Julie B. (heartinthehighlands) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 7/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first Agatha Raisin that I ever read - I went on to read all the Agatha Raisin books as well as all of M. C. Beaton's Hamish MacBeth series - so it must be good! They are all quick, fun reads. Beaton gets you as involved with the people as you are with the mystery, so that you read all of them to know how the characters are doing, as well as for the mystery aspect. But the mystery parts are good too. I like books set in England and Scotland, so they are fun for that reason also.


And Justice There Is None (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 8)
And Justice There Is None (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 8)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/14/2009


and yet another strong entry. this was a very well-written and complicated story. but complicated in a good way. you could easily read it over and over without boredom as there are many characters and she is a master at weaving many threads together and still keeping them well in-hand to the very end when her total tapestry is revealed. The collecting and selling of antiques is also a great and informative backdrop to her story. in each book the developing relationship between kincaid and gemma james makes you want to read each successive installment.


The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
The Big House : A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home
Author: George Howe Colt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 7/7/2008
Helpful Score: 13


I first read this from the library. Then I went out and bought a copy of my own. This is a wonderful book. And a great one for summer reading. This American summer home is very upper class and my roots are very middle class, and yet it brought back all kinds of memories of our summers spent in a small rented cottage. The themes of family and growing up and attachment to place are universal. It is a book I want to read again and again. It is touching and real and well-written.


A Castle in the Backyard: The Dream of a House in France
Review Date: 9/1/2009


the description tells you all about the book - i really really liked it. it was very compellingly written. once i picked it up it was difficult putting it down. if you like the idea of going on vacation, falling in love with the place, and buying your own place and living there - you will thoroughly enjoy this book. a great companion book is 'the most beautiful villages of the dordogne' by hugh palmer. i got this large coffee table book on interlibrary loan, after reading about 'castelnaud' in the dordogne noir of france.


Castles In The Air: The Restoration Adventures Of Two Young Optimists And A Crumbling Old Mansion
Review Date: 2/4/2010
Helpful Score: 2


i loved this book. it caught my interest right from the start and it was hard to put down. she is a good writer and her story reads almost like an adventure/mystery. the things they went through and the conditions under which they lived for a very long time, are amazing.

you find yourself so grateful that they restored this castle. what a loss to history it would have been if the castle had been left to its crumbling.

i didn't read it until we returned from our uk trip. i wish i had known of its existence, as we were 5 minutes' drive away...maybe someday we can make another trip and we could stay in one of their B&B rooms; although i really have no desire to meet ghosts and they undoubtedly do have them.


The Castles of Wales
The Castles of Wales
Author: Alan Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/30/2009


240 castles - detailed information. black and white photos. small print


The Creaky Traveler in the North West Highlands of Scotland: A Journey for the Mobile but Not Agile
Review Date: 3/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


this is a very enjoyable travel book. lots of good description, and that all-important aspect of making you feel that you are there and are seeing what the writer sees. there are good travel tips, but i got this book just for vicarious travel and it was perfect for it.


Dr. Sam Johnson: Detector (Ipl Library of Crime Classics)
Dr. Sam Johnson: Detector (Ipl Library of Crime Classics)
Author: Lillian de la Torre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/11/2009


the book cover says: 'The finest series of historical detective stories ever written." - Ellery Queen. i really liked these stories. each chapter is a different mystery taken from real incidents in history at the time of Boswell and Johnson, and that makes them even more interesting. at the end of the book are paragraphs going over the real historical accounts from which she spun her tales.


Drumveyn (Drumveyn, Bk 1)
Drumveyn (Drumveyn, Bk 1)
Author: Alexandra Raife
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/25/2011


I'm not a great fan of romance genre. This book has the obligatory 'romance' here and there. Which I don't care for. But judging it as a good story - fiction novel - I really enjoyed it. For myself, I just skipped a paragraph or so here and there. If not for that I'd have probably given it a 3 and a half rating.


The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is a wonderful book. Helene Hanff finally gets to fulfill her dream of visiting England and meeting some of her 'penpals' from the book store at 84 Charing Cross Road. She meets many wonderful people and visits so many sites of her favorite books and authors. For anyone who has ever enjoyed English literature; for anyone who has ever longed to visit the places they read about; reading this book is almost as good as getting to go yourself. One of the best things about Hanff's writing is her dry sense of humor and it is additionally worth reading just for that.


Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Author: Alfred Lansing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/14/2008


I don't normally read this type of book. My daughter-in-law loaned it to me. I could not put it down. I read it all day and stayed up 'til 2:30 a.m. because I could not stop until I knew how it ended. I couldn't have slept. The books is so good, I would have lain awake all night worrying about whether they got to safety. I'm sure I irritated my family by reading portions aloud as I went along (which I never do). This is the epitome of a 'page-turner'!


England as You Like It: An Independent Traveler's Companion
England as You Like It: An Independent Traveler's Companion
Author: Susan Allen Toth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I first read Toth's 'My Love Affair with England' before taking a trip there. When we got back I read this. It would have been nice to have read it before the trip - it has a wealth of information. But I enjoyed it just as much afterwards. If you love the UK you will love reading this book whether you are planning a trip there or not. I've wished I could get hold of her address and beg her to write another book. If she writes anything about any part of the UK, I will buy it the day it's released! I first read these books from the library, then bought my own copies.


Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 7/27/2008
Helpful Score: 5


i really enjoyed this book. i made the mistake of beginning with a book that came late in the series. i should have read this one first. we were on snowdon mountain last year so it was really fun to read a book that has that as its setting. i could picture some of the places that were described. they said that evan evans was a bit reminiscent of hamish macbeth and i really like the hamish macbeth character and i would agree that if you like one you will most likely like the other. since i've read all the hamish books i'm looking forward to having another series to read now.


Extra Virgin: A Young Woman Discovers the Italian Riviera Where Every Month Is Enchanted
Review Date: 9/23/2009


i totally enjoyed this book. i love listening to books as i do other things, and this was perfect for that. it is so much fun to hear about other people who have had the adventure of going abroad and actually buying a place and fixing it up to live there. it's interesting and humorous and true. i also really liked the narrator's voice. this is 6 hours on 4 cassettes and is abridged.


A Finer End (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 7)
A Finer End (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 7)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 8/14/2009


besides that she just writes some of the best british mysteries in the genre; this particular entry i specially enjoyed because of its location and the history she includes regarding this very popular tourist spot in england. i didn't know very much about glastonbury tor before reading this. i found myself looking up pictures and more information on the area after reading this. aside from that, i found it to be an especially strong plot and entry in the series.


A Gift from Brittany: A Memoir of Love and Loss in the French Countryside
Review Date: 7/16/2008


This is a very beautiful book. Nonfiction. A young artist from Chicago goes to France, falls in love and marries a French artist and moves into a crumbing set of stone farmhouses deep in the countryside of Brittany. More than anything else, this book is about a very unlikely friendship that develops between herself and the 68 year old peasant woman who lives across the road. Jeanne tutors her in country life, watches over her, protects her, and the love that develops between them is interesting as each woman gives to the other. It's a wonderful story, and at times it's almost stranger than fiction; which of course is so often true of life.


Hens Dancing
Hens Dancing
Author: Raffaella Barker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


answer - 'chick to chick' - have to read just about the whole book before you found out that the title is a child's riddle. Very cute book. Really really enjoyed it. She is a bit caustic. It feels much more like a nonfiction that fiction story. Her struggles with her ex-husband and his wife. Her day to day life with three young children. I really didn't want to put it down. And I'm looking forward to reading the sequel. I just about never like diary style books. But this is the exception to the rule.


Holy Terror in the Hebrides  (Dorothy Martin, Bk 3)
Holy Terror in the Hebrides (Dorothy Martin, Bk 3)
Author: Jeanne M. Dams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/5/2011


i have been to the hebrides, though not to iona, but i really enjoyed reading a mystery in this setting. it was fun to recognize many things.


Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 6/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


We love this book. I reread the whole Dicey series every few years, and I'm 54. My kids loved it and we first read it as a family read-aloud. The second book, 'Dicey's Song', won the Newbery, but this title is worthy of it also. I buy it as a gift for any friends who like books. It is compelling and well-written and you come to care for the family so much. How wonderful that she wrote more books so that when we sadly come to the end, we can just begin the next book!


How Green Was My Valley
How Green Was My Valley
Author: Richard Llewellyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a lovely,lovely book. I first saw the movie, then read the book. I loved the movie, and the book was even better. The writing has a Welsh cadence that is really beautiful. His descriptions and his characters will stay with you forever. The coal mining families had difficult lives, but there was such a beauty in the everyday life of the Welsh valley and the family closeness. I got my future husband to read it after I read it and he's not someone who loves to read, but he thanked me for giving him the book. We told one of his friends about it and he read it and thanked us for telling him about it. It is among my top ten favorites of all the books I've ever read - and I've read a LOT of books!


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: