Kathy C. (4hisglory) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/22/2014


Very funny Christmas story that turns our Christmas pageantry upside down while bringing in the true meaning of Christmas. Lots of laughs and some tears as this unexpected turn of events unfolds for the traditional church Christmas play.


The Christie Curse
The Christie Curse
Author: Victoria Abbott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2014


This was a fun detective story about a missing Agatha Christie play. It was a clean story without bad language and sex scenes. There was danger and murders and colorful characters. I enjoyed it; it was a quick, light read.


Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Abridged)
Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Abridged)
Author: John Foxe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/7/2014


This is an abridged copy of the original book. It is a greatly abridged copy which makes for an easier, quicker read. It gives short reports of the various persecution and executions against believers down through the ages.


Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free
Review Date: 1/29/2014


Nancy DeMoss doesn't pull any punches in going down through the common lies around us and that we believe. She uses a lot of Scripture to back up her stand and also personal stories to share. Part of getting free is getting rid of the baggage the lies in our life are to us.


Listen
Listen
Author: Rene Gutteridge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/16/2014


Interesting story about a small town that experiences having private conversations posted on a website for all to see. Shows the confusion, judgement, and anger that results. Gives the reader opportunity to think about the words that we carelessly speak.


The Loser Letters
The Loser Letters
Author: Mary Eberstadt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2015


This book is a series of letters a new unbeliever is writing to demonic forces telling them what she feels they are doing that is hurting their case with humans and what would be more effective based on her experiences with organized religion. She claims she was a believer but has joined forces with the other side because of hurtful life experiences. It is suggestive of C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters. I did not find it near as insightful a book as Screwtape Letters but it was humorous and thoughtful in places. I may have had less enjoyment from it as I am over 60 and felt it was more directed at college/young adult ages.


Love Into Light: The Gospel, The Homosexual and The Church
Love Into Light: The Gospel, The Homosexual and The Church
Author: Peter Hubbard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/9/2016


Book offers thoughts about attitudes in the church against SSA (same-sex attraction). The author is a pastor who has counseled many SSA individuals and spent time in prayer and the Word. Calls the body of Christ to a more Christ-like attitude and response without condoning sin of any kind. Good at redirecting to the heart issues (which is where God judges) instead of the "hot topics." Very well written book.


Marriage Is Hard: Truths I Wish I Had Understood Before I Got Married
Review Date: 1/28/2014


This book is a good read for soon-to-be-married and married women. It is aimed towards Christian woman as the author believes God is the one who will help us become the woman who can make a great marriage. She covers many aspects of what cause problems in marriage and has helpful, funny personal stories. She also shares stories from other women and what they wish they had known before they married. And she poles men about what their wives do that makes them feel respected/loved and what they do that most undermines that.


Missionary Methods: St. Paul's or Ours?
Missionary Methods: St. Paul's or Ours?
Author: Roland Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/31/2014


This book is a very detailed analysis of St. Paul's methods of church planting; comparing it to methods used currently by church missionary planting (although some of the methods he encourages are being followed more in recent years). It is a reprint and the reprint itself is dated but it has valuable information. The author is from an ecclesiastical-type church but feels the information is for any and all church types (and there's truth to that). I also found in informative for any personal type missionary work (including raising children).


The Nutcracker
The Nutcracker
Author: Daniel Walden (Adaptor), E. T. A. Hoffman, Don Daily (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2014


This is a classic, large copy of The Nutcracker. With full page (and some double page) delightful pictures, this book makes for a traditional read-aloud book with the kiddies at Christmas.


Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Primal: A Quest for the Lost Soul of Christianity
Author: Mark Batterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/28/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book about going back to the prime basis of our faith. Written in a very clear, concise manner which made for a quick read. Covers the four areas of our faith covered in the Great Commandment of loving the Lord our God with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength. Calling us to a reformation, back to when we first had God, or He had us.


A Secret Gift: How One Man's Kindness--and a Trove of Letters--Revealed the Hidden History of the Great Depression
Review Date: 2/4/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is such an eye-opening book. From a suitcase that Ted Gup received from his mother many years later containing letters and an offer made by his grandfather during the Depression, comes an amazing picture of people's lives before, during, and after the Depression. And the author was also able to uncover truths about his own grandfather's life that had been hidden. It's a fascinating read that touches and changes you; both in how you view those years, and important attitudes that made them the 'greatest generation.'


Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (Grantchester, Bk 1)
Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (Grantchester, Bk 1)
Author: James Runcie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/22/2014


English mystery book; each chapter was another case. Some of the terms may be unfamiliar to American readers which made it interesting. Sidney Chambers is a priest who gets involved in solving the mysteries which involved murders or theft.


An Unmarked Grave (Bess Crawford, Bk 4)
An Unmarked Grave (Bess Crawford, Bk 4)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/24/2014


This was an historical novel set in the Spring of 1918. There is a Spanish flu epidemic spreading killing millions across the globe. Bess Crawford is a nurse working on the French front who discovers the body of an officer who has been murdered concealed among the dead awaiting burial. Before she can do anything about this, she falls ill, the latest victim of the flu. By the time she recovers, the murdered officer has been buried and the only other person who saw the body has hanged himself. Or did he? Can she find enough evidence to unmask the elusive killer and see justice served? But she must be as vigilant as she is tenacious. With a determined killer on her heels, each move Bess makes could be her last.


1 to 14 of 14