Sue S. (suzans) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Absolute Liability (Southern Fraud Thriller, Bk 1)
Absolute Liability (Southern Fraud Thriller, Bk 1)
Author: J. W. Becton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/8/2012


loved it. Just the right mix of mystery, danger, romance,friendship, dialog and descriptions of scenery, insurance, fraud, policework, etc. Has an ending you're not expecting. Keeps you on the edge trying to figure out which suspect could be partner number 2.


The Accidental Duchess
The Accidental Duchess
Author: Jessica Benson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/13/2011


I really enjoyed this book. The romantic interludes were not graphic. However, the scenes were mostly in the last 1/3 of the book. The plot was very good. The mystery along with the romance was a great idea. Were Milburn's and Cambourne's transformations complete? Who turned traitor? Who did Gwen end up married to? Who were the blackmailers?


Anne of Ingleside (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 6)
Anne of Ingleside (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 6)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 11/30/2011


This is exquisitely done. The writing, the story, the descriptions of character and scenery are absolutely amazing. A great read for anyone. I wish I had these books. This was a library book.


Becoming Jane Eyre
Becoming Jane Eyre
Author: Sheila Kohler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/16/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book. It was very insightful even tho' fiction...based on lots of research and very probably. I had a hard time getting into the style of writing initially but overall it was good.


Bunnies As Pets
Bunnies As Pets
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/31/2011


Just as it says all the ins and outs of having bunnies as pets. breeds, housing, handling, breeding, feeding etc


Darcy and Elizabeth
Darcy and Elizabeth
Author: Frances Morgan, Frances Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/11/2012


I really enjoyed the premise and plot of this book. Darcy and Elizabeth's married life is certainly busy and demanding. Lady Catherine sheds some new light on things as Darcy manipulates her into action. Unfortunately Charlotte Collins dies in childbirth which leaves Mr. Collins and baby daughter open to all sorts of possibilities. Kitty becomes a very polished young woman and has a very serious suitor. Colonel Fitzwilliam makes a couple appearances. Darcy's Pemberley is entailed and after a year of marriage still Darcy has no male heir so in comes a cousin from India for Darcy to train and teach about running an estate. Mr. Wentworth and his sister stay at Pemberley for awhile and during this training Wentworth develops attachments. Georgiana has a couple suitors to get sorted out, one being Jane and Bingley's neighbor. Caroline is despicable as usual and Darcy handles that. There is hope for even her. There is intrigue and disaster, accidents, gypsies, murder, death, love, romance, no sex scenes. I enjoyed this but I felt the dialogue was choppy, the editing needed severe help, there are few descriptions of scenery or rooms or clothing or of any sort. I was so distracted by incorrect spelling, improper grammar, mix ups of characters that I almost gave it up. But that's just a me thing....I find it very distracting. I did enjoy the ups and downs of the plot and the way the sequel was directed. It's a hard to find book but still worth the read for the storyline.


The Darcy Connection (Darcy, Bk 5)
The Darcy Connection (Darcy, Bk 5)
Author: Elizabeth Aston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/28/2010


I thought this was very entertaining. I could just picture the Collins and their two daughters. It doesn't have much about the original characters. Barely a Mr. Darcy, but it was still very good. It was an easy read. I read it in a day or two. Not sexual, no extraordinary violence.


Darcy's Decision: Given Good Principles Volume 1
Darcy's Decision: Given Good Principles Volume 1
Author: Maria Grace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/7/2012


Loved this book (novella). My only complaint is that it was so short. It is however packed with info. I loved the development of characters. Darcy and his family (grief, loss, attempted abduction/elopement) has it all. The care, concern, love etc. shown is so delicately portrayed. There are scriptural references but very subtly done so a person doesn't feel preached at but enlightened and encouraged. This really moves along and I'm looking forward to the second in the installment.


The Darcys of Pemberley: The Continuing Story of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice
Review Date: 12/1/2011


I really enjoy the way this author wrote her book. For those not as familiar with Pride and Prejudice it has connecting points to help with characters. I love the way the characters are fleshed out in this next year of the darcy's lives. It makes them so much more complete. The conversations are complete. The only thing I didn't like was that I have read similar stories by other authors. So for me it was like a combination of a variety of stories by a variety of authors.


Darling Daughters
Darling Daughters
Author: Elizabeth Troop
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/31/2011


The mother daughter bond and the turbulent times in the 1930's in London. Relationships..single parent families and can you maintain a sunny disposition?


The Dashwood Sisters Tell All
The Dashwood Sisters Tell All
Author: Beth Pattillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2011


I loved this book. And I think the reason I rated it so high - I would have gone with a four but upped it to a five just because it was a clean romance. I could have used a little more filling out of the characters but as the other reviewer stated it was relatively easy to read this way. It wasn't overly complex. it was engaging. I loved seing how the siblings Ellen and Mimi interacted and comparing that to Elinor and Marianne as well as Jane and Cassandra Austen. It made me examine my own daughters' relationship. I enjoyed that the male counterparts from Sense and Sensibility did have similar characters in this modern version and that it was well enough defined to tell who was who but at first it wasn't a dead giveaway. I also appreciated that it took to the very end to discover some unique links to "the formidables" and who was included. I wish it had been a little more in depth but I'm burned out from Pride and Prejudice and so glad this was available as an alternative. It's nice to have someone putting effort into a different Austen novel for a change.


Dearest Cousin Jane: A Jane Austen Novel
Dearest Cousin Jane: A Jane Austen Novel
Author: Jill Pitkeathley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/4/2011


I really enjoyed this book. Tho' of course just guesswork in a sense but based on Austen letters and biographies is so well done. It takes me awhile to get into this mode of reading - letters back and forth. I found it to be very realistic.


Definitely Not Mr. Darcy
Definitely Not Mr. Darcy
Author: Karen Doornebos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/30/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This was a very enjoyable read. Based on a reality show and other modern things but still very enjoyable. No graphic sex or violence. A truly inspiring take on things.


Dreams and Expectations
Dreams and Expectations
Author: Wendi Sotis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2012


One of the absolute best books I've read. Read it if you have an opportunity. Great for P&P lovers.


Eliza's Daughter
Eliza's Daughter
Author: Joan Aiken
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/4/2011
Helpful Score: 1


It started off kind of confusing to me. Of course it's going to be that way with so many Eliza's in a story. I did enjoy the story as a whole. It seemed plausible but so much more sad than I would have liked to think of a sequel to Sense and Sensibility.


The Family Fortune
The Family Fortune
Author: Laurie Horowitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/7/2012


Really enjoyed this book. This is one of the only modern type books based on Austen's Persuasion. I felt the story believable, witty, and at times very very funny. If you enjoy Persuasion and modern day settings, you'll like this.


The Five-Minute Marriage
The Five-Minute Marriage
Author: Joan Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/25/2012


This is definitely along the same lines as a Georgette heyer novel. I thought it was remarkably well done. The witty and funny dialogue or lack of it. The thoughts by our heroine (Philadelphia) are great. It has a bit of romance, charm, a daunting hero, mysteries of attempted murder etc. I can't believe it was from 1977. The attempts of dealing with dementia now and in the past was touching. What a challenge and a worry. I could relate. This is a wonderful book for anyone that enjoys a Heyer type book - romance and mystery.


Frederica
Frederica
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book. It's getting hard to figure out which is my favorite anymore. The story is hilarious. Predictable but with a few twists and turns. The dialogue is amazing as usual. The family relationships are so varied and so accurate. I thoroughly enjoyed it.


A Gentleman Never Tells (Rogues' Dynasty, Bk 4)
A Gentleman Never Tells (Rogues' Dynasty, Bk 4)
Author: Amelia Grey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Reminded me of the titles of movies "Must Love Dogs" & "How to lose a guy in 10 days". I did enjoy the book especially Gabrielle's attempts to allude the marriages arranged for her. I'd trip over my own feet dancing and wouldn't even need to try to not dance correctly. The missing dogs were a unique turn of events. The ending events are tense but nice.


The Grand Sophy
The Grand Sophy
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/29/2011


Sophy sets out to solve everyone's problems..even problems they don't know they have. I loved it..absolutely loved it. It's funny, witty, charming, amusing and yet in a sense still predictable. The cast of characters were fascinating. There were several twists and turns.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: