Jenifer W. (avsjen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is, hands down, one of the best books I've read in a long time. It's a complex layering of mysteries (one a murder spree) and secrets that slowly is revealed to the reader. Highly recommended; subject matter may be difficult for some (about child abuse).


Chopping Spree (Goldy Schulz, Bk 11) (Large Print)
Chopping Spree (Goldy Schulz, Bk 11) (Large Print)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/14/2005


This is a large-print book


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 8/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best fiction books I've read in a very long time. A fabulously detailed story of Victorian England. Highly recommended.


The Egyptologist
The Egyptologist
Author: Arthur Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very different read -- written through letters spanning several decades from very different people -- the 1920s explorer, the 1920s fiancee back in the States, the overbearing future US 1920s father-in-law, the 1950s Australian private eye...Dry humor and very interesting characters. Really don't know how it all fits in together until the end. Recommended!


The Glass Castle : A Memoir
The Glass Castle : A Memoir
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 5/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A fascinating glimpse into the lives of young children whose parents live according to their own rules, often without regard for the children's welfare. Yet, somehow, this book is realistic without being depressing.


The Ice Queen
The Ice Queen
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 8/4/2006


A wonderful parable, a novel story.


Jack & Jill (Alex Cross, Bk 3)
Jack & Jill (Alex Cross, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 12/10/2005


Another great one from James Patterson; I love the way Alex Cross (the main character) thinks and talks to the reader. Always a great twist at the end!


Kansas: Off the Beaten Path (2nd Edition)
Kansas: Off the Beaten Path (2nd Edition)
Author: Patti Delano, Cathy Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/27/2006


This is a great little guide for finding great, un-touristy places in the "wild territory" of Kansas. Great fun!


The Known World
The Known World
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 13


Pulitzer Prize winner for 2004, this book is a rich portrayal of slavery and free blacks during the mid-1800s in the US. No Civil War militaria, this book is a profound and deep look of the lives of slaves and their masters--some of whom are black. Left me thinking of the characters long after finishing the book.


The Memoirs of Cleopatra
The Memoirs of Cleopatra
Author: Margaret George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 1/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


As always, Margaret George envelopes the reader in sounds, smells, and sights of the world she describes. I learned a lot from this book and enjoyed every word!


Mrs. Kimble
Mrs. Kimble
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 11/27/2005


I literally couldn't put this book down; I read it straight through (til about 3AM!). A fascinating look at how three quite different women marry the same man, a man in the end the reader knows very little about. I would highly recommend it.


Pope Joan
Pope Joan
Author: Donna Woolfolk Cross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 11/20/2005
Helpful Score: 12


As the author says, this is a fictionalized account of a much-disputed event in the 800s, definitely the Dark Ages. Joan's life was hard, as was that of most women's. The things we take for granted now were beyond a dream for most women (and men) in those days.

I thought the author wrote well, and I had a hard time putting it down. This is apparently the author's only fiction book, which is too bad; I would gladly read another of hers.


Predator  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Predator (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 509
Review Date: 11/25/2005


Having read all of the Scarpetta novels, I found this one took a bit of time to get into. The first 100 or so pages are unconnected to each other, but after that, the plot takes off and the threads are connected. Not as much of a thriller as previous books.


Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 11/4/2006


A good read and a likable protagonist in Myron Bolitar. Recommended!


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3395
Review Date: 8/15/2006


A wonderful, detailed look at the life of women in the time of Jacob. Highly recommended.


A Redbird Christmas
A Redbird Christmas
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 12/9/2005


This is a delightful little book, perfect for this time of year -- light and easy to read with lots of "feel good" material. I've not read many of Fannie Flagg's books, but this was just lovely.


The Scorpion's Gate
The Scorpion's Gate
Author: Richard A. Clarke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A fascinating look into the politics of the Middle East's religious beliefs and oil wealth. An honest look at what has motivated the US and other countries, which is to say not always a flattering look, from insider Richard A. Clarke, who has worked in intelligence and counterterrorism for several US administrations. This is a fiction book, but one gets the sense that it is just barely fiction. Very timely.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5487
Review Date: 1/12/2006


A wonderful story that pulls you in from the first page. I couldn't put it down!


The Shadow of the Wind
The Shadow of the Wind
Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Lucia Graves (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Rich, rich novel full of texture and description. Highly recommended.


Silk Road
Silk Road
Author: Jeanne Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/10/2006


"An entrancing, many-layered tale painted with the delicacy of a Chinese landscape....In evoking the life of eighth-century China, its poetry and legends, its resonance and richness, Silk Road is a complete joy to read." --New York Newsday


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: