Reviews - Trish L. (trishlamoree)

1 to 20 of 20
Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Elle Jasper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/21/2011


"I liked it but I didn't love it. The author has a tendency to want to explain every movement of the day which gets tedious. The number of times she walked the dog, for example, reminded me of the tedium of normal everyday duties of dog life rather than the fun of playing with the dog.

I agree that the end of the book was easier to read than the beginning. I liked the wild child tattoo artist who was a screw up in the past. The vampires were believable, but her resistance to their protection bordered on stupid. She put them all in danger by ignoring their realistic warnings and never really had to face her own culpability for the unnecessary danger she caused."


Belong to Me (Wicked Lovers, Bk 5 )
Belong to Me (Wicked Lovers, Bk 5 )
Author: Shayla Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/13/2011


"Finally, some hot erotica that isn't all about the sex. There's a plot and real characters with depth and feeling. There's a lot of graphic sex, safe BDSM scenes, a glimpse into the evil side of BDSM gone wrong, and action that doesn't just deal with a man and woman's body parts. =)"


Butterfly (Butterfly, Bk 1)
Butterfly (Butterfly, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Harvey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 11/8/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Possibly one of my favorite books of all time. Bordering on erotica, this book takes the whorehouse to the other side of the fence. Men are now on sale after been trained in the arts of the bedroom. The emotions were realistically woven.

With the novelty of the men on sale instead of women, one might think that the book might lack in a solid plot but author Kathryn Harvey weaves the heart-engaging story of the woman behind the men and the corruption that she spends a lifetime to reveal to the world.

I loved the premise. I loved the characters. I loved the story. I loved how the plot wove so many different elements, people and events into one beautiful conceived and executed whole."


The Catswold Portal
The Catswold Portal
Author: Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/8/2010


"If your world is ruled by the cats in your heart and home, this book is a must read. There are parts that get slightly sluggish, but only because I wanted the story of the other side of the portal more than I related to the moping widower who doesn't redeem himself until the end.

While it's more solemn that I would have liked, it had a good plot and a happy ending."


Crystal Singer (Crystal Singer, Bk 1)
Crystal Singer (Crystal Singer, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 11/8/2010


"A young girl not quite good enough to achieve her first dream is offered another challenge, one that leads her into a place that needs her more than she imagined anything could. An all-consuming planet for which she's absolutely perfect.

At the peak of her writing, Anne McCaffrey delivers the best series of her career. If you've only read the Dragonriders, you've missed her best in this one."


Elizabeth's Wolf (Breeds, Bk 3)
Elizabeth's Wolf (Breeds, Bk 3)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 3/21/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I liked this book. The premise of Dash as a war hero was heart-felt for me. The fact that he was driven to live by Cassie and her daughter was sweet and charming. The way that Dash treated Cassie with kid gloves, patience and soft love was delightful. Cassie's realistic response to Dash's sudden interest in her life was believable and the progression of their relationship was very well done.

All that said... My one beef was the obvious ploy by the author that got the kid out of the way so that the adults could have Lots of sex. I'm not against the sex. It was wonderful, shockingly graphic (which I sort-of like), and realistic (as in it didn't go off on ridiculous renditions of karma sutra positions and yet didn't limit itself to missionary). It was the that the author pulled a key character (the daughter) out of the book in an unbelievable way. The book lost something when she did that and I just wish that she'd taken the harder route of actually having to juggle the sex life around a sensitive child.

Still, I understand why the author took that route in this type of book, so I forgave her and overall enjoyed the book enough that I can't wait to read more of the Breeds. =)"


Fleet Blade
Fleet Blade
Author: Beth Kery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/13/2011


"Surprisingly fun read."


Hurt Me So Good
Hurt Me So Good
Author: Joely Sue Burkhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/13/2011


"This is the most honest and knowledgeable representation of a true masochist/sadist relationship I've ever seen in any book. The plot surrounding the relationship was fun but the relationship was the starring role. The characters were true to the BDSM scene.

I have to say that this isn't the typical "You're my slave and must do as I say," type of BDSM erotica book. Instead it was the way a truly romantic relationship between a masochist and sadist can unfold and develop. If you're not a masochist or sadist, you might consider it dangerous, heavy or too severe, but if you care to look into the mindset of sadism or masochism, this is a better primer than the Story of O.

Personally, I loved this book and applaud the author for authenticity and her ability to weave it into a story that was easy to read."


Jeweled (Court of Edaeii, Bk 1)
Jeweled (Court of Edaeii, Bk 1)
Author: Anya Bast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/21/2011
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Take the french revolution, mix in a touch of Kushiel's political world, and douse it in gasoline and set it on fire with sex... bold, graphic, tilt-your-head-to-the-side-with-awe sex! If you ever wanted a manual on how to have a threesome, this is good stuff for it. It begins with a woman who's suppressed her emotions, honestly and for good reason. It builds into a relationship with one man and then expands into balancing the emotional needs of two men and a woman's confusion at wanting two men. Sluice in a bit of psychic powers, a touch of the misfit, the adventure of ...

It's a good good book. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is that personally, the sex was too graphic and some of the positions were a little unbelievable to me, but that's just a personal choice. The fact that all of the characters grew emotionally throughout the book more than made up for that for me. It's something that a LOT of authors just don't do."


Phule Me Twice (Phule's Company, Bk 4)
Phule Me Twice (Phule's Company, Bk 4)
Author: Peter J. Heck, Robert Asprin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/8/2010


"I'll never get enough of this series. I could read them over and over again.

Quirky black-sheep playboy with a golden touch shares his fortunes (both monetary and creativity) with a group of outcasts who become the shining stars under his leadership."


Rogue Wave
Rogue Wave
Author: Maureen A Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/9/2010


"From the chilly Widow's Tale to the warm inviting beaches of Hawaii in Rogue's Tale. Not quite as good as her first book, but still wonderful. This one you'll want to read on the beach or out in the back yard in the hammock while sipping ice tea or even better a frozen daiquiri or three.

In any case, read it... beg, borrow, buy and steal this book. Maureen Miller is one of my favorite "unknown" authors, and my unsung hero."


Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft, Bk 1)
Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft, Bk 1)
Author: Juliet Blackwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 1/6/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was better than I expected. I felt that San Fransisco was accurately depicted, there was a nice distinction between Wicca as a religion and Witches in general and the characters were lovable. Overall, I liked it and will read the next eagerly."


Sprinkle with Murder (Cupcake Bakery, Bk 1)
Sprinkle with Murder (Cupcake Bakery, Bk 1)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 3/21/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first cozy mystery and I'll now read anything this author writes. Her characters are charming and believable and the cupcake shop is marvelous."


Sun-Runner's Fire (Dragon Prince, Bk 3)
Sun-Runner's Fire (Dragon Prince, Bk 3)
Author: Melanie Rawn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 11/8/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The magical system is so tight and believable that you can almost believe that you could weave light into magic in our own world. My only complaint is that Melanie Rawn has a positively uncanny knack for getting you to really get to know a character and like them right before she kills them. No red-shirts here.

Still this is my favorite series from Melanie Rawn."


The Taking
The Taking
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 704
Review Date: 11/9/2010


"Freaky end of the world scenario. I thought that it took far too long to explain and the tension never really let up throughout the whole book."


Tempo Rubato: Stolen Time (Volume 1)
Tempo Rubato: Stolen Time (Volume 1)
Author: Brendan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/9/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"No, you don't understand. This is a beautifully crafted book that you simply cannot read quickly but you want to. You want to devour every page of it with greedy little gulps. Can you really put time travel, a love interest, a famous composer, a secret compound, a Louisiana swamp, a symphony and bayou blues into one cohesive composition.

YES! And the symphony that results is totally believable, engrossing and .... but I must warn you. Read slowly or your brain will explode!!!"


Vampires Don't Wear Polka Dots (Bailey School Kids, Bk 1)
Review Date: 11/3/2011


"I do not understand how parents and educators can support and endorse these books. The children are disrespectful. They tease each other, calling each other names in order to goad each other into greater trouble-making (and this isn't just mischief, it's vandalism, bullying, and disrespect for teachers). The underlying theme is how to be bad enough to chase away a teacher they think is bad because she's getting them to do their work in class with a calm, understanding manner. At the end of the book they haven't even really learned not to be bad. All they've learned is that this one adult is someone to be scared of because she can flash her green eyes at them. Preposterous."


Werewolves Don't Go To Summer Camp (Bailey School Kids Bk 2)
Review Date: 11/3/2011


"In this second book, the future criminals in training try to poison their camp counselor who has saved more than one of them from being lost in the woods and drowned in the lake. The kids reward this man by making fun of his hairy body. They then use the excuse that he could be a werewolf to break into his cabin and steal from him.

I cannot understand why this is a scholastically recommended book. Are kids really to be considered CUTE for being criminal? Are these really the role models you want for your kids?"


Widow's Tale
Widow's Tale
Author: Maureen A. Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/9/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This story is one the of the coziest mysteries I've ever read. You'd better settle down by the fire with cup of hot cocoa with the wind blowing cold outside to read this one. Snuggle down under your blankets and stoke up the fire. Seriously. This writer is just that wonderful.

A Maine town in the dark of blizzards and a haunting mystery. A heroine both gutsy and soft. Oh, and she's smart too. The fishing boats are in the docks waiting and the crusty old salts that go with them are scattered all through this wonderful town."


Witch Fire (Elemental Witches, Bk 1)
Witch Fire (Elemental Witches, Bk 1)
Author: Anya Bast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 3/4/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really liked this book. It's heated romance with some end of the world as we know it in the background. The "they shouldn't be together" was a little weak for how efficiently it kept them apart, but well-written and edited otherwise. I liked it so much that I put the rest of the list on my wish list and am trying most of her other series. =)"


1 to 20 of 20