Maureen M. (momack) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
All Too Human: A Political Education
All Too Human: A Political Education
Author: George Stephanopoulos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/4/2010


Very interesting but what an ego!


Dish
Dish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/8/2012


Really interesting book about tabloid journalism, how and why it's so popular. It will change your opinion of some famous people, not for the better, and could change your opinion of tabloids, maybe for the better.


Edison: A Biography (Francis Parkman Prize Edition)
Edison: A Biography (Francis Parkman Prize Edition)
Author: Matthew Josephson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/2/2010


This is a very detailed book about the life of a very interesting man.


Francis Ford Coppola's Zoetrope: All-Story
Francis Ford Coppola's Zoetrope: All-Story
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/16/2012


This is an amazing book of well written short stories. I judge the success of short stories by my desire to keep reading. I don't think there was one story that I was glad to see the end of. Excellent!


Getting the Real Story: Nellie Bly and Ida B. Wells (Women Who Dared)
Review Date: 7/23/2009


This Book is a brief overview of the lives of two extraordinary women who were WAY ahead of their time. It is written in a style that people of all ages could appreciate.


How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else
Review Date: 4/19/2010


Rich people [he seriously is 'a son of privilege'] are annoying but his story is really fun to read. As Tim Gunn would say "make it work!"


Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Author: Queen Noor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 6/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I was hoping for *her* story but it's mostly her story about her husband and the situation in Jordan. Certainly an interesting perspective; just not what I thought it was going to be.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1402
Review Date: 4/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a surprisingly good book. I knew the general story but did not anything about the author, who is a writer! Imagine that! A great story that any pet lover will enjoy and relate to. I laughed out loud, and cried my eyes out. A wonderful journey and I was sorry to see it end.


River God
River God
Author: Wilbur Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2012


Very long and detailed but so interesting. Great characters and some interesting hypotheses about why the ancient Egyptians believed what they believed. Good read.


A Walk Across America
A Walk Across America
Author: Peter Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/12/2011


Such a great story but really not a great writer. I am surprised that I never heard about these books during the 70s when he was doing this journey, writing about it and being covered by National Geographic. I recently [2011] read both this one where he leaves NY and ends up in New Orleans, and the second book The Walk West which takes him across the country to the Oregon coast. I was so impressed by his story but shocked by his naivete'. In spite of the poor writing, these have really stayed with me.


1 to 10 of 10