Suzanne S. (sslowe) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 2/1/2011


Though not as detailed as "under the banner of heaven" it was a good follow up, it covered much of the same history of the Mormon faith, though not in perhaps as un-biased a fashion.


The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 1/24/2017
Helpful Score: 1


this was a fun light weight book. it went easily from past to present which I usually don't like. and the entire back-story about the women pilots was delightful


And Ladies of the Club
And Ladies of the Club
Author: Helen Hooven Santmyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/3/2010


This book came highly recommended by my sister. I could not get through it. I keep telling myself that I will go back to it and try from where I left off, but it is probably too big for that to ever happen.


The Arabian Nights : The Marvels and Wonders of the Thousand and One Nights
Review Date: 1/24/2017


finally, I read this all of the way through. it got more racy towards the end, and of course many of the stories are familiar, but it did end up having a sense of sameness


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 5/14/2012


trying to read all 25 books from world book night...I guess this would be more appreciated by someone from a small town or the south, or both...it was cute


Blood Work (Terry McCaleb, Bk 1)
Blood Work (Terry McCaleb, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 11/13/2016


*


Bloody Times: The Funeral of Abraham Lincoln and the Manhunt for Jefferson Davis
Review Date: 10/10/2014


a good summary for a pre-teen of the end of the civil war


Breath: A Lifetime in the Rhythm of an Iron Lung: A Memoir
Breath: A Lifetime in the Rhythm of an Iron Lung: A Memoir
Author: Martha Mason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/3/2012


If there were no pictures it would be easy to think of Martha as just a regular person with all the abilities that we have.


Bridge of Sighs
Bridge of Sighs
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 5/30/2012


I did not find the protagonist sympathetic. I could not bond with him and therefore the book was very tedious for me.


Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 4)
Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 4)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/11/2018


Tana French came through again for me. She is so excellent, I don't know why I don't read more books in the genre, I guess she has spoiled them for me.


Carolina Clay: The Life and Legend of the Slave Potter Dave
Carolina Clay: The Life and Legend of the Slave Potter Dave
Author: Leonard Todd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2011


A beautiful introduction to slavery and it's impact. It started a conversation between my husband and my siblings (we are from Indiana) that is now leading us into more interest in the Civil War, just in time. Mr. Todd writes evocatively of the life and times of mid century South Carolina and the store in well balanced on both sides of the equation.


A Coffin for Dimitrios (aka The Mask of Dimitrios) (Charles Latimer, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/12/2011


A great detective story written before it got common-place for the innocent man to be thrust into the way of danger (a la Dan Brown).


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 10/8/2016


I wasn't sure I would like it but I was sucked in quickly. Verghese has such a smooth writing style, it was very difficult to put down as he sequed so easily from one scene to the ncxt.


Defending Jacob
Defending Jacob
Author: William Landay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 6/9/2016


I couldn't put this down...it went so swiftly. I did find the grand jury investigation a little intrusive because I did not know where the author was going with it and I felt it had little to do with advancing the plot...was I ever wrong!


Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Author: Alfred Lansing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/31/2012


absolutely fantastic recounting of a truly amazing time in our history...reminded me of the Lost City of Z, which had the same type characters who refused to give up. of course, the ending was much more positive.


Enrique's Journey
Enrique's Journey
Author: Sonia Nazario
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/28/2011


What an interesting, explicit tale. This book elicited more discussion at my meeting than we have had in quite a while. Usually we just disintegrate into personal stuff.


Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 3)
Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 3)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/23/2013


I love Tana French. She develops her characters so well and keeps you guessing until the very end. I can't wait to get her next book.


Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon
Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon
Author: Jorge Amado
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/22/2011


So well written and evocative. If it wasn't so long, I'd read it again, but I have many more things to get through on my book shelf.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1398
Review Date: 9/5/2011


Absolutely loved this book...I style was very different, in that it was letters between the author and other characters, but it told the entire story so well...you didn't need to know what went on in between to get the entire picture.


Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany
Review Date: 2/19/2011


I have always had a curiosity about how a restaurant kitchen works. While this book did not satisfy that curiousity completely, it gave me more insight.


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: