James O. - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 8/23/2009


I liked the book and the setting in Venice with the references to the Italiain culture and thinking about life and relationships in general was different. The approach to crime solving in Venice was a new approach for me since I wasn't familiar with the author's style. It wasn't as much of a page turner as others but I rate the book very good and I'll probably read more about the adventures of Guido Brunetti from this author


The Black Marble
The Black Marble
Author: Joseph Wambaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/22/2010


This was the first of this author's books I've read and I really got into the characters which are developed gradually. The detectives, romance, intrigue, humor. I think this may have been the inspiration for the TV series Barney Miller, which I was really into. I liked it. It was funny and hooked me into the story line. Enjoy!


The Brethren
The Brethren
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1026
Review Date: 3/22/2010


The character were great and the legal dialogue very interesting to me. Funny and it had intrigue and a great story line. Enjoy


Collusion: A Jack Lennon Investigation Set in Northern Ireland
Collusion: A Jack Lennon Investigation Set in Northern Ireland
Author: Stuart Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/19/2014


This was one of my favorite books from Irish authors. I couldn't put it down. The characters are
very interesting. It's a very suspenseful novel.


The Color of Blood: An Irish Novel of Suspense
The Color of Blood: An Irish Novel of Suspense
Author: Declan Hughes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/16/2010


This is the second book I've read of this author and I really enjoyed it. The setting in Dublin with the interesting characters in the story make it exciting and a quick read


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 7/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Very exciting and fast moving. I recommend it


The Door to December
The Door to December
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 5/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book had it all for me: mystery, action, and the occult just to make it more interesting. I recommend it.


Finnegan's Week
Finnegan's Week
Author: Joseph Wambaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/10/2010


This was an entertaining detective book with suspense and romance between the lead character, a San Diego PD cop/actor and US Navy investigator and the investigator of toxic waste crime. Kinda light and fun to read


Hollywood Kryptonite
Hollywood Kryptonite
Author: Sam Kashner, Nancy Schoenberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2017


It was very informational for me since I was a big fan of his. Glad to find out the truth. You can draw your own conclusion but I believe he was murdered. Superman was no angel and was also a player but he didn't deserve what he got


Hour Game (Sean King & Michelle Maxwell, Bk 2)
Hour Game (Sean King & Michelle Maxwell, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 517
Review Date: 3/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't expect this kind of wild ride, cliffhanger story, adventure, intrigue and really enjoyed the action here. Hope you do too.


Line of Control (Tom Clancy's Op Center, Bk 8)
Line of Control (Tom Clancy's Op Center, Bk 8)
Author: Tom Clancy (Creator), Steve Pieczenik (Creator), Jeff Rovin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 8/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was fast paced and Clancy develops the characters well and is a colorful writer. Some of the characters at the op-center I remember from other books. I recommend it.


The Paris Option (Covert-One, Bk 3)
The Paris Option (Covert-One, Bk 3)
Author: Gayle Lynds, Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/7/2009


This was exciting to read.


The Road to Wealth : A Comprehensive Guide to Your Money
The Road to Wealth : A Comprehensive Guide to Your Money
Author: Suze Orman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/25/2009


I thought the book is useful as a reference. It's something that you skip around in to the sections that are helpful. She has some solid advice for a basic understanding. I'm still reading it.


The Testament
The Testament
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1098
Review Date: 3/22/2010


As someone familiar with wills I especially enjoyed how this story developed, the characters, romance, adventure. courtroom drama. Excellent book.


A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1245
Review Date: 12/7/2009


This was exciting to read. The characters he creates in the small town were very interesting, sometimes edgy types.


A Wanted Man (Jack Reacher, Bk 17)
A Wanted Man (Jack Reacher, Bk 17)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 10/31/2013


This was very good. Couldn't put it down like all of the Reacher series so far.


When Darkness Falls (Jack Swyteck, Bk 6)
When Darkness Falls (Jack Swyteck, Bk 6)
Author: James Grippando
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/7/2009


Very exciting and hard to put down. I will read more of this author


The Wrong Kind of Blood (Ed Loy, Bk 1)
The Wrong Kind of Blood (Ed Loy, Bk 1)
Author: Declan Hughes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very exciting and fast moving story with interesting characters made more so by the setting in Ireland.


1 to 18 of 18