Beth P. (fbclibrarian) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 103 - Page:
Across China
Across China
Author: Peter Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/22/2006


I enjoyed this book very much. I have a friend who was a missionary in China.
Across China is a journal about places most Americans will never see.


All is Grace
All is Grace
Author: William D. Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/9/2007


William Miller was the biographer for Dorothy Day eulogized as a "nonviolent social radical of luminous personality." Miller recounts her baptism by fire in the 1920's.


The Allingham Case-Book
The Allingham Case-Book
Author: Margery Allingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/13/2007


Eighteen highly entertaining mysteries will delight the connoisseur. Many of the stories here feature the famous detective, Albert Campion.


Alvin Journeyman (Alvin Maker, Bk 4)
Alvin Journeyman (Alvin Maker, Bk 4)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 8/31/2013


Too much profanity for me.


Animal doctors: What it's like to be a veterinarian and how to become one
Animal doctors: What it's like to be a veterinarian and how to become one
Author: Patricia Curtis
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2007


I enjoyed these stories from a variety of veterinarians in a variety of places; farms, circuses, zoos, etc. Very good for a person that wants to be a vet or loves animals.


appointment in Dallas: the final solution to the assassination of JFK
Review Date: 5/25/2015


Too much profanity for me.


Appointment in Dallas: the final solution to the assassination of JFK
Review Date: 5/25/2015


Too much profanity for me.


Be Patient, Pooh
Be Patient, Pooh
Author: Kathleen W. Zoehfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2010


Excellent children's book on patience. I think Pooh is an excellent teacher.


Beach Girls (Hubbard's Point, Bk 5)
Beach Girls (Hubbard's Point, Bk 5)
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 2/26/2007


Twenty-five years ago three friends grew from girls to women on the sandy shores of Hubbard's Point, Connecticut, forging a bond they swore would last always. Then time and distance drew them apart--and one was lost forever. Now her nine-year-old daughter has returned to the Point with her widowed father.


The Blessing
The Blessing
Author: John Trent, Gary Smalley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/22/2006


This is a good book on parent-child relationships and is useful for other relationships too.


The Bonfire of the Vanities
The Bonfire of the Vanities
Author: Tom Wolfe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/10/2012


Too much profanity for me.


A Busy Woman's Guide to Prayer:  Forget the Guilt and Find the Gift
A Busy Woman's Guide to Prayer: Forget the Guilt and Find the Gift
Author: Cheri Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Pray more without changing your job description by creatively weaving prayer through your daily life.
This was a very useful book. A large group of us studied it together but the group was too large for suitable discussion. I wish I could go through it again with just a few women.


Chasing Redbird
Chasing Redbird
Author: Sharon Creech
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/28/2015


Excellent story. I enjoyed it very much.


The China Governess (Albert Campion, Bk 17)
The China Governess (Albert Campion, Bk 17)
Author: Margery Allingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/27/2007


Adopted heir Timothy Kinnit refuses to marry his beloved Julia until he learns the truth about his parentage. But when Albert Campion traces the roots of young Timothy's family tree, he finds them buried in a century-old scandal involving a jilted nanny and a rather nasty murder. When another tragic death occurs, a sinister Victorian blood legacy suddenly threatens the lives fo the two young lovers...and Campion's to boot!


The Crime at Black Dudley
The Crime at Black Dudley
Author: Margery Allingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/7/2006


This book was fun! I woke up at 3:00 a.m. one night, couldn't sleep so I decided to finish the book that I was two thirds through. I want to read more of Albert Campion's adventures.


A Dad After God's Own Heart
A Dad After God's Own Heart
Author: Paul Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/3/2007


Paul Lewis is president of Family University and founder of its College of Fathering--Dads University. He speaks nationally to the media and to audiences in church, corporate and community settings about fathering and family stregths.


Dad Is Fat
Dad Is Fat
Author: Jim Gaffigan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/25/2016


Very funny book, but too much profanity for me. Parents and parents-to-be can learn a lot from this book.


Dancers in Mourning (Albert Campion, Bk 9)
Dancers in Mourning (Albert Campion, Bk 9)
Author: Margery Allingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/26/2008


Another great Allingham book. It's amazing how she keeps you guessing "who done it." I couldn't put it down.
"Nasty pranks were being played on dancer Jimmy Sutane, star of London's Argosy Theatre. They began backstage as tuppenny-ha'penny squirts of malice. They became a pound's worth of trouble when they spread to the Sutanes' country estate. Someone wanted Jimmy's famous feet to tap their final performance."


Dead As a Scone (Royal Tunbridge Wells, Bk 1)
Dead As a Scone (Royal Tunbridge Wells, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Benrey, Ron Benrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Very slow start. Second half got very exciting.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 804
Review Date: 8/19/2008


Nicholas Sparks is an excellent writer but "Dear John" doesn't belong in a church library and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Sex outside of marriage is wrong.


1 to 20 of 103 - Page: