Marj C. (Marjel) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 1/30/2007


A Cedar Grove story. Justine and Seth Gunderson lost their restaurant The Lighthouse to arson but life in Cedar Grove goes on and so do the Gunderson's.


838 WAYS TO AMUSE A CHILD
838 WAYS TO AMUSE A CHILD
Author: JUNE JOHNSON
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 9/23/2006


This book has been in my family since it was published in 1960. My mother used it with my younger siblings and I used it with my son who is now 29. The front cover says it all "Complete, easy-to follow directios for craft ideas including weaving, sculpting, leatherwork, designing and creating with paper, scissors and paste, flower arranging, painting, experiments in astronomy, understanding geology and geography, ideas for the car and the sickroom."


Analog Science Fiction and Fact
Analog Science Fiction and Fact
Author: various
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/12/2007


This is the August 1995 issue.


The Architect  (Frank Clevenger, Bk 6)
The Architect (Frank Clevenger, Bk 6)
Author: Keith Ablow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 12/23/2006


It's easy to build a house of your dreams out of a mess. Why not build a family of your dreams out a mess. The Architect will do it all - even if you don't.
A good read - A good mystery.


The Bandit Queen of India : One Woman's Heroic Journey from Victim to Vindicator
Review Date: 4/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a hard read because of the true story. It is inconceivable that people live and are treated this way in today's India but it does. I think everyone including our politicos should be ordered to read this book.


Beyond The Limit  (Morgan's Mercenaries, Bk 30)
Beyond The Limit (Morgan's Mercenaries, Bk 30)
Author: Lindsay McKenna
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 3/18/2007


From the book: He's tackled tough military projects in hoy spots around the globe...but Marine engineer Major Pete Trayhern has never face anything as challenging as civilian Calandra Roland. Attractive and vivacious, shes definitely not the kind of person he thought would be in charge of building a crucial power station in war-torn Afghanistan. Since they have to work together smoothly, Pete is determined to ignore the instant sparks between them.


The Chosen
The Chosen
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 6/11/2006


Classed as a romantic suspense it could also be a horror. Not be read alone at night - you'll find yourself jumping at every little noise.


Code Name: Princess (Code Name, Bk 2)
Code Name: Princess (Code Name, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 11/15/2006


This is Ms.Skye's second "Code Name:" book.


Contract Bridge Blue Book of 1933
Contract Bridge Blue Book of 1933
Author: Ely Culbertson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2010


The rules of Contract Bridge haven't changed much or at all over the years. This is the quintessential rules book that everyone's grandparents or in some cases great-grandparents used when they met every weekend for Bridge. From the date and the number of translations cited this is probably the same book that Omar Sharif used to become the Champion Bridge player he was.


Criminal Intent
Criminal Intent
Author: Laurie Breton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 6/11/2006


Robin Spinney finds out that there is no one she can turn to when her policeman husband supposedly committs suicide and then his partner supposedly does the same after she asks him for help. Even changing her name and moving 1,000 miles away with her small daughter doesn't help. Like the review on the back says - "You can run but you can't hide".
I really enjoyed this romantic suspense - it is a quick read - one day if you have all day or a weekend if there's nothing good on TV.


Cutline
Cutline
Author: Bonnie Hearn Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/3/2007


This the second novel in a new series featuring newspaper reporter Geri LaRue.


Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1257
Review Date: 3/6/2007


This the first book in her Three Sisters Island trilogy.


The Delilah Complex (Butterfield Institute, Bk 2)
The Delilah Complex (Butterfield Institute, Bk 2)
Author: M. J. Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/11/2006


This is the second in M.J. Rose's Butterfield Institute series. For those who have read the Halo Effect - Dr. Morgan Snow is back, and so is Detective Noah Jordain. I think I have the Halo Effect stashed somewhere on my bookshelves - if I can find it I'll post it too. Can't wait for the next book - Venus Fix.


The Duke and I (Bridgerton, Bk 1)
The Duke and I (Bridgerton, Bk 1)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 685
Review Date: 9/12/2006


What starts out as a sham courtship begins to become the real thing for Daphne Bridgerton, will Simon Basset realize it too?


Dune Messiah
Dune Messiah
Author: Frank Herbert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/28/2006


Even though Herbert first wrote the DUNE trilogy beginning in 1969 it is one of the classics of Science Fiction that will never be forgotten.


Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver, Bk 1)
Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver, Bk 1)
Author: Aaron J. Elkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/3/2007


This one has a sticker that states "Autographed Copy" and there is a signature inside.


Flirting With Disaster (Low Country, Bk 2)
Flirting With Disaster (Low Country, Bk 2)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 8/2/2006


This is the sequel to "The Backup Plan". It's Maggie Forsythe's time to find love in the South Carolina Low Country.


Fools Rush In
Fools Rush In
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 3/18/2007


Millie Barnes is close to achieving her perfect life with her high school crush. Then her ex-brother-in-law is beginning to distract her. He is definitely not part of her master plan but then plans have been known to change.


Galaxy, Incorporating Word of IF
Galaxy, Incorporating Word of IF
Author: Various
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/12/2007


This is the July 1977 issue.


Gentlemen Prefer Succubi (Succubus Diaries, Bk 1)
Gentlemen Prefer Succubi (Succubus Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Myles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 4/12/2010


Was really disappointed in this one. It seems like Miss Myles is trying to emulate MaryJanice Davidson. Unfortunately Jackie Brighton is not and never will be a Betsy. Even my friend Holly, who lives for these types, was disappointed and decided not to even try to get the sequel.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: