C. L. (fullybooked) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/21/2009


Great writing. Typical of Tyler - always a bit depressing.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 1/2/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Trite dialogue, unbelievable characters and situations. Feels like a first effort and hard to believe she wrote the excellent Water for Elephants.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am a Grisham fan, having read all of his books. This one I found to be quite under par - in fact, boring! If you are new to Grisham, I would recommend reading his earlier works such as "Rainmaker," "The Client," or "The Pelican Brief."


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 679
Review Date: 3/13/2009


I started the Mitford series during a difficult time in my Christian walk. The lighthearted writing infused with subtle, simple Christian living was a perfect read to help me put life into perspective. Many "laugh out loud" moments. Yes, the setting is pretty utopic but we can all dream... Loved it - and the entire series.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 8/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Familiar-type storyline. It was okay but I felt the writing boggs down with too much descriptive narrative. However, there is an interesting twist at end.


The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
The Attorney (Paul Madriani, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 3/21/2009


Granddaughter kidnapped, grandfather accused of murder. Good courtroom suspense.


The Beet Queen
The Beet Queen
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


After reading and thoroughly enjoying Erdrich's "Master Butcher's Singing Club," I picked up this book with high expectations. I was disappointed and found the story to all be a bit strange...


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Death tells of the holocaust from "his" perspective in story of German family. This book has become part of our high school library collection and is a creative way to approach students with this period of time in history. After being so impressed with this book, I read Zusak's "I am the messenger" which, although interesting, I found to be a confusing read.


Breach of Duty (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 14)
Breach of Duty (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 14)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 3/13/2009


Blah. Simplistic writing.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 798
Review Date: 5/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Carbon-copy of Bridget Jones Diary. Not very original!


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 3/21/2009


I have liked every Fannie Flagg book I've read and this is no exception. Light-hearted fun!


Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/12/2009


Thought-provoking, but was disappointed when it became too "Green Mile-ish" (Stephen King). Worth quoting: "When you give birth to a daughter, you've just met the person whose hand you'll be holding the day you die"


City of Light
City of Light
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A fascinating journey to early 1900s Buffalo, New York focusing on the building of the Niagra Falls power plant. The main character is the female headmistress of a girls school who, harboring a secret of her own, is caught up in a whirlwind of murder, intrigue, power and politics. The other characters, both real and fictional, are full of life and I guarantee you will never think the same of President Cleveland again!
A wonderful historical novel dealing with the industrial revolution, environmentalism, business, politics, womens social issues, the development of a city, and even a little romance.


Cloud Chamber
Cloud Chamber
Author: Michael Dorris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Nice epic tale. Worth quoting: "...you lived the first half of your life for your parents and the second half of your life for your child and if you could manage to squeeze a vacation or two in the middle for yourself you should count yourself fortunate."


The Coffin Quilt: The Feud Between the Hatfields and the McCoys
The Coffin Quilt: The Feud Between the Hatfields and the McCoys
Author: Ann Rinaldi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/26/2010


Fanny, the youngest of the McCoy clan, gives voice to the events of the famous Hatfield-McCoy feud. Set in 1800's Appalachia, this is a tale of trouble between two families which escalates into violence when the oldest McCoy daughter, Ro, falls in love and runs off with a Hatfield boy.
Throughout the story, Fanny is haunted by "Old Yeller" and Ro's work on the morbid coffin quilt which seems to create a shadow of future loss. The dramatic retelling of the fates of these two families will keep you absorbed to the bitter end.


The Commoner
The Commoner
Author: John Burnham Schwartz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Sorry, I found the writing style to be too simplistic.


The Condition (P.S.)
The Condition (P.S.)
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


An original story concept; interesting and well-written.


The Copper Beech
The Copper Beech
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/13/2009


Delightful story of lives intertwined in a small Irish village. I'm a Binchy fan - some of her books are better than others - this is one of the better ones!


Critical Mass
Critical Mass
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 3/13/2009


I was vacationing on our sailboat in the San Juans when I picked up this book to read and was pleasantly surprised to find the setting of the book is in the San Juan Islands. This was my first Martini and I thoroughly enjoyed his writing style and the intrigue of the story. Subsequently, I read several other Martini's which I didn't care for. So, if you're trying Martini for the first time - this is the one to read!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4388
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was quite an amusing book. Quick read and interesting look into the mind of an autistic savant. I was reminded of "Rainman" (if you're old enough to remember that movie!)


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: