Kenneth H. (Threewheeler) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
America at Twelve Miles an Hour: A View from the Edge of the Road
America at Twelve Miles an Hour: A View from the Edge of the Road
Author: Phil Shrout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/29/2014


Local couple makes good! These people give a good first hand account of traveling across the country under their own power. By bike. Their impressions about the people they met and the conditions along the way are so very interesting to those of us who like to ride but will never be able withstand the rigors of the trip.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 9/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Readers digest condensed books would reject this book. At one third the average word count of other Patricia Cornwell books, this is unacceptable. Little or no character development and poor plot make it difficult to follow the characters that are there. Empty pages and little substance are not worthy of her reputation. I looked through book 2, The Front, and more of the same. " Quicksilver, cut to the bone style " as stated on the back cover of book 2 reminds me more of the "dime novels" about the old west.


The Big Necessity: The Unmentionable World of Human Waste and Why It Matters
Review Date: 3/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


One of the topics that many of us are curious about, but never talk or ask about. Discover customs and huge problems around the world. Billions of people create, well, you know what, and in in an immense quantity. What to do? Read this book and you will at least be much better informed.


Bless This House
Bless This House
Author: Norah Robinson Lofts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/5/2011


A historical novel worthy to be kept in the same high regard as Rutherfurd books Russka and Sarum. Nearly four hundred years of continuous occupation of a significant English tudor home complete with interlocking stories of many of its families. This book, over fifty years old already, neither has, nor needs, any "modern" technology to bring the reader comfortably into the collective story. Not a large work but crafted so very well.


The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
The Chase (Isaac Bell, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 1/7/2010


Some of the technology accuracy seems to me to be suspect. However, he remains a great story teller. It's a good account of the great San Francisco earthquake as a plot turn in the story. Interesting, to say the least.


The Corvette Black Book, 1953-1992
The Corvette Black Book, 1953-1992
Author: Michael Antonick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/12/2009


This book was a gift to a grandson. I did not read it. To satisfy the system I must rate it. So be it.


Daughter of Fortune
Daughter of Fortune
Author: Isabel Allende, Margaret Sayers Peden (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 360
Review Date: 2/17/2011


Long on character development, short on plot. I thought it was a rush to finish at the end. Having said that, it was an excellent read as to a story of the gold rush from a previously unexplored direction. Instead of a story of the gold rush itself we have a small cast of characters from South America and China caught up in an all too brief and intense period of real american history. Oprah was right, it's an excellent read.


Far North
Far North
Author: Will Hobbs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


For those of us who like to read about overcoming great odds in extreme situations, this is a welcome addition. The setting in the Northwest territory of Canada is a mental image feast. The abilites and courage of the characters are well put. A little on the short side but I liked it.


Gone For Soldiers
Gone For Soldiers
Author: Jeff Shaara
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/22/2009


A story wrapped around a war you already know some things about. A cast of characters that you know well. And yet, you find out you really didn't know anything about this "war" against Mexico. Many of the historical people that you know so well actually weren't always enemies but contemporaries and even friends caught up in a "situation" brought about by politics and greed. And, even better, it works so very well. Through very real historical facts sprinkled in the stories (I'm reading all of them), Jeff Shaara is teaching me much about american history. And, I thought I was reasonably well read on this subject especially our war history. Once again it demonstrates to me that historical fiction well done, teaches what you can't get from the "history" books. A flavor for a period, what people were like and how they actually lived, not just the facts of what they did. Look him up and don't forget his dads book "Killer Angels" the story of Joshua Chamberlain and the Battle of Gettysburg.


The House of God: The Classic Novel of Life and Death in an American Hospital
The House of God: The Classic Novel of Life and Death in an American Hospital
Author: Samuel Shem
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/13/2010


It's good. I didn't want to make a review, but it wouldnt go away. Sorry.


In The Neighborhood: The Search for Community on an American Street, One Sleepover at a Time
Review Date: 8/27/2010


Such a small book and yet, a book with great power. If you are open to books about real people and how we all live in this world, you also may find your heart touched as I have. I found myself thinking that I recognized people like those that I have known in places where I have lived. At times in this reading I stopped and said aloud to myself "Hey, I get it! I never thoght about it that way, but I understand what he is saying here." We all are admonished to "stop and smell the roses" but, we also should take the time to get past the "hi/goodbye" passing of two people and start to talk to and learn about each other. We may just discover that some people around us are priceless and can give us the lasting gift of friendship.


Introducing . . . Sasha Abramowitz
Introducing . . . Sasha Abramowitz
Author: Sue Halpern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/29/2009


This book was sent to my grandson. He said he liked it. What more can I say/


John Ransom's Andersonville Diary/Life Inside the Civil War's Most Infamous Prison
Review Date: 7/10/2009


Many accounts of atrocities commited during wars are denied, discounted or at best portrayed as overexaggerated. This account cannot be denied as true. It is well documented and even includes a report from a Confederate States medical official who conducted his own inspection of this facility. If we examine this compelling issue as only a problem of CSA treatment, we miss the fact that poor nutrition and treatment occured on both sides of the conflict.

Let us not forget that these actions were not at the hands of our enemy but, rather at the hand of our brother. Humane treatment and respect for dignity must be as closely guarded as is our freedom.


The Last Policeman (Last Policeman, Bk 1)
The Last Policeman (Last Policeman, Bk 1)
Author: Ben H. Winters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/18/2014


I really like end of the world/civilization stories. This is a good scenario. However, I would prefer more detail about the developing asteroid crisis and less about the fixation of the young officer.


My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time
My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time
Author: Liz Jensen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/26/2009


This book reminds me of the TV series - Dr. no. Only not nearly as good. All time travel stories share a common need for a stretch in plausability. This one seems to have almost none. You can't take your machine with you and must have a machine wherever you travel to in order to get back. Or, maybe not if you can align yourself along a meridian at the precise time of a disturbance in space/time. Nah! This falls way down my list of time travel reads. At the end I had to ask myself "was it really worth the journey?"


The Path Between The Seas: The Creation of the Panama Canal, 1870-1914
Review Date: 3/4/2010


This is a very good David McCullough book. A fascinating topic and look into Governmental interaction politicaly, internationaly and public /private business. It is a little heavy on the French history compared to the american involvement. He writes mostly based on the people involved. I would have preferred more information on the actual building of the dams and the locks specifically. However, it is as usual, a very good read.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1159
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 4


A great read sometimes requires a great deal of detail and reality. Follett delivers in quantity in this, my favorite KF novel. Also one my all time favorites by any author. He delivers a "feel" for the time period that no amount of non-fiction reading can give.


The Plot to Seize the White House: The Shocking True Story of the Conspiracy to Overthrow FDR
Review Date: 2/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was of interest to me because of a continuing personal interest in conspiracy theories.


The Ragman's Son
The Ragman's Son
Author: Kirk Douglas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/3/2011


This is a good book especially, if you are interested in all his movies, even the ones you have never heard of. How he actually got into such a brutal selection process industry and the eventual impact that he had upon the business, is a plus. A peek into the personal relationships with others I enjoyed as well.


Return for Confederate Victory
Return for Confederate Victory
Author: Bradley Burch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


In one word... lame. To read time travel books one naturally has to suspend your reliance on reality. However, unless the book is pure fantasy, an author must maintain some semblance of reality to the time period. You may expect the reader to believe in transporting modern weapons and technology to the past but, small groups of travelers cannot operate them in 1847-1858. They could not build naval bases and launch warships or launch satellites and use cell phones all in ten years or less without supporting machinery, skilled craftsmen and technology. No matter how much "knowledge" was taken with them. This book is then a joke.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: