SALLY W. (thameslink) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 719 - Page:
29
29
Author: Adena Halpern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2010


Very cute, entertaining book. Lighthearted, fun, undemanding read.


500 Mile Walkies
500 Mile Walkies
Author: Wallington, Mark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2008


Good, humorous read. And if you love dogs or England, you will enjoy it even more.


Above the Bright Blue Sky
Above the Bright Blue Sky
Author: Margaret Thornton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This was a highly satisfying read. A tale of the British homefront during WWII, following two young girls from Leeds who are evaucated to a small village in North Yorkshire. Well-fleshed-out characters that you care about. Looking forward to reading the sequel, "Down an English Lane". This author does a nice job with this tale and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys British home front books.


The Accidental Family
The Accidental Family
Author: Rowan Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/8/2011


Cute sequel to "The Accidental Mother" which I really enjoyed. Character-driven, well written tale about following where love follows. Delightful reading! If you enjoyed "The Accidental Mother" you will love "The Accidental Family" but this book could be read as a stand alone book.


An Accidental Life
An Accidental Life
Author: Titia Sutherland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first Titia Sutherland book that I have read but it won't be the last. This was a lovely, gentle, sweet story. Well written. This book would appeal to fans of Rosamunde Pilcher.


Across the Mersey (Campion Family #1)
Across the Mersey (Campion Family #1)
Author: Annie Groves
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/26/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is book 1 of what promises to be a very interesting series about a middle class family in Liverpool during WWII. Anyone who enjoys the books of Maureen Lee or Lilian Harry would enjoy this read.


After Jodie
After Jodie
Author: Barbara Whitnell
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/21/2010


Quick but compelling read!


Aisling Gayle
Aisling Gayle
Author: Geraldine O'Neill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/1/2011


I totally loved this involving book with wonderful characters! This is my 4th by this author and she has consistently given me wonderful reads! If you enjoy the books of Maeve Binchy or Robin Pilcher, give this author a try -- I think you will be pleasantly surprised!


Alexandra, Gone
Alexandra, Gone
Author: Anna McPartlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Another fabulous book from Anna McPartlin, who has quickly become one of my favourite authors! Love her characterizations -- these are people that you care about and wish you really knew. Love the premise of people meeting and becoming friends at an actual performer's (Jack Lukeman aka Jack L) concert and as a result of reading this book the performer, who is extremely popular in Ireland, has popped up on my music radar and I have downloaded great music of his as a direct result of reading this book. Hated to see this book end! Highly recommend!


Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I thought this was a very well written, fictionalized account of Alice Liddell's relationship with Charles Dodgson. Because it is fiction, there is plenty of speculation about what actually happened in the course of their relationship, but I found this book more palatable than Katie Roiphe's "Still She Haunts Me" which tackles the same subject but in which Dodgson comes off as a much more tortured soul. I thought this was a well-balanced, thoughtful portrayal of Dodgson within the cultural boundaries of the Victorian age. Dodgson was a genius, a pioneer of photography and a man awkward in the society of his peers, but comfortable with the unthreatening presence of little girls. Alice was one of his first muses and it seems as though she was never able to move beyond the role she was ultimately cast in -- that of the little girl who inspired "Alice in Wonderland". Insightful and fascinating read!

Unlike a previous reviewer, I did not find any indication that Charles Dodgson was a pedophile...there was nothing sexual about his relationships with little girls that I could discern. But that is for each reader to make up his or her own mind about.


Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/25/2011


I thought this was a very well written, fictionalized account of Alice Liddell's relationship with Charles Dodgson. Because it is fiction, there is plenty of speculation about what actually happened in the course of their relationship, but I found this book more palatable than Katie Roiphe's "Still She Haunts Me" which tackles the same subject but in which Dodgson comes off as a much more tortured soul. I thought this was a well-balanced, thoughtful portrayal of Dodgson within the cultural boundaries of the Victorian age. Dodgson was a genius, a pioneer of photography and a man awkward in the society of his peers. Alice was one of his first muses and it seems as though she was never able to move beyond the role she was ultimately cast in -- that of the little girl who inspired "Alice in Wonderland". Insightful and fascinating read!


Alive and Kicking
Alive and Kicking
Author: Beryl Kingston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/5/2010


The heroine, Rose Boniface, is a very empathetic character and the storyline is quite compelling. I did not have many expectations of this book, and found myself very pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable and involving this book was.


All the Sweet Promises
All the Sweet Promises
Author: Elizabeth Elgin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This was such an involving read! This is my first book with this author but it certainly won't be my last! Some nice surprises and a twist that I never saw coming! If you love books about England during WWII, like Lilian Harry's books, you will find this a very satisfying read!


all these lonely people
all these lonely people
Author: gervase phinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/14/2009
Helpful Score: 2


II have always enjoyed Gervase Phinn's books and this slim volume is no different. Based on the Beatles song, Eleanor Rigby, this is the story of Father MacKenzie's last months, as he resolutely and bravely faces his impending death. Actually quite a heartwarming story and a quick read.


Always I'll Remember
Always I'll Remember
Author: Rita Bradshaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A British homefront book, taking place in Sunderland and Yorkshire, between 1939 and 1955 -- it is a rich and involving read, with characters you come to care about and a marvelous characterization of one of the more evil characters I've ever met in a book, the mother of the main character, Abby. I felt compelled to keep reading until finished.


Amish Buggies Across America
Amish Buggies Across America
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very informative book with lots of interesting pictures. The writing is poor, very amateurish, but the information is there.


An Amish Christmas
An Amish Christmas
Author: Cynthia Keller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


As another reviewer mentioned, this reads like a made-for-tv film -- a bad, made-for-tv film. Simplistic, moralistic and predictable. I made it 1/3 of the way in before I threw it down in disgust. Yes, I am sure it has a heart-warming ending but I could not make it to the end to find out.


Angels in the Snow (Mills & Boon Special Releases)
Angels in the Snow (Mills & Boon Special Releases)
Author: Sarah Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/26/2011


Romance, romance, romance. This is not really my genre, but this book reminded me of Robyn Carr's Virgin River series; emotionally bruised, lucious women and their relationships with strong, silent, reluctant to love men with outstanding physiques. Big difference between this book and the Virgin River series -- this takes place in the Lake District of England during the Christmas holidays. If you like this genre, you will enjoy this book.


Animal Instinct
Animal Instinct
Author: Alan Titchmarsh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Involving with interesting characters. Quick, satisfying read about a Nature Reserve in Devon, England, and it's future when it's founder suddenly dies, leaving it to his son who had emigrated to Australia ten years earlier. A little romance, a little suspense, lots of twists and turns = enjoyment! Alan Titchmarsh writes charming fiction.


Anna's Return (Pleasant Valley, Bk 3)
Anna's Return (Pleasant Valley, Bk 3)
Author: Marta Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/5/2011


Marta Perry's Pleasant Valley series is my favourite new series in this genre and Anna's Return is a satisfying conclusion to the series. Characters you can really care about; an enjoyable, satisfying book (and series) from beginning to end.


1 to 20 of 719 - Page: