Sarah A. (acton) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 1/30/2012


This book is all over the place. A new setting almost every chapter, along with new characters. I never saw one character long enough to care what happened to him. It just didn't hold my interest.


Amusing Ourselves to Death: Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Postman is brilliant. This one is really eye-opening.


The Bonfire of the Vanities
The Bonfire of the Vanities
Author: Tom Wolfe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 1/31/2012


Although this was good, it was too much of everything. It took me forever to finish because I was not enthralled start to finish.


Cujo
Cujo
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 1/31/2012


Classic King.


Dark Visions: The Strange Power / The Possessed / The Passion
Dark Visions: The Strange Power / The Possessed / The Passion
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I thought this was three separate short novels, but it's three parts of the same story line with the same characters. It definitely wasn't Smith's best. I enjoyed the Night World series more. However, it was interesting enough to keep me reading and to make me want to know how it all turned out. Overall, worth the read.


Darker Angels (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 2)
Darker Angels (Black Sun's Daughter, Bk 2)
Author: M. L. N. Hanover
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/30/2012


Although I enjoyed this one a little less than the first, it really pulled me further into the series. I just love all the characters!


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Interesting start to the series. I'm ready for the rest of them.


Firelight (Darkest London, Bk 1)
Firelight (Darkest London, Bk 1)
Author: Kristen Callihan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Really great series. Loved this one!


Frankenstein
Frankenstein
Author: Mary Shelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/31/2012


This was repetitive. Same language, same justifications from Victor. Victor is so unlikable. Not much to enjoy.


Gerald's Game
Gerald's Game
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 547
Review Date: 3/13/2012


This freaked me out. It stayed with me LONG after I put it down.


Lord of the Flies
Lord of the Flies
Author: William Golding
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1777
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Classic that is completely worth the read. Golding is a brilliant writer!


Michelangelo: The Vatican Frescoes
Michelangelo: The Vatican Frescoes
Author: Pierluigi De Vecchi, Gianluigi Colalucci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2012


Beautiful, amazing book!


Misery
Misery
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 449
Review Date: 1/31/2012


Worth every second.


Nightfall (Vampire Diaries: The Return, Bk 1)
Nightfall (Vampire Diaries: The Return, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/30/2012


Not nearly as engaging as the original series. Though it seemed like there was plenty of action, the action never truly pulled me in; the whole thing felt dull.


The Power and the Glory
The Power and the Glory
Author: Graham Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Brilliantly written and crafted story!


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 1/31/2012


This book got much better as it went. I enjoyed the book much better once she went off to college.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 1/30/2012


This book reminds me what a good book can feel like. I loved every second of it! I tell everyone who will listen how amazing it is.


Words Fail  Me: What Everyone Who Writes     Should Know about Writing
Review Date: 3/13/2012


This is the super basics of writing. Great for a beginner, too elementary for someone who's been at it for a while.


1 to 18 of 18