John O. (johnnyo24) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Broke: The Plan to Restore Our Trust, Truth, and Treasure
Review Date: 7/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book a great look at the root economic problems that the US faces and how social, political and economic policies have led the US to this point in history. The book is well cited so the reader can do the research themselves. Read the book with a mind to question what you think you know and ready to research things for yourself. I recommend the book to everyone.


Glenn Beck's Common Sense: The Case Against an Out-of-Control Government, Inspired by Thomas Paine
Review Date: 1/18/2011


The author lays out some fundamental facts about how our country started and what England did to push the colonists to write the declaration of independence. The book also draws many parallels to some of the same thinking that is going on now in the government. It is a easy read and very informative.


Idiots Unplugged (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Idiots Unplugged (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/9/2011


The Cd was informative but only if you didn't hear the Radio Show since it is Glenn Beck show excerpts. Still somewhat humorous but not what more would be expecting


Killing Lincoln: The Assassination that Changed America Forever
Review Date: 1/5/2012


This book is a compelling look from many perspectives of Lincolns assassinatio. It puts you in the story which is always good for a book. I would recommend this book if you like history. The excerpts in the back from the original newspapers of the day are also fascinating.


The Lotus and the Cross: Jesus Talks with Buddha
The Lotus and the Cross: Jesus Talks with Buddha
Author: Ravi Zacharias
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/11/2012


This book gives a very concise contrast of Buddhism and Christianity. If anyone is interested in a 1 hour (or less) read on the subject in a story book form I would recommend this book. It obviously will not get into many of the intricacies but it gets to the basic root of each belief system.


Off the Grid: Inside the Movement for More Space, Less Government, and True Independence in Modern America
Review Date: 4/5/2011


If you are looking for a book that is about how it is done then this is not for you. Also the first 7 1/2- 8 chapters are filled with obvious bias without any sign of trying to research the opposite side. The stories about some of the people are short, disconnected and leave you wondering why they are in the book. The author even admits that some of his subjects have asked not to be included or certain interviews to be left out. In these cases I would have preferred that they were left out so the book didn't go down a story line to a dead end and leave the reader hanging. Honestly the first 7 chapters were painful to read and had me wondering why I was wasting my time. Chapters 9-12 were markedly better and actually readable. They followed a line of reasoning from beginning to end. Whether the reader agrees with the author or not these chapters are at least informative and let you in on the subjects thinking. I would say read the intro skip to Chapter 8 at the earliest and you will come away with the same ideas as if you read the whole book. I gave the first part zero stars. The last part pulled it up with a 3 1/2 star rating to a total of 1 1/2 stars.


The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey, Bk 1)
The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey, Bk 1)
Author: Paul Richard Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I would recommend this book to anyone with young adult readers. The book is well set up in the beginning but not slow, and it will hold the readers attention. The book demonstrates the choices in life that are the hard ones to make and so many people choose to take the easy way out. It shows that every choice is yours and does it in a way that is believable and not overdone.


Rise of the Elgen (Michael Vey, Bk 2)
Rise of the Elgen (Michael Vey, Bk 2)
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/15/2012


A good followup to the first book. Not as good with more character development but the end of the book leaves the reader waiting for the next book to see what happens.


A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories that Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit
Review Date: 1/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The book starts out a little slow but as you get to the last 4-5 chapters it all comes together and makes for a good introspective Christmas time read for all of you that get a little too busy or overwhelmed.


Skipping Christmas (Large Print)
Skipping Christmas (Large Print)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/18/2011


Want to add some laughs to your holidays? Read a chapter every night or two before you go to bed and all the stress and insanity of the Christmas season will melt away with your laughter. Easy, light reading.


To Try Men's Souls: A Novel of George Washington and the Fight for American Freedom
Review Date: 1/18/2011


This is one of the best fiction books I have read in a very long time. I couldn't put it down and had it finished in 1 plane trip and a few more hours. I rarely read a book that can't wait until tomorrow. Woven together eloquently, this story of three people, two known s and one unknown, bring to life the reality of war and the possible thinking of our first president. This book is a somber reminder of what our fore-fathers went through to win our freedom and independence.


Valley Forge: George Washington and the Crucible of Victory (George Washington 2)
Review Date: 1/5/2012


The sequel book of "To Try Mens Souls" was a good read and definitely recommended but it does not have the same type of "can't put it down" as the first. The people portrayed are not as compelling as the first book but that being said I was not disappointed as the book is still a quality piece. A must read if you have read the first book.


1 to 12 of 12