Tonya P. (momathwtk) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
Alphabatics
Alphabatics
Author: suse macdonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/6/2007


This book introduces each letter of the alphabet in it's original form, then via a series of small illustrations transforms it to an object or animal that starts with the corresponding letter.

This particular alphabet book allows you the opportunity to introduce the letter sound along with its name as you can say the sound while pointing to each illustration in the sequence. In addition, because the letter transforms over a series of 4 small illustrations, you can introduce the concept of sequencing to your youngest reader.


Ancient Israel and Ancient Greece: Religion, Politics, and Culture
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is written from a secular point of view and assumes some knowledge of the underlying sources in ancient history. I did not agree with some of the author's inferences with regard to Biblical text so I recommend a strong knowledge of scripture prior to reading. However, I found the book overall to provide me with some insight into these ancient civilizations that I did not have prior to reading it. I think I would have benefitted more if I possessed greater familiarity with the Greek historic texts referenced.


Ancient Palestine: A Historical Introduction (Facets)
Ancient Palestine: A Historical Introduction (Facets)
Author: Gosta Ahlstrom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/3/2007


This is a revised version of the introduction to the author's complete work The History of Ancient Palestine (1993). This introductory text will give you some idea of the basic tenents of the longer book, but only briefly.


Anno's Counting Book
Anno's Counting Book
Author: Mitsumasa Anno (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/11/2007


This is a charming book that teaches counting skills. The illustrations are interesting and unique.


The Baby Cookbook, Revised Edition : Tasty And Nutritious Meals For The Whole Family That Babies And Toddlers Will Also Love
Review Date: 1/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book offers nutritional information as well as recipes.


The Berenstains' B Book (Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners)
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Find out who popped Baby Bird's balloon! My 3 y.o. loves to read the first few pages of this book- Big... Big Brown... Big Brown Bear! This book has charmingly comic illustrations and lots of action.


Bible Devotions for Bedtime
Bible Devotions for Bedtime
Author: Daniel Partner, Richard Hoit (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/30/2007


This is a neat little paperback devotional intended for parents to share with their children, though it could be read by the child alone. While the title indicates that these are bedtime devotionals, I think they would work well at any time of day, as the content is not tuck-in specific. The devotions take the reader through the Bible book by book, beginning with creation in Genesis and working through to Revelation. Of course, not every chapter is covered but there are over 250 pages of Bible stories.



Each devotion is approximately 4 pages long. The first page features the illustration that accompanies the story plus a brief portion of the Bible verse. For instance, the Genesis 2 illustration is of a child reclining in a hammock with the words God rested, underneath. The opposing page contains the full verse that the devotion addresses plus the beginning of the devotion. The devotions explain the applicable verse in simple language and ask questions to encourage the child to think about what he has just read. Another small illustration is included on the 2nd page of the devotion. The 4th page contains a prayer starting with Dear God, again with a small illustration. A colorful border further surrounds each page.



I liked the devotions in this book, especially the way that it takes the reader through the entirety of the Bible. These are not recitations of the Bible stories exactly but refer to them and offer insights for the reader. Reading through this would make a good review of already covered Bible stories or a nice introduction to ones not yet read. The verses are clearly related to the devotion and the language used is appealing. I was not particularly captivated by the illustrations, but they are colorful and Im sure my son will like them. The page borders I assume are intended to provide more visual interest for the child reader. Because the book is a small paperback it might not be easy for you to share the pictures while reading the devotion, but that is a minor drawback. Im sure the price I paid was much less than it would have been for a full sized hardcover picture book. So I can deal with small pages.


The Bible Encounters: 21 Stories of Changed Lives
Review Date: 1/12/2007


This is a brand new copy, I purchased it as a set of 3.


Big Thoughts for Little People
Big Thoughts for Little People
Author: Kenneth N. Taylor
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


am a fan of Mr. Taylors writings for children and this book in particular. Subtitled ABCs to help you grow, the book assigns a different virtue or vice to each letter of the alphabet and through the use of a story, questions and accompanying illustration shares with children how God wants us to handle matters. Each letter also includes a Bible verse to memorize. I started with this book prior to reading Leading Little Ones to God in order get my oldest child into the habit of listening to a devotional. The pictures are engaging and the vignettes are short enough to hold a younglings attention.


Building Liberty : A Statue is Born
Building Liberty : A Statue is Born
Author: Serge Hochain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book originally written in French tells the fictional story of four young men who participated in different stages in the construction and delivery of the Statute of Liberty. The picture book is a historical fiction and provides the reader with many details regarding the origination and construction of our famous national symbol. Also included are detailed illustrations of the various steps as well as a final page that illustrates the actual framework and steps involved in constructing the statute. I picked this title up during Bookcloseouts.coms Dollar for Dollar sale to add to our history collection. This book was published by National Geographic Society.


Buried Treasure : Hidden Wisdom from the Hebrew Language
Buried Treasure : Hidden Wisdom from the Hebrew Language
Author: Rabbi Daniel Lapin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2007


This book was written by Rabbi Lapin, who can be heard speaking on Thy Word Network sometimes. He has written the book to appeal to Christians and Jews and I feel the writing tries to avoid mentioning any conflicts between these two belief systems. As a life advice book, I found the tone to be conservative and logical. It was much in keeping with my own belief system with regard to day to day living. But of course, there was no mention of the hereafter.

While I found that the advice stood well alone, I did struggle with the premise that the wisdom relied upon is found in the "hidden" pattern of the Hebrew language. This is not the fault of the author. I simply lack a reference point to confirm for myself whether the patterns he identifies hold true. I have to "take his word for it" that the patterns are not mere coincidences.

I have come off a year of reading through the Bible which makes most other texts pale in comparison. While there were parts of this book that I didn't quite "get", there were several chapters that made me think to myself "Oh, I wish XX would read this, it would really help them." So there was some wisdom to be found within it's pages. I have even applied some of that wisdom to my own life already.


Caring for Kids Useful Information & Hard-to-Find Facts About Child Health & Development
Review Date: 2/26/2007


I like the format of this book, it's a book but the pages are more like those you'd find in a magazine. There are small illustrations, bullets, framed text, etc. in color to draw your attention to specific facts.


The Check Book: 200 Ways to Balance Your Life
The Check Book: 200 Ways to Balance Your Life
Author: Bret Nicholaus, Paul Lowrie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/24/2007


This is a "gift-book" style book. Each page contains a cute little saying to inspire or a suggestion to make your day go better.


Children Learn What They Live
Children Learn What They Live
Author: Dorothy Law Nolte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 7/1/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book offers insightful reminders that it is not what we say, but what we do that influences our children most.


Consumer Reports How To Clean Practically Anything
Review Date: 2/26/2007


This book was prepared in an easy to use format.


Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline (Focus on the Family Book)
Review Date: 3/11/2007


Lots of ideas plus some insight into how seasonal allergies and other factors can impact your child's behavior. There's a tool kit of Bible verses and ideas to use for most common childhood "offenses."


Curves
Curves
Author: Gary Heavin, Carol Colman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a newer edition and intended to express the Curves philosophy rather than just be a member's guide. The book includes instructions for doing the Curves strength building exercises while travelling with stretch bands or other equipment. The book also includes shopping lists, meal plans and recipes.


Curves Member Guide 2003
Curves Member Guide 2003
Author: Gary Heavin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/19/2007


This book includes a description of the Curves workout philosophy, menu plans, recipes and sample pages for tracking your calories and workouts. The book also takes you through the 6 week program that Curves offers to get you started. I have given several other Curves books away as gifts because I like the way Mr. Heavin explains our body's need for muscle growth in addition to weight loss.


Daily Devotions for Couples: 365 Inspirational Readings
Daily Devotions for Couples: 365 Inspirational Readings
Author: Toni Sortor, Pamela McQuade
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/12/2007


Brief daily devotions that you and your spouse can share.


Devotions for the Children's Hour
Devotions for the Children's Hour
Author: Kenneth N. Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/30/2007


This book is similar in format to Little Visits with an essay for each particular topic, followed by a suggested Bible verse for additional reading, questions and answers, a prayer and a brief hymn. 48 lessons are provided in this 201 page book ranging in topics from "There is Only One God" to "Telling Lies". This devotional was much enjoyed here and my children and I learned a great deal. As I've already mentioned, I generally enjoy Mr. Taylor's work and this book is no exception. I highly recommend this resource for your children's spiritual journey.


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: