S M P. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/22/2014


I will undoubtedly read this entire trilogy again.


THE AWAKENERS
THE AWAKENERS
Author: SHERI S. TEPPER
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/22/2014


I think this book will stick with me for quite a long time. I am developing quite a fondness for Tepper's work.


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 2/26/2012


I liked this book. I would happily recommend it and I can see myself re-reading it once more (in the distant future, after I've forgotten some of the details and can be surprised again).


The Book of Unholy Mischief
The Book of Unholy Mischief
Author: Elle Newmark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/26/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book, but I thought the story moved slowly. Because I found the book easy to put down, it took me much longer to finish reading it than I would have liked.


Bridges of Madison County (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Bridges of Madison County (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Quite enjoyable.


The Day My Butt Went Psycho (Butt Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Day My Butt Went Psycho (Butt Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Andy Griffiths
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 10/22/2014


While a wee bit crude, I really thought my children would find it entertaining -- and, they did, just not entertaining enough to finish the book.


Death's Head (Death's Head, Bk 1)
Death's Head (Death's Head, Bk 1)
Author: David Gunn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/11/2010


I really liked this. I thought the story was fast-moving and interesting. I look forward to reading another by this author. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys sifi. I'd put this up next to the first Halo book.


Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
Author: Lynne Truss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Loved this book.


Falling Sideways
Falling Sideways
Author: Tom Holt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/26/2012


An imaginative read, but I didn't find it especially easy to get through. The humor was worth the effort though.


First Annual Grand Prairie Rabbit Festival
First Annual Grand Prairie Rabbit Festival
Author: Ken Wheaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/26/2012


A good read for a jaded Catholic (or even an un-jaded and open-minded one). I don't know how it would ring for someone unfamiliar with Catholicism.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1272
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Very good. I liked the book so much I'm not sure I want to see the movie, since I'm pretty certain they won't be able to catch all the details.


The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 10/22/2014


I thought it was a lovely read and my daughter (11) could hardly put it down.


Headlines
Headlines
Author: Jay Leno
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Quite funny.


Labyrinth
Labyrinth
Author: Kate Mosse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Not nearly as easy-to-read and fast-paced as The DaVinci Code, but very similar. If you made Langdon into a woman, this might be what you'd get.


The Laws of Money, The Lessons of Life: Keep What  You Have and Create What You Deserve
Review Date: 2/26/2012


I thought her anecdotes helped illustrate the points well. Rather wish I'd read this when I was 20 instead of ... well, instead of now.


Legend
Legend
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 2/26/2012


About what I expect from Deveraux: an easy read, pretty obvious romance, surmountable obstacles.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 11/11/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Adequate. I don't think I would have finished this book if I didn't have the audio version. As it was, I'm not convinced it wasn't a waste of time. Lots of potential in the story, but I feel like the author just didn't try hard enough.


Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1)
Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 564
Review Date: 2/26/2012


I liked it, but this book isn't nearly as much fun as the Plum series.


The Portable Door
The Portable Door
Author: Tom Holt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2012


I appreciate Holt's humor and the way he seems uncaged by the ordinary.


Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Author: Jane Austen, Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 509
Review Date: 2/26/2012


More enjoyable if you're familiar with the original. I would have liked a few more zombies in it.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: