued to my seat and up late nights reading."


Child of God
Child of God
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/1/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Incredibly well-written, 'Child of God' will remain in your memory for quite some time. Containing a unique plot, this novel has proved to be so much more than the description on the back cover. Picturesque, thrilling, haunting, and even horrifying at times, I am so glad I read this. Quite a memorable experience."


City of Night (Frankenstein, Bk 2)
City of Night (Frankenstein, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz, Ed Gorman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 9/24/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed this book as much as the first. I thought the story was entertaining and had a hard time putting this down. The ending was satisfying and left me wanting more. I understand there is supposed to be a third and final book in this series."


A Crime in the Neighborhood
A Crime in the Neighborhood
Author: Suzanne Berne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/10/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is an excellent book. A well written novel with a unique story. I recommend this one."


Crisis (Jack Stapleton & Laurie Montgomery, Bk 6)
Crisis (Jack Stapleton & Laurie Montgomery, Bk 6)
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 9/13/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Standard fare from Robin Cook. I enjoyed this book. The action kept me on the edge of my seat. An entertaining read."


Critical
Critical
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/29/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Typical Robin Cook novel. An enjoyable read."


Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Bk 2)
Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Bk 2)
Author: Laini Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 11/24/2012


"A worthy sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I really enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down. The author has a fantastic imagination, and I look forward to her next book."


The Devil and Miss Prym: A Novel of Temptation (P.S.)
The Devil and Miss Prym: A Novel of Temptation (P.S.)
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/20/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"In depth, thought provoking novel."


Doctor Sleep
Doctor Sleep
Author: Madison Smartt Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/10/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A somewhat tedious read. The final 50 pages or so are really good, but it takes a long time to get there."


1 to 20 of 73 - Page: