Kerry K. (mistysmere) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 141 - Page:
The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
The Chocolate Bear Burglary (Chocoholic, Bk 2)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 2/1/2006


Lee McKinney, chocolate shop #2


The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 8/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Lee solves an old mystery. Good read, though Lee's speech problems are played up way too much in this book. They were amusing in the other books, but they were stupid in this one.


Choice of Evils
Choice of Evils
Author: Warwick Downing
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/3/2006


From the backcover:

IN THE NATION'S CAPITAL, AN INTERNATIONAL INCIDENT

Frances "Frankie" Rammel is fortysomething, fond of cigarettes and Wild Turkey, and a fierce chanpion of the law for the National Association of Special Prosecutors. From her beloved Denver she journeys to the judicial halls of Washington DC to prosecute a murder case rife with political repercussions: Richard Adamson Jrm and ex-marinem Gulf War veteran, and all-American golden boy, has been charged with slaying a subject of the Arab kingdom of Rashidi. Adamson's more than on trial - he's become the controversial prize in as tug-of-war between American due process and swift Islamic justice.

IN THE COURTROOM, A CRITICAL CONFRONTATION

But before Frankie can even begin, she's bumped from the case - in favor of a suave, supercharged Rashidi prosecutor with American savvy and the law of Allah in his heart. Wooed to the other side by pugnacious defense attorny Brooking Slasstein, Frankie finds that the motives behind the case - and the killer - are not what they seem. Suddenly United States v. Richard Adamson Jr is about much more than murder: it's about ancient tradition v. modern justice...religion v. civil rights...and Frankie v. the very system she's always served...


Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2709
Review Date: 5/12/2006


Sookie Stackhouse #3.

Bill and Sookie are on the outs. Will Eric move in for the kill? Or are there other possible love interests in Sookie's life?


Conquest Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 782)
Conquest Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 782)
Author: Meriel Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/29/2006


From back cover:

ONE CONQUERING NORMAN KNIGHT

Baron Varin de Montaigu is a soldier for King William. By royal decree he has been sent to England to uncover a plot to overthrow the new king. He is suspicious of everyone.

ONE DARING SAXON LADY

Lady Eadita of Thunorslege hates the Normans with all her heart, and wants them out of her home and country. She will fight using any means at her disposal...

Varin is certain Eadita is plotting, and is intent on keeping her close. But that is proving more dangerous than first imagined. Now the soldier knighted for his bravery in battle is losing his heart to his sworn enemy!


Cravings
Cravings
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton, Eileen Wilks, MaryJanice Davidson, Rebecca York
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 4/29/2006


MaryJanice Davidson's story was hysterical. I love how she writes short stories that aren't centered on Betsy the Vampire Queen, yet ties everything back to her anyway.


Crimson Snow (Lake Champlain Mysteries, Book 1)
Crimson Snow (Lake Champlain Mysteries, Book 1)
Author: William Kritlow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


The actual story and plot of this book was pretty good. There were a lot of characters and I some times got people mixed up, but as a whole, the main characters were well developed. If I wasn't from Vermont, I would have been able to thoroughly enjoy this book.

But the fact is that I was raised in Vermont and from the first chapter, I was asking my husband, also raised in Vermont, stupid questions about a place we haven't lived in almost ten years. Throughout the entire book, I would stop and rave about how this book seems to be written by someone who has never lived in Vermont before. Due to a computer upgrade, I was unable to check until I discovered the very last page of the book with a tiny About the Author section. The author was raised in IN and moved to CA. I will say that the man may have been to VT before in his life, but he totally missed some important things while he was there.

From page 1, he talks about a car being driven up highway 7 and highway 2. It's Route 7 and Route 2. This threw me off enough that I almost didn't keep going after chapter 1. Then he refers to the major state college as U of V. I almost died laughing. The University of Vermont has never been referred to as U of V. It's UVM, as in University of Verde Mont (or Green Mountains, which the state was named for). Another thing that was very distracting was the constant travel from the Isles to Burlington. As a city dweller now, traveling 45 minutes to get donuts isn't that big a deal. But in VT, no one travels 45 minutes just for donuts. And why is a Burlington police detective stationed in a Winooski police station investigating a Grand Isle crime? Finally, there is a more subtle difference in religion from VT and the Midwest. This might not be something that many people see, except those raised in VT who have lived in the Midwest. All I know is that tent revivals are not something you would really see in VT at all. Don't even get me started about one of the characters ending up in the hospital with a view of a pasture. If you can get past all these little details, the story and mystery really are good ones.


Curtains of Blood
Curtains of Blood
Author: Robert J. Randisi
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/27/2006


Bram Stoker mets Jack the Ripper. Literally. Great what if book.


Cutwork (Needlecraft, Bk 7)
Cutwork (Needlecraft, Bk 7)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was the most agonizing book in this series to read, so far. The first chapter starts off with a local police detective ranting and raving about his nemesis, who is the main character of this series. It went down hill from there.

The author tried too hard to develop some characters that don't even have bit parts, but are reoccuring in this series. The writing was strained in many chapters. It was almost as if the author couldn't find anything more that was interesting about needlework, so they had to make something up to find any type of connection to this series.

The actual crime was rather predictable. Though there was some subterfuge, I was still able to predict who the killer was the second they were introduced in the book. The wool the author tried to pull over our eyes was crocheted with an O hook.

Even though I was disappointed with this book in the series, I will continue to read these books. 6 decent mysteries far out weigh a silly read that was almost a waste of time.


Danse Macabre (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 14)
Danse Macabre (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 14)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 4


So many great possible story lines are explored in the first 50 pages, it's sad when the best ones (usually those without possible sex) are ignored. I dislike the way the author goes through and tries to tie up lose ends when she gets to the point where she thinks the story is done. My only hope is that she might bring one of these lose ends into the next book. I guess I just have to wait and see.


Date Me, Baby, One More Time (Immortally Sexy, Bk 1)
Date Me, Baby, One More Time (Immortally Sexy, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Rowe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 8/18/2006


So worth every second reading. Lite, fun and action packed. Wild and entertaining. Dragons, Guardians, Ghosts, Satan, his children and a curse. What more could you ask for? A second book!


Daughter of the Blood (Black Jewels, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Blood (Black Jewels, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was very difficult to get into. Because it is fantasy, and the first book in a series, there is just so much explaining about the way of the world that needs to be done and characters that need to be introduced. Even though I struggled with the reading, even 150 pages in, I found myself horridly fascinated with where the story could go. I kept reading, and the more I read, the more I found myself drawn to the book.

My biggest recommendation on this book is to keep reading. It was worth it for me. So worth it that the first thing I did when I finished the book was wishlist the rest of the trilogy.


The Daughters Grimm
The Daughters Grimm
Author: Minda Webber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 1/16/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I love puns. Minda Webber uses puns. Why can't I stand her books? Might it be because puns are OK when they are causually dropped in occasional places, but make you gag when used in every other sentence. I don't know if this woman can write a good story because, yet again, I was unable to make it to page 20 before throwing the book across the room in disgust. I find that the writer tries too hard to be punny and create characters that I have no desire to get to know. And she has a habit of pushing too hard, too early in the story, putting me in the position of never wanting to read another of her books.

I tried to read this book. I gave it a fair chance and even started it after finishing a book by a favorite author. But Minda Webber, while choosing topics that I find interesting, just isn't an author that I can stomach.


Dead and Loving It: Monster Love / Santa Claws / There's No Such Thing as a Werewolf / A Fiend in Need
Review Date: 5/10/2006


Four great stories and the last one was laugh out load funny.


Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2231
Review Date: 5/16/2006


Sookie Stackhouse #4

Eric looses his memory. Jason disappears. Evil Wiccan are trying to blackmail the Supes in the area. Will the fun never end?


Death at Every Stop: The True Story of Alleged Gay Serial Killer Andrew Cunanan, the Man Accused of Murdering Designer Versace (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 6/3/2006


From the backcover:

THE SPREE KILLINGS THAT TERRORIZED THE NATION

April 29,1997 - The body of 28-year-old Jeffrey Trail found wrapped in a rug in a Minneapolis apartment. May 3 - Fishermen find the body of 33-year-old architect David Madson in Minnesota's East Rush Lake. May 4 - The tortured body of wealthy 72-year-old real estate investor Lee Miglin found in his garage. May 9 - 45-year-old caretaker William Reese found in a New Jersey cemetery with a bullet in his head. July 15 - World-renowned fashion designer Gianni Versace shot twice in the back of the head and left to die in from of his South Beach mansion.

THE CAT-AND-MOUSE CHASE THAT GRIPPED THE COUNTRY

The man responsible for these horrific slayings was Andrew Cunanan, a cunning, cold-blooded killer who eluded ploice for three months until July 23, 1997, when, after a harrowing standoff on a Miami houseboat, police fond Cunanan inside the boat - dead by his own hand, But as the tragic crime spree comes to an end, the mystery is just beginning - who was Andrew Cunanan and what led him to savagely murder five men? What was his relationship to the victims? And how did a handsome, privileged young man venture so far into the dark side?

THE FINAL ENDING THAT SHOCKED THE WORLD

Described as everything from a flamboyant playboy to a tansvestite prostitute to a gold-digging "kept man", Andrew Cunanan has remained an enigma - even in death. Now, in this searing expose, author Wensley Clarkson examines Cunanan from the inside out, revealing never-before-told facts about his life.


Death on the Flop (Poker, Bk 1)
Death on the Flop (Poker, Bk 1)
Author: Jackie Chance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Through out this book, it is hard to believe the main character is 40 years old. She is so naive that it feels like she is stupid in a lot of ways. For this reason, it was a little difficult believing that she was the one to solve the crime.

However, the characters that surround her are interesting. The setting, Las Vegas, and the poker games were fascinating. While the main character was a little flat, everything else managed to liven her up. I was surprised to find that I was actually wanting more when I finished this book, because I can't stand poker.


Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 6/17/2006


Sookie Stackhouse #6

Now I don't feel so bad about the Sookie/Bill breakup. Things with the Pelts are finally resolved. Sookie visits with the Queen.


The Disgraced Marchioness (Faringdon Scandals, Bk 1) (Harlequin Historical, No 770)
Review Date: 3/29/2006


From the back:

SHOCKING!
Henry Faringdon, the new Marquis of Burford, returns home and makes a shocking discovery. On his departure to America, his brother Thomas has married the woman who'd stolen Henry's heart - the alluring Miss Eleanor Stamford.
OUTRAGEOUS!
Now a widow, with a babe in arms, Eleanor is as dismayed to see Henry as he is to see her. Even more so when a gentleman arrives announcing his sister to be the true marchioness, claiming she married Thomas in the secret years before!
SCANDALOUS!
Embroiled in a scandal that could ultimately lead to Eleanor's disgrace, it is up to the Faringdons to uncover the truth behind such wicked allegations...to clear their family name...and to rekindle the love of a man and a woman...


A Dose of Murder (Pauline Sokol, Bk 1)
A Dose of Murder (Pauline Sokol, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Avocato
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 6/2/2006


Pauline Sokol #1

Imagine Stephanie Plum with a nursing degree and all Ranger all the time. Kinda mind blowing.


21 to 40 of 141 - Page: