Charlene V. (Workmom1) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 150 - Page:
24-Hour Quilts
24-Hour Quilts
Author: Rita Weiss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Has some simple but lovely quilts that you can make in absolutely no time. I've made two from this book already and really enjoyed it but I have other patterns and books I'm using right now and won't be making any more from this book. Its good for beginner and expert alike.


301 Country Christmas Quilt Blocks
301 Country Christmas Quilt Blocks
Author: Cheri Saffiote
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/8/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I bought this book at least a year ago and have not made anything from it. I liked it at the time but just am not interested in the 'country' look. I know this is very popular with others but just not my style. I does have very nice patterns in this book and anyone who likes 'country' will love it. None are really all that difficult and there are plenty of ideas in this book to make anyone happy with it.


The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
The Accidental Florist (Jane Jeffry, Bk 16)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/6/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I have like all of Jill Churchill's Jane Jeffry's mysteries but I am disappointed in this one. It just isn't up to the rest of them. I think maybe she should just wait a bit for the next one to really get back to the fun of these stories.


Aishiteruze Baby (Vol 1)
Aishiteruze Baby (Vol 1)
Author: Yoko Maki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/16/2012


This series is really enjoyable. The main character, Kippei Katakura, is a teenage boy who doesn't take anything, including girls, seriously and like to play around. All that changes when he has to take care of Yuzuyu his 5 year old cousin. She changes him from a careless person into someone who becomes dependable and now knows what it takes to be an adult. Wonderful story.


Aishiteruze Baby, Volume 2 (Aishiterurze Baby)
Aishiteruze Baby, Volume 2 (Aishiterurze Baby)
Author: Yoko Maki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/12/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This series is very good. About a boy who until now has pretty much thought just about himself. Enter this little girl, his cousin, whose mom has left her and now he is in charge of taking care of her. He has a few miss-steps along the way but he starts to grow up and become a much better kid while taking care of her. Good story.


All Nippon Airline: Paradise 3000 Feet (Yaoi)
All Nippon Airline: Paradise 3000 Feet (Yaoi)
Author: Kei Azumaya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Well I thought it was going to be better than it was. It is about adults but I'm not sure how mature they are. It all concerns the people who work at Nippon Airlines and each 'story' is short. But after awhile the constant reference to A.N.A.L airlines gets old. Not my favorite book by a long shot and I wasn't impressed by the art work.


Appliquilt for Christmas
Appliquilt for Christmas
Author: Tonee White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I bought this book a number of years ago and never really used any of the patterns in it. I guess my taste has changed and I'm ready to give it up to someone else who will enjoy it. It has lovely patterns (especially the reindeer on the front) and they are easy to do by anyone. All the patterns are still in this book. I must say that "That Patchwork Place" which is the publisher always has great books.


Bakuman, Vol. 2
Bakuman, Vol. 2
Author: Tsugumi Ohba
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/12/2011


This series is EXCELLENT. This group wrote Death Note and that was one fantastic series, managa and anime. This deals with what the artist and the company's that put out manga do. A very realistic look at what happens. Being a manga artist/storyteller is not for the faint of heart. This series concerns the two major characters kids who start out with a guy who loves to write stories and wants to make them into manga, and a kids who loves to draw, and does it beautifully. Read these they are so so good.


The Battle of Evernight (Bitterbynde, Bk 3)
The Battle of Evernight (Bitterbynde, Bk 3)
Author: Cecilia Dart-Thornton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/24/2012


I read the first two books and was waiting to read this but I just couldn't finish. It just didn't engage me as the others did. Some one else may find it OK but you'll have to read it for yourself to see what you think.


Beast Master, Volume 1
Beast Master, Volume 1
Author: Kyousuke Motomi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/9/2012


I've seen this book on line from one of the manga sites it is just a cute story, but I would love to read the real thing since sometimes the translation is not good. But I do appreciate those that do the work.


Best Breadmachine Recipes
Best Breadmachine Recipes
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/20/2011


This is a very good book for the bread-machine. I have had not trouble with any of the recipes so far. It has easy to understand instructions and as long as you know your machine you should have no problem.


Better Homes and Gardens: All-Time Favorite Pies
Better Homes and Gardens: All-Time Favorite Pies
Author: Gerald Knox (Editor)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/10/2008


I've had this book for years. Great recipes that anyone should be able to make. Yum!


Better Homes and Gardens New Dieter's Cook Book
Review Date: 7/21/2009


I love this Cook Book. Great pictures, good directions and easy to make recipes. And delicious. What more could you ask for.


Better Than A Dream (Yaoi Novel)
Better Than A Dream (Yaoi Novel)
Author: Raika Sakuragi, Katsumi Asanami
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a novel, not a graphic novel. Was interesting but the translation could have been better. There were times when I wasn't sure who was talking. But for a swap not a bad 'buy'.


Billy Boyle: A World War II Mystery
Billy Boyle: A World War II Mystery
Author: James R. Benn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/17/2008


This was a great story. Good history, great characters, and the second book by this author about the same main character is just as good if not better. Highly recommended.


The Blue Girl
The Blue Girl
Author: Charles De Lint
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 11/28/2010


Imogene Yeck, former gang member and current fairy butt-kicker, is the cool "blue girl". On her first day of school in a new town, Imogene meets Maxine, an outcast, and is targeted by a group of popular bullies. The two become friends despite their polar personalities; Imogene is bold and brash where Maxine is mousy and quiet. When Imogene notices a pale boy watching her, she asks about him and learns the story of Ghostactually Adriananother outcast who was harassed by cliques, died under mysterious circumstances a few years earlier, and now haunts the school. His only companions are a handful of amoral fairies. He convinces them to show themselves to Imogene, but this draws the soul-sucking anamithim to her, endangering her life and the people she loves. Adrian, Imogene, and Maxine alternate as narrators. Tied together as victims of both the magical world and of everyday tyrants, they are sympathetic characters who speak with sharp, snappy dialogue. This complicated story is made more intricate by the now/then time shifts between chapters. The two popular bullies are stereotypically flat, but the remaining characters are well drawn and delightful. Imogene's brutal choices about where to draw the line between self-protection and becoming like her tormentors are clearly depicted.


Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Blueberry Muffin Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 3)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 4/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I've read all of these books by Fluke and they are great fun, love the characters. And I've made quite a number of the recipes and haven't found a bad one yet. Enjoy.


Bond of Dreams, Bond of Love, Vol 1
Bond of Dreams, Bond of Love, Vol 1
Author: Yaya Sakuragi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/24/2012


This story is just so cute. Here is Ryuomie and AO. AO has been going to the temple since he moved in with his grandma after his parents divorced. He was going to the temple at night doing the 100 prayers so his grandma would get better and come home from the hospital. Ryo caught him and ever since they have been attached, AO to Ryo as brothers. Now AO is thinking of Ryo as more than a brother or friend and Ryo is shocked at AO's frank take on their relationship. This is cute and funny and just fun. I have read this online and am so glad that it is now published. Can't wait for the next volume.


A Bride's Story, Vol 2
A Bride's Story, Vol 2
Author: Kaoru Mori
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This story, Volumes 1 and 2, are wonderful. The artwork is exceptionally beautiful. The detail in the dress alone is impressive. And the story, well it really draws you in. Here is a young boy who has had an arranged marriage with this young woman and the two really do fit together very well even though he is much younger than her. You need to realize that in those times marriages were arranged and age was not a consideration, marriages were an alliance. She is about 20 and he is 13. But he is mature beyond his years and she is a lovely caring woman. If you like a story, not the usual manga, this will draw you in and make you want to read this over and over. I have my own copies and I would never give these up. I bought these after getting to read some online and I'm glad I did.


Cafe Latte Rhapsody (Yaoi)
Cafe Latte Rhapsody (Yaoi)
Author: Toko Kawai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/12/2013


This is such a cute story. Here you have a guy working in a book store Serizawa who meets a university student Keito who to everyone seems to be scary but is really shy and a bit awkward. Serizawa gets to know Keito and a relationship starts after awhile, but Serizawa thinks he can't possibly have found someone permanent to love at last. They are funny and sweet and they have their problems but it comes out well in the end. The art is good and the story for me even better.


1 to 20 of 150 - Page: