Tim O. (Timinator2K8) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Badasses: The Legend of Snake, Foo, Dr. Death, and John Madden's Oakland Raiders
Review Date: 1/26/2011


A good, outsider's view of the Raiders in the 1970's. Good memories and VERY painful ones about the 70's Raider's always ending up as the doormats for the eventual Super Bowl winning teams....and their one SB win over a weak Vikings team.

The author included a line about Madden always being upset about having to go for field goals instead of TD's. That line was PURE CRAP...Madden NEVER EVER met a FG situation within the Red Zone that he didn't love, especially when he should have had the guile and killer instinct to go for the TD...he rarely, if EVER did and the Raider Badasses were made to look like candyarses. How many games the Raiders lost due in-part to Madden's lack of trust in his team to get the job done, we'll never know, but I suspect it contributed to at least two Super Bowl non-appearances. Thanks, John for the 1 Super Bowl...when the Raiders deserved AT LEAST two more in the 70's.


The Black Star Passes (Arcot, Morey & Wade, Bk 1)
The Black Star Passes (Arcot, Morey & Wade, Bk 1)
Author: John W. Campbell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Written around 1930, this futuristic Sci Fi novel introduces propeller airplanes the size of cities, invisibility devices, aliens on Venus, and chemical warfare that knocks people out and also cures cancer. This book is quite dated, but if you like silent movies for their insight into the past, you will enjoy Black Star Passes.


Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 5/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A great, very readable narrative of Steve's wild & crazy career. A nice page turner that you are through with in a blink but, neat insights from his side of the stage.


Buy Back
Buy Back
Author: Brian M Wiprud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/10/2013


Another good tale from BMW...2 thumbs up!


The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 5/31/2009


I thoroughly enjoyed this story, a lot of action, intelligent premise and an easy read to boot. I've not read any of the Pitt books but, I will be from the beginning soon. Isaac Bell, the hero of this story, is believable and honorable and his opponent is just as intelligent but, purely and utterly evil. Another Isaac Bell story is coming out November '09, can't wait!


Daemons are Forever (Secret Histories, Bk 2)
Daemons are Forever (Secret Histories, Bk 2)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/9/2009


A good riveting read that has a lot of exciting action, interesting characters and character development and a story line that ties all the story elements together in a nice tight package. I would have preferred that Eddie Drood have had more stories as an "agent with the golden torc" but, he does well as the new leader of the clan in its latest, ultimate high-stakes battle-behind-the-scenes against the evil, world-ending, Loathely Ones. Two Thumbs WAY UP!


A Damned Fine War
A Damned Fine War
Author: William Yenne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/7/2010


A damned fine read about old Blood and Guts schooling the commies!


A Different Drummer: My Thirty Years With Ronald Reagan
A Different Drummer: My Thirty Years With Ronald Reagan
Author: Michael K. Deaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/6/2008


An excellent personal narrative by a Reagan insider who worked closely with the greatest President of All Time. A very interesting and worthwhile read.


Don't Shoot, It's Only Me: Bob Hope's Comedy History of the United States
Review Date: 8/6/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Bob Hope's story of his long and storied career in show biz and, his many many USO show's for the troops is truly a great read! It IS very much like he's talking directly to you and, his continuous jokes are very entertaining while he's telling his stories. I dub him "The King of the Quips" for his great lines and, the great writers he kept employed to keep that crown on top of his English-born head of his. Overall, a wonderful story and great lessons in US history. God Bless Ya, Bob for all that you did for our troops over the decades and, for all Americans everywhere. Thanks for the memories and, for one very memorable read!


Empire (Empire, Bk 1)
Empire (Empire, Bk 1)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 5/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Hard to disagree with anything anyone else has written, a poorly conceived and badly executed story...with so many implausible plot and character holes in it, Swiss cheese seems totally solid in comparison. SPOILER AHEAD...if that's even possible...OSC commits the SF Cardinal Sin (pun intended!) and KILLS the hero of the book less than half-way through! I gave it up on it shortly after that, there are too many other good books that deserve my attention and recommendations.


Empire (Empire, Bk 1)
Empire (Empire, Bk 1)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/15/2014


If the incredibly talented OSC actually wrote this book, I'll eat my hat. A genuinely awful story and, pure waste of valuable reading time! Read several of the 1 Star Amazon reviews for this title and you'll get the point...there is not the slightest socially redeeming value or, bit of reading entertainment to be found in this bound waste of a tree's life. You have been warned!
http://www.amazon.com/ss/customer-reviews/0765355221/ref=cm_cr_dp_qt_hist_one?_encoding=UTF8&filterBy=addOneStar&ref_=cm_cr_dp_qt_hist_one&showViewpoints=0


The Everything Wine Book
The Everything Wine Book
Author: Danny May, Andy Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/28/2009


Very entertaining and informative for this wine newbie's interests. Covers all the basics in a lively writing style with ample numbers of pictures, drawings and diagrams. Downside was that it didn't come with samples of vino to actually try out to see what I liked. :) A good read and worth your time for your curious mind!


Fantasy Gone Wrong
Fantasy Gone Wrong
Author: Brittiany A. Koren (Editor), Martin H. Greenberg (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/27/2012


Boring and not all that well-written stories. A compilation of half-rate losers.


Glory Road
Glory Road
Author: Robert A. Heinlein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/11/2014


badly dated, awful writing.


Goblins (X-Files, Bk 1)
Goblins (X-Files, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 12/29/2012


A pretty good X-Files adventure...certainly, worth your reading time!


I Must Say: My Life as Humble Comedy Legend
I Must Say: My Life as Humble Comedy Legend
Author: Martin Short
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/18/2017


"Martin Short: I Must Say My Life as Humble Comedy Legend" is a very entertaining read about this funny and extremely versatile entertainer's extensive career. It is an easy read and never flags from being entertaining and very informative about the inner workings of modern show business. Definitely worth your reading time! Two Thumbs Up, I Must Say!


The Imus Ranch: Cooking for Kids and Cowboys
The Imus Ranch: Cooking for Kids and Cowboys
Author: Deirdre Imus
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/6/2010


Check the MANY reviews at Amazon and you will see that the book (personalities, really) is very polarizing. Reading any number of them, you get the impression that Deirdre Imus is either Satan's daughter (with issues) or, she's nearly Saint Deidre, founder of a "green" childrens' cancer hospital. As a guy, I can see why Imus picked this hot-looking tamale for wifey #?, but the truth may lie somewhere in-between the polarities. The recipes look great and people reviewed that they work really well or, not at all. So, good luck and bon appetite!

http://www.amazon.com/Imus-Ranch-Cooking-Kids-Cowboys/dp/1422392392/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267922716&sr=1-1


Lapham Rising (P.S.)
Lapham Rising (P.S.)
Author: Roger Rosenblatt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/26/2012


Wonderful comic timing, memorable characters (Hector!) and, point-on skewering of American "nothing succeeds like excess" madness. A modern Don Quixote charging McMansions and, the McRich Twits who "live" in them in the posh Hamptons. A fun read!


The Last World War (Last World War, Bk 1)
The Last World War (Last World War, Bk 1)
Author: Dayton Ward
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The Last World War is a story of a war between two alien societies that has found a way to spill over on to, and engulf, planet Earth via a cross-dimensional portals. Earth takes sides and the ensuing conflict is a good military SF read. Think Aliens, as in the movie, Predator, and then think organized armies of them bent on destroying their alien enemies AND their "Earthling" allies. Worth your reading time!


Lost on Planet China, or Houw He Became Comfortable Eating Live Squid
Review Date: 1/25/2012


Troost's travels through China are fairly interesting from a cultural and environment point of view for those of us having never gone there. Overall, the modern China is an over-sized industrial chemical waste pit and there is far more pollution than actual air...so, I'm glad it was he who went and spared me suffering through the environmental horrors and the massive hordes of Chinese fighting to get in lines for everything all the time. Speaking of horrors, I could have done without the graphic fates of small animals (Which American have as pets) that the Chinese brutally kill and eat...and his ranting on and on about George Bush and Republicans was BOOOORING, not amusing in the slightest. Get help, Troost and rant to your Commiefornia pals, not your reading public...tends to piss us off. Overall, I'm glad I only paid a buck for this remainder book at a dollar store. $2 would be no sale for this work.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: