Reviews - Linda M. (lindina2)

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 11/14/2011
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'm really sorry this is the last Cedar Cove book, although this one was definitely not up to Cedar Cove standards. I do love getting updates on characters from previous books in series, but this one was a syopsis of every previous book, not just an update. I was disappointed, to say the least, but I still liked it. Everybody is neatly tied up in ribbon, but there was just too much backstory. Maybe Debbie Macomber was tired of writing them and tried to get a pricey holiday book out. She did, but not up to her usual good stories. I felt kind of cheated since so much of it was over-redundant, but the updates were good."


Austin (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 13)
Austin (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 13)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 7/10/2010


"I hate having to wait until March 2011 for another part to the Creed/McKittrick family story. Austin was a very enjoyable ending to the trilogy, tying up all the loose ends
that began back with Tate.

Linda Lael Miller's characters sizzle and make me wish there really were men like these
(although they probably don't hang up their towels either)."


Bed of Roses (Wedding Quartet, Bk 2)
Bed of Roses (Wedding Quartet, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 558
Review Date: 6/26/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I love weddings, especially other people's. This whole series has been a happy, delightful experience.

Emma, the flower partner, has a fun story with Jack. The people are real (if maybe just too talented to be real), but I have fallen in love with all 4 couples. I have learned a lot about flower arranging and creativity while reading a wonderful series.

I cry at weddings. I cried when I read the 4th of the series. I just wish we could experience the other 3 weddings! Maybe Nora Roberts will give us one last extra Happy Ever After to cover weddings, even better if it ties in with baby showers.

I recommend this whole series to romantic readers who just like feel good, laugh and shed a tear stories. They're even better getting them from PBS. The paperbacks retail for $16. Worth it, too."


Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth
Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 7/5/2010


"5th time grandma, I was posting this for my daughter along with all her other pregnancy books (she says this is an only child). Belly Laughs is fun, common sense and really does tell you how it is. It's quick to read and pulls no punches. She talks with
humor about all the things you really don't think will happen, but most likely will. The list for husbands at the back belongs on his must read list!

I do recommend this for first time pregnant moms or anyone with a close family member expecting a baby. Dads would benefit a lot from reading this, and since the author is
such a hottie and the book is short, maybe dad's can tear themselves away from the TV remote to learn a thing or two about what to expect!"


Between Midnight And Morning (Desire)
Between Midnight And Morning (Desire)
Author: Cindy Gerard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/1/2012


"I thoroughly enjoyed this hunky cowboy romance story. Although Cindy Gerard always has great hero-type men, this time it's a cowboy rancher with a secret - PSTD. He keeps asking the new vet out, but she turns him down. He doesn't know she's been a widow for 4 years and is still in love with her husband and has given up big city life to fulfill her late husband's dream of small town Montana. The scenery is so real I can almost see it, and it makes me want to visit for myself, even without a gorgeous cowboy. There's humor, friendship, sex and romance packed-a-plenty in this book, and I recommend it."


Big Sky Country (Parable, Montana, Bk 1)
Big Sky Country (Parable, Montana, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 6/16/2012


"Loved this book! Great new characters, and August seems like such a long wait for the next book...and January for the final is way too far off, but then I'll be done and sorry to have to leave Parable and it's fun, complex citizens.

After what had happened in the past, I found Joslyn's return to Parable odd, as did everyone who knew her. It was one thing for her to sell her business and liquidate her assets to repay the people who had lost money due to her scheming step-father. To move back was kind of hard to believe. But if she hadn't, then we would be missing getting to know Sheriff Slade Barlow and his half-brother, Hutch Carmody. I was taken with Slade's mother, Callie and his daughter Shea, plus the dog and cat, and ended up wondering why Lucy-Maude hadn't had her kittens, and wanting more Shea. She's such a great typical teen, rolling eyes and all.

I definitely recommend this. I don't think I have ever not loved a Linda Lael Miller book, and this horsey-western made for some lovely summer afternoon reading!
Living in Texas, I normally dread August, but this year I have a treat waiting for me...so hurry up and get here. I want more Parable!"


Big Sky River (Parable, Montana, Bk 3)
Big Sky River (Parable, Montana, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 3/18/2013


"I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic book - the redneck sheriff and the hot chicken farmer, along with the characters living in Parable. I have really enjoyed this series and have become very fond of the residents and characters. Linda Lael Miller's one of my favorite authors, and I love her series books. I fall in love every single time. I hope we haven't seen the last of Parable It's been great to revisit the other couples and see what is new in their lives, too."


Cowboy, Take Me Away (Harlequin Special Edition, No 2113)
Cowboy, Take Me Away (Harlequin Special Edition, No 2113)
Author: Kathleen Eagle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/8/2012


"Hot Cowboy! Rodeo Rider! Wild Mustang! Lovely Widow! Series Story! All things that make for a very enjoyable read. I have been interested and somewhat involved in the plight of the American mustang plight, and the Double D Sanctuary series has been very good reading. Although I've been reading these out of order, they all stand alone but will make you want to seek out the rest of the series. The Logan way of horse taming is back in this book. The widow is, of course, beautiful. The cowboy fills his jeans just right. They are both dysfunctional, which helps keep people this good looking human. I recommend this - great book for the plane, beach or pool, especially if you like horses."


Dark Predator (Carpathian, Bk 22)
Dark Predator (Carpathian, Bk 22)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/15/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Although I had thoroughly enjoyed Feehan's Ghostwalkers and Drake Sisters series, I was not going to read the vampire series. Sure, I enjoyed the Twilight books, and I liked Linda Lael Miller's and Nora Roberts' vampire books, but generally vampires just don't do it for me. However, I read The Scarlatti Curse and Lair of the Lion and enjoyed them and found out that they connect to Dark Symphony. (The glaring issue of lions in the first two and leopards in Dark Symphony has me confused. I like continuity. I needed to read it, and that started the journey to find and read all the Dark series books (which are about vampire hunters--the good guys--instead of vampires). I didn't read them in order, and although I had a hard time getting into the first leopard book, I did end up liking them all.

I find the reviews complaining about the lack of dialog are missing the point that Marguarita cannot speak because her throat was ripped out by a vampire in an earlier book when Zacarias saved her life. She and Zacarias communicate through thoughts, hence there isn't much talking in the book. It is kind of weird reading thoughts, but at least they are in italics so I could tell they were communicating.

Zacarias isn't a nice guy and he knows it. Margaurita's not much of a role model for women. Her goal to "save" him at any cost, did kind of get on my nerves, especially when he is abusive to her. I have known (and been) too many women who think meet a man and think they can fix him or change him. She's determined to save him, and in real life this is a situation that is not going to have a happy ending. I hate thinking that because Margaurita and Zacarias have a fairy tale ending that other women will think it can happen for them, too. When Zacarias gets on a horse for the first time and is racing across the fields soaring over fences, I was disappointed in Ms Feehan. Although I realize this is fiction (and fantasy), sailing over fences bareback is something only experienced riders can do. I felt that particular scene, as pretty as it was, didn't belong. In reality you'd end up with a broken neck in the dirt and a broken heart to go with it.

Overall I enjoyed the book. I didn't like it as much as her earlier books, but perhaps she's having a hard time coming up with fresh stories considering this is #22 in the Dark series and the Leopard series crosses over, too, as they all relate to the Prince. Maybe she has too many series in the pot for one author).
I'd have liked it better if it had been in paperback. I'm not sure it deserved to be issued in hardback, and perhaps this is the book that has convinced me to get Kindle. Even though the "hero" isn't so magically wonderful as some of her other characters, I'm glad he didn't burn up in the sun and has his happy-ever-after lifemate. I hope Christine Feehan isn't planning on ending the Dark series. There are still characters who need their lifemates and I need to read their stories, and I'll probably be still buying them as they come out because her stories are too good to wait!"


Easy Beaded Crochet
Easy Beaded Crochet
Author: Carol Meldrum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/26/2011


"I purchased this as a gift for a friend who said she was just learning to crochet with beads. I had mentioned seeing it on PBS, and asked me to find out about it. It really is great for beginners! I have made a few basic stitch afghans over the years, and this book shows clearly how to do the stitches and how to incorporate beads. There are some very cute items to make, from coasters to purses to scarves and sweaters. My friend loves this book. I hope someday I get a curly scarf with bead accents."


Ecstasy Untamed (Feral Warriors, Bk 6)
Ecstasy Untamed (Feral Warriors, Bk 6)
Author: Pamela Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/14/2012
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Pamela Palmer is one of the better writers of shape-changer romance thrillers. I have loved every one of her books, and Hawke's story was worth the wait. Characters and very likeable, and the villain, Maxim, is appropriately evil and detestable.

I enjoy good series, and Pamela Palmer is as good as they get. If you like Cherry Adair, Cindy Gerard, Christine Feehan and Laura Adrian, then these Feral Warriors will be a feast for your reading pleasure."


Forever and Always (Buckhorn Brothers) Gabe / Jordan
Forever and Always (Buckhorn Brothers) Gabe / Jordan
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/16/2012


"It's been a long time since I had read anything by Lori Foster, but I really enjoyed discovering this book. I envy the big, close family and enjoyed the interaction between the family members, including little Amber's words of wisdom.
Women may wish to be loved like these guys love their women, but perhaps men should read the book find out what many of us want."


Future Perfect
Future Perfect
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 1/28/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this sweet little book! It's a definite change of pace from Suzanne Brockmann's usual great hero stories, but it was a fun, quick read, and I even got teary - I'm a total sucker for true love and childbirth. The guy on the cover's not bad, either!"


Gabe (Buckhorn Brothers, Bk 3)
Gabe (Buckhorn Brothers, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 3/20/2012


"Be still my heart! The Buckhorn brothers are just the hottest good-old-boys in fiction. Such a shame they aren't real. They're hotter than hot, true gentlemen, they all have many redeeming qualities. Lori Foster gives Gabe a great sense of humor, and despite his awesome physical qualities, he's also loyal, giving and enjoying just being Gabe. He's even a real hero, although he denies saving lives is anything special. When a not-his-type redhead enters his life, the hero
side just can't help save her. It's a fun story, very entertaining, and I just recently discovered these Buckhorn men. I'll sure be sorry when I get their books read."


Garrett (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 12)
Garrett (McKettricks of Texas, Bk 12)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 7/2/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It is too bad men like Garrett and his brothers exist only in Linda Lael Miller's imagination. Garrett's too good to be true. A rich, educated, handsome, Porsche-driving cowboy who falls in love with Julie's 4 yr old son and 3-legged dog as much as with her.
Where were men like this when I was a young single mother? In my imagination. It's a refreshing change from testosterone-overloaded Seal-types from Suzanne Brockmann and genetically enhanced or vampires from Christine Feehan, but I thoroughly enjoyed Garrett and Julie. I am a fan of stories that connect family characters, and the McKettrick clan
have been a very nice escape!

I've never met a Linda Lael Miller man I didn't like, nor have I ever not read a book of hers that I didn't like a lot. I appreciate the great sex that leaves a lot more to my imagination than to the written word, too. I know the sex was excellent, but I appreciate the fact that it's not so graphic that I'd be embarrassed to carry this book to my Sunday school class.

I'm waiting for Austin and Paige, last of the trilogy. Their story is working up to being another fun read."


Happy Ever After (Bride Quartet, Bk 4)
Happy Ever After (Bride Quartet, Bk 4)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 386
Review Date: 6/26/2011


"I just loved this whole series. I like all the couples, and I like weddings, as long as they aren't mine. I did learn a lot about weddings, planning, decorating, etc.
I laughed, I cried, and I even believed in Happy Ever After. If you're looking for romantic reading, I highly recommend all 4 of these.

These are a great change from vampires and heroes. They are fun, happy and easy reading."


Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 12/17/2012


"I really enjoyed this book. I'm new to Jill Shalvis, but I want to read the rest of the Lucky Harbor books. I really like the characters and the way their individual personalities come through. They're either super likeable or super dislikable - but they make for a fun book to curl up with."


Hush (Lodestone, Bk 1)
Hush (Lodestone, Bk 1)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 5/18/2011


"A new series! I love Cherry Adair characters, and Zak and Acadia are funny and hot. As always, the sex is plentiful (and can't blame this pair). The Venezuelan jungle description almost made me want to visit (minus the baddies). I look forward to the next Lodestone book.

I have no idea why the cover title pictured isn't the title of the book.

This really is a great summer fun read."


Just One Of The Guys
Just One Of The Guys
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 11/28/2011


"Feel good romance! I really enjoyed this book, but my first complaint is that Buttercup (Chastity's dog) is not a Basset hound. I wish the cover really did have Buttercup's picture because I have trouble imagining a part Bloodhound/Great Dane/Bull Mastiff, even though the dog's a delightful, lovable character. The other characters are great, too, and it's an engaging, fun story. It's a nice change to read a book with plenty of sex but none of it graphic. I've given up on some authors because the sex scenes are just too graphic.

Higgins' characters are always so good, and this is no exception. I really recommend this book for fun reading!"


Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 610
Review Date: 5/3/2010


"Hated to finish the story of Tess and Dante. Good characters and the Breed stories are all good ones."


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: