Jessyka R. (musyklvr) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Aftertime (Aftertime, Bk 1)
Aftertime (Aftertime, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


First of all, this book had too much graphic sex for me. I'm prudish in my reading and had to skip over a couple of scenes.

That being said, I liked the rest of the story. The zombies were an interesting take on the classic genre, and I thought the author did an excellent job discussing Cass's addictions (in her previous life) and the desolation that goes along with said addictions.

I won't be reading any further in the series because of the sex, but if you don't mind that, I would recommend it.


Awakened (House of Night, Bk 8)
Awakened (House of Night, Bk 8)
Author: P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 4/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


While not my favorite of the series, this book was definitely better than the past several books, which, to me, were just meh. I actually became weepy at times.

Zoey's teenager lingo is still annoying (seriously? Who says bullpoopie. At least there is no mention of brown pop) but the shift from character point of view is less jarring in this book than in Burned.


Bite Me (Demon Underground, Bk 1)
Bite Me (Demon Underground, Bk 1)
Author: Parker Blue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/18/2009


just read an ARC copy, so i'm not positive how closely the end product is. however, this book was a very quick read. it was definitely quirky, and i thought the characters were great. my favorite was the dog -- but that's probably just the animal lover in me.

i would definitely read any sequals from this author.


The Bite of the Mango
The Bite of the Mango
Author: Mariatu Kamara, Susan McClelland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The language of this book was easier to read than Ishmael Beah's book about being a boy soldier, but the subject matter is not. The story of Mariatu and the life she led both in Sierra Leona and later in Canada is a harrowing tale, and will make you wish you could do more for the poor people of Africa.


Bless this House
Bless this House
Author: Norah Lofts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


While I wasn't sure that I would enjoy this book, it definitely surprised me. It's not a quick or an easy read, however it is broken up into what feel like short stories all revolving around a house. I would recommend this, if you enjoy historical fiction.


Blindsided : Lifting a Life Above Illness: A Reluctant Memoir
Blindsided : Lifting a Life Above Illness: A Reluctant Memoir
Author: Richard Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/22/2015


There are so many positive reviews for this. While I'm not really surprised (I don't suffer the delusion that others feel the same way I do), I am surprised that there are only five star reviews on here while the book is rated a 3.5 overall.

I had difficulty with this book, and not due to the subject matter. Cohen's thoughts were disorganized and he was all over the place. It was difficult to follow from one paragraph to the next.

He definitely is a remarkable person and should be admired for having the courage to come out and speak about his chronic illness.


The Children's Hospital
The Children's Hospital
Author: Chris Adrian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Adrian's writing is beautiful...he is eloquent and the story flows well. Parts of the book, however, are difficult to follow. Adrian uses a lot of medical terminology, and while some of it may be common place (or known to readers who also enjoy medical dramas on TV!), many of the terms are not going to be recognized. There were also several times where a name would be mentioned, and I would have to try really hard to remember who that particular person was and what they meant to the story.

The main characters were fleshed out very well, their hopes, dreams, loves and fears, and the premise of the book is both terrifying and uplifting. I would definitely recommend this to people who don't need to rely on a sense of "reality" in their books.


Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 12/10/2011


Ever is bothering me more and more -- she is much like Twilight's Bella in that she has this major inferiority complex. Even though Damen will do anything for her (but he is not as creepy as Edward), she consistantly believes that she does not deserve his love. I will probably read the fifth book in the series because I already have it, but if i didn't, I think I would just put this series down now.


The Dark Queen  (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
The Dark Queen (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I picked up this book because there was supposed to be a lot of intrigue and murder and sorcery in it. I read the reviews stating there was a "dash" of romance, and thought "eh, I don't like romance novels, but I'll give this a try."

Don't be fooled. About 150 pages went by before there was anything of extreme note that did NOT have to do with romance. While the middle/end of the book focused more on the intrigue, etc., this book read (to me, who doesn't like romance novels) as a romance novel with some other stuff thrown in.

That's not to say that I didn't enjoy the story, or the characters. I did. It's a fluffy book, pretty easy to read, and the parts with Catherine de Medici were fascinating. I just wish the book had purported to be more about romance, because it was.


Death of a Murderer (Vintage International)
Death of a Murderer (Vintage International)
Author: Rupert Thomson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Well, first off, probably the most important thing about this book is that you should not read it if you like action/adventure/etc. Nothing happens, not really.

This is a more introspective journey. While serving a 12 hour shift in the morgue, Billy Tyler, policeman, drifts away from his charge and starts examining different things that have happened in his life. Vacations to Italy, the birth of his daughter, the meeting of his wife -- all of these past events are touched upon and, through them, you get a better idea of who Billy Tyler is.

While well-written, the lack of suspense and action may turn some people off.


Ender in Exile (Ender, Bk 6)
Ender in Exile (Ender, Bk 6)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


although this book takes place directly after the end of ender's game, you should definitely read all of the shadow books prior. card ties up some of the loose ends from the end of _shadow of the giant_, which was definitely appreciated.

card is my favorite author, and i own almost everything by him. so, i may be biased when i say this: though i have tired a bit of ender's story, his universe is so vast and it is so easy to have affection for the other characters, that this story is not unwelcome. in fact, it's a nice bridge from ender's game to speaker for the dead -- to see how ender went from being a broken child to a strong man with a specific purpose.


The Exorcist
The Exorcist
Author: William Peter Blatty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 8/4/2010


this was a book i was given by my dad. i watched the movie in high school, and so i thought i would watch this movie. i almost stopped reading 20 pages in, because i thought the writing style was horrible. i checked out reviews to see what others said, and since they all raved about it, i decided to give it more of a chance. by 25 pages in i was hooked! the movie is very true to the book, although the book is more graphic in detail. i definitely enjoyed it.


Flightless Falcon
Flightless Falcon
Author: Mickey Zucker Reichert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/24/2009


this is the first book i've read by reichert, and it was enjoyable for me. i like middle-ages type fantasy, and this was definitely in those veins. some of the characters were a little cheesy, but it was easy to get sucked in and cheer on sueldan while he was trying to rescue his family.


Forge
Forge
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/8/2012


This is the continuing story of Isabel and Curzon, two runaway slaves fighting for their freedom in the midst of the Revolutionary War.

The author has incredible style (if you have never read Speak, go do so right now) and she did plenty of research before writing this book. There is an appendix and a glossary at the end to help teens navigating the language. However, the tale falls just a little flat. This book (as opposed to Chains, written in Isabel's voice) is written in Curzon's voice, and he just isn't as thrilling, interesting or as captivating as Isabel. I will probably still read the third book in the series, Ashes, although I won't go out of my way to do so. 3 stars


The Future of Us
The Future of Us
Author: Jay Asher, Carolyn Mackler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/27/2014


Before picking up this book, I read the beginnings of several reviews on Goodreads, as there weren't any here. So many were negative, complaining about the "one-dimensional" characters, who had the chance to see into the future and didn't look to see if anything like 9/11 had happened/etc.

The characters are 15 and 16, in 1996. There was no precedent to see if something like 9/11 had happened -- the last attack on our country before that was Pearl Harbor, and even when 9/11 happened and I was watching it on TV, I thought the news was showing a clip from a movie. There was no frame of reference. To think that adolescents at that time would look those kinds of things up is illogical.

Is this a riveting, long-lasting work of fiction? No. But it's fun for what it is -- a nostalgic look back at high school pre-internet, pre-Facebook, pre-smart phone. 30-somethings will probably enjoy this book more than any other subset.


The Great Santa Search (Christmas Chronicles)
The Great Santa Search (Christmas Chronicles)
Author: Jeff Guinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/18/2009


what happens when santa decides to try to be on reality TV?

this story was even more entertaining (to me) than the first book (i still haven't read how mrs. claus saved christmas). there were several parts that were laugh out loud funny, and other parts that moved me almost to tears. as a "maximum true believer", i absolutely still believe in santa claus and the magic he brings to the christmas season. this story made me giggle and enjoy the christmas season even more.


Hunted (House of Night, Bk 5)
Hunted (House of Night, Bk 5)
Author: P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 548
Review Date: 8/11/2010


after reading some negative reviews, i thought i would hate this installment of the house of night series, but i was wrong. although i wish (as someone else noted) that zoey would learn that she is good by herself and doesn't need a man (or three!) to make her special, i still enjoyed the adventures of her gang.

the only thing i would change is that i feel damien, the twins and jack are all quite one dimensional. i don't know of any gay boys who act like jack (and i know some flaming ones!). there were also a couple of name typos.


The Last Days of Krypton
The Last Days of Krypton
Author: Kevin J. Anderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/17/2010


i have never cared about superman, but when this book was in a box of books my dad gave me for posting here, i thought i might as well check it out.

this book made me care about krypton. i really liked superman's parents, and i kept wishing that their world would not be destroyed. i don't think i'll ever watch the superman movies, but this glimpse into anderson's perception of krypton was fascinating.

good, quick read with lots of short chapters.


Leaving (Bailey Flanigan, Bk 1)
Leaving (Bailey Flanigan, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 6/26/2017


Karen Kingsbury is a Christian fiction author who has numerous series to her name. Leaving is the first in the Bailey Flanigan series, which is a spin-off of her Baxter series. I was a newcomer to these family, but had little trouble following along.

I am not a Christian, and I don't care for romance, so at first I didn't remember what caught my eye. Then I remembered -- Bailey dreamed of a life on Broadway. Unfortunately, there wasn't much talk of Broadway. There was a lot of back and forth between Cody (her high school friend whom she loved and who pushed her away and left without explaining why) and Brandon (a Hollywood star who acted with Bailey in an upcoming movie). Both men are very Godly and extremely good at everything they do, much like every other character in the book.

I felt this book was fairly preachy. While I do read some other Christian fiction, this sort of pushed me over the edge. What bothered me the most was when Bailey lumped all of Hollywood together as "needing Jesus" -- equating those who practice Kaballah and a girl who was bragging about making out with numerous people at a party. I get the latter -- but assuming that practicing Kaballah was not religious enough because it did not involve Jesus bothered me.

I finished this book because, despite everything, I cared enough about the characters to find out what happened. I did not, however, care enough to look into the additional three books in the series. 2.5 stars.


Left Neglected
Left Neglected
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 2/27/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I started this book hating the main character. I couldn't wait for her to have her accident, because I felt like she deserved it (I promise, I'm not that vindictive in real life!). Genova does an excellent job attempting to teach the reader about this condition called Left Neglect that many probably have never heard of before. Sarah becomes a sympathetic character along the way. I didn't like this as much as I liked Still Alice, but again, I liked Alice and couldn't stand Sarah at first, which probably had a lot to do with it.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: