4amreader - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 158 - Page:
All a Cowboy Wants for Christmas: Waiting for Christmas / His Christmas Wish / Once Upon a Frontier Christmas (Harlequin Historicals, No 1107)
Review Date: 9/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was disappointed in this one.

Judith Stacy is an author I've liked for a long time. I recently read another novella of hers, an older one, that was great. This story fell far short. After 35 pages and only 6 or so sentences between the leads, they were already thinking how they loved the other? No attempt at reality at all. I want my main characters to interact a lot, especially in these shorter stories. We learned more about the town that we did the leads.

The middle story, Lauir Robinson's, started out with promise but then I ended up skimming and not finishing. Too much narrative repitition, which actually happened with more than one story in this anthology, with the characters rethinking what we just saw happening in the last scene. Come on, author's, move the story forward.

The last one, by Cowan, was the only one I read with true interest the whole way through. But when "razors" of emotion start slashing through a character more than twice in a few pages, I just had trouble not getting distracted by the overly stated angst.

I love these short holiday collections, but the newer ones sure don't seem to be retaining the quality of the ones from years past.


Anna and the Duke
Anna and the Duke
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/27/2012


Started off great then about midway through, stalled. Thogh I kept reading, it never picked up and I eventually lost interest and stopped forcing myself to read. I have the next, connected story by Smith and hope its better.


Ask Dr. Kate (Harlequin Temptation, No 410)
Ask Dr. Kate (Harlequin Temptation, No 410)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/7/2014


Splendid book. Fast paced, sexy, good character development. Planning on looking up more of author's Temptations.


Assumed Identity (Precinct: Task Force, Bk 4) (Precinct, Bk 19) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1427)
Review Date: 5/16/2014


Holy cow this was a GREAT book. A true five-star read imo. Very unique Hero & heroine; she's just adopted a baby, so's a new single-mom, he's got one heck of a case of amnesia - & based on what he had on him when he "woke" 2 years ago, is clueless whether he's a good guy or the baddest of the bad.

Julie Miller is quickly making me a fan of intrigue - but only hers, the other few I've tried aren't nearly as gripping, or as romantic, and that's where she excels. Even while telling a gripping suspense story, she keeps the romance angle sizzling. I can wholeheartedly recommend ASSUMED IDENTITY.


Autumn Kittens: Cat's Cradle / Inseparable / Lord Wintergreen and the Beast (Zebra Regency Romance)
Review Date: 4/9/2012


All three of these were enjoyable, especially the last two. But it is Donnelly's entry, the middle story I really liked. Quite memorable and very well done.


The Bachelor's Stand-In Wife (Wives For Hire, Bk 1) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1912)
Review Date: 1/23/2013


Good, easily readable story, but lacked the gripping excitement I've come to expect from Crosby's Desires.


Beast in the Tower (He's a Mystery) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 966)
Beast in the Tower (He's a Mystery) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 966)
Author: Julie Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/5/2014


Very enjoyable, as I'm finding all of Miller's books. Not much H/h interaction right off the bat. Once they do start interacting, it's briefly at first but Miller is able to really pack emotional punches & physical attractions into every scene.

The story got a little too action-packed for my tastes near the very end (I like my stories more heavy on the romance angle) but still a very worthwhile read.


Beast in the Tower (He's a Mystery) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 966) (Larger Print)
Beast in the Tower (He's a Mystery) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 966) (Larger Print)
Author: Julie Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/5/2014


Very enjoyable, as I'm finding all of Miller's books. Not much H/h interaction right off the bat. Once they do start interacting, it's briefly at first but Miller is able to really pack emotional punches & physical attractions into every scene.

The story got a littel too action-packed for my tastes near the very end (I like my stories more heavy on the romance angle) but still a very worthwhile read.


Beauty and the Badge (Precinct, Bk 5) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1176) (Larger Print)
Beauty and the Badge (Precinct, Bk 5) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1176) (Larger Print)
Author: Julie Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/15/2013


I love this authors Blaze books. I'm not a fan of intrigue type stories but decided to try one of hers . It was a good, very engaging read, and the battered hero was written great. I just like more pages devoted to the romance than the crime plot, so think I'll stick w/ her Blaze novels for now.

But recommended for intrigue lovers.


Black Silk
Black Silk
Author: Judith Ivory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/14/2012


I read this book shortly after it was released and was completely enthralled. It was strange and offputting in places--like other reviewers of other editions of this story have stated, I was not nuts about hero the maintaining a mistress throughout.

But I adored his fascination with fireworks and the heroine. Spectacular book in that it was so original as compared with most historical romances.


Bliss
Bliss
Author: Judy Cuevas, Judith Ivory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/14/2012


One of those novels that is so difficult to rate. I both loved it and hated it.

Excellent quality writing. Unique storyline. Likable characters you really root for. All that is the good.

The bad? The hero's dark side. His addiction, and how it's rendered, as well as how it makes him act.

I'm not saying there's anything wrong with how the author handled it, only that it wasn't an easy, lighthearted read at all. I was wrung out by the end of the book, so even though it's one that has stayed with me for years and years, it's also made me steer clear of more of her books. I like my reads on the more pleasant side.


Blue Waltz
Blue Waltz
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/14/2012


I flew through this one back in the 90s and found it one of the best historical romances ever. Very poignant and touching.


The Blushing Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 521)
The Blushing Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 521)
Author: Judith Stacy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/29/2012


Fun, enjoyable and quick read. The first several chapters were the most entertaning. The hero was almost unlikeable at times but just barely managed to stay on my good side. I'll read more of her work.


Bodie Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 140)
Bodie Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 140)
Author: Isabel Whitfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I read this a long, long time ago when it was released. What I remember most is how realistic I thought the heroine acted on her wedding night. She was scared, scared of intimacy and it showed, but her new husband treated her with all the care and consideration a romance reader would want to see.


The Boss's Christmas Proposal (Back in Business, Bk 6) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1940)
Review Date: 5/2/2014


Really good & totally unique storyline. Takes place in Japan, almost exclusively in a fancy hotel. The prologue had me concerned the heroine was gonna be a bit too childish, but that wasnt the case at all. First time reading Leigh & now I'm looking forward to more books of hers.


By the Sheikh's Command  (Brides of the Desert Rose) (Harlequin American Romance, No 933)
Review Date: 5/6/2014


Underwhelming. No real plot, other than "i want you so bad" but shouldn't have you bc (insert not-very-convincing reason here).

Actually read the whole book, even when heroine intentionally got hero drunk in her bid to seduce him. Ugh. When a man does that, he's a jerk. What's that make her- a sherk?

The editor could have substantially improved the conflict, not to mentxon that stupid seduction scheme, if only she'd cared enough. doubtful I'll be picking up anymore American Romances, or this author's work again.


The Captive Heart (Harlequin Historical, No 512)
The Captive Heart (Harlequin Historical, No 512)
Author: Cheryl Reavis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/25/2012


Amazing story. The first 2.5 chapters were a lot of setup and focused on the heroine. I kept reading because it was interesting but I was ready to meet the hero. Once we did, the story really took off.

At turns touching and tragic, this one will stay in my memory. Recommended.

1750s, North Carolina is the setting. I kept wondering and finally saw it on a Harlequin advert for the book.


Carnal Innocence (Harlequin Blaze, No 77)
Carnal Innocence (Harlequin Blaze, No 77)
Author: Julie Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/20/2013


Enjoyed it but didn't love it as I have a few of her others. Maybe bc much takes place at "hedonistic resort" and it feels like that plot has been overdone. Maybe bc I didn't find this sometimes bossy & abrupt hero quite as yummy as her others.


Celia's Grand Passion
Celia's Grand Passion
Author: Lynn Kerstan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/26/2011


The first half or so was adorable as the characters interacted a lot. How often does a Regency heroine decide she's going to have an affair and pursue it? The storyline and their dialogue was refreshing and very well done. But once the hero realized she wasn't experienced as he'd assumed, he backed away.

So while an interesting story continued, the lead characters did not interact quite as much in the last third or so and I missed the fun exchanges that characterized their initial interplay. This is a book I've read more than once and one I'm holding on to.


The Charmer (Harlequin Blaze, No 520)
The Charmer (Harlequin Blaze, No 520)
Author: Kate Hoffmann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/12/2012


This was a fast and enjoyable read. The characters had a number of sexual encounters but they were written in less graphic terms than some Blaze and done well enough that I didn't skim.

The story was intriguing, different than the typical plots that have been written and written again. During the day I found myself thinking about this story and wondering what would happen next. Recommended!


1 to 20 of 158 - Page: