Reviews - Grace E. (gracer)

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
A Bed of Spices
A Bed of Spices
Author: Barbara Samuel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/4/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Fleeing from the castle after her father tries to force her to wed her twin sister's lover, Frederica der Esslingen takes refuge in the herbalist's cottage, where the son of a wealthy Strassburg merchant is studying."


Bewitched (Lords of Danger)
Bewitched (Lords of Danger)
Author: Heather Cullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/2/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This would have been a great read except for the completely unnecessary magical elements. They interrupted the flow of the story and didn't make any sense at all."


Born to Be BAD: One BAD Night / BAD to the Bone / 'Captivated' By You (Bureau of American Defense)
Review Date: 4/16/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this book because I had heard good things about Sherrilyn Kenyon. The novellas weren't bad, but it takes a lot for me to keep around anthologies. It's a fun read but stretched my imagination a little too much with a secret government agency called BAD."


Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Author: Jacquie D'Alessandro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 7/2/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the second in the Mayhem in Mayfair series, but can be read alone. I actually thought this book was better than the first book, featuring the heroine's sister. I found it refreshing that Carolyn, a widow, had actually had a loving marriage. Usually the hero or heroine has sworn off love because of an awful marriage or relationship. The intrigue was a little annoying however, and I didn't think it really added a lot to the story. Although, I will admit, I was surprised at the identity of the murderer. Nothing too original here, but a good, solid read."


Diamond Rain
Diamond Rain
Author: Constance Laux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 7/4/2007


"Isabel learns of her ex-fiance's return to London when the roguish young man tries to win the job of supplying fireworks for Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee celebration. This is a privilege which is passed down through Isabel's family, as they have been the supplier of fireworks to the royal family for centuries! The battle lines are drawn as the pair tries to outwit and outdo each other to see who will light up the night. But even as the fireworks go off, they find themselves being drawn to one another in a way even more explosive."


Embraced by Love
Embraced by Love
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 4/16/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a love redemption story. Josie and Cooper were a loving, successful couple. When Josie's sister dies, they get custody of her two kids and their marriage is tested. I didn't think Josie was a very likable heroine and she didn't deserve Cooper at all."


Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World: A Novel (Vintage International)
Review Date: 11/6/2011


"I just read this book in two days. Great read! The first couple of chapters are disorienting, give it time. It reminded me of the movie Inception, although, of course, this book predates that movie by a couple decades. Still I could see the action happening in my mind. I think it would make an excellent film. This is the first Murakami I have read. Although the characters have no names, especially the protagonist, I found myself identifying with them anyway. This book is a fun ride and hard to define. Postmodern literature at its best? Enjoyable and thought-provoking."


How to Abduct a Highland Lord (MacLean Curse, Bk 1)
How to Abduct a Highland Lord (MacLean Curse, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Hawkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 7/2/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Cute, but I don't get the curse and power over the weather element. It seems completely unnecessary, particularly in a historical. Also, the reason for the hero and heroine not getting together the first time is silly and inconsistent with the heroine's personality. It is also never really addressed and resolved at the end. The sinister plot also seems a bit shallow and trite. And I think the copy editor was asleep. Don't let the lovely cover art fool you. This book is not good and if you're like me, it will drive you crazy."


How To Enjoy A Scandal
How To Enjoy A Scandal
Author: Adrienne Basso
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/2/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is mediocre in my opinion. I think the plot devices are overdone. This book is passable, but completely unmemorable."


A Kiss in the Dark
A Kiss in the Dark
Author: Kimberly Logan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/7/2011


"This is a pretty formulaic historical romance, but a surprisingly enjoyable one. The heroine is a scandalous widow, a viscountess who married a man much older than her. The hero is a newly titled earl, after the death of his father. They are brought together to search for the hero's sister who runs away from home. What I liked about this book is it's focus on the progression of the h/h's relationship and the fact that all of the action takes place outside of ton society. While several or most of the characters are cliched, I could not put this book down. Pretty good for an author's first book."


The Lost Duke of Wyndham (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 1)
The Lost Duke of Wyndham (Two Dukes of Wyndham, Bk 1)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 642
Review Date: 7/2/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is solid. Jack is a great hero, but Grace is a little flat, in my opinion. I agree with the other reviewer who found Thomas and Amelia more intriguing. Also, I don't find this plot device very original. Didn't Cathy Maxwell have a similar situation in a couple books awhile back? But for Quinn fans, this book is delightful."


Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 5)
Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 5)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 1101
Review Date: 7/4/2007
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The ruthless and brilliant brother Vishous possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a member of the Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of a human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste true pleasure for the first time-until a destiny he didn't choose takes him into a future that does not include her..."


Mango Summer (Leisure Historical Romance)
Mango Summer (Leisure Historical Romance)
Author: Phoebe Conn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/2/2008


"Gets points for originality and eroticism, but is an unsatisfying read. The heroine pretty much whores herself out because her mom tells her to and the plot is very thin. Actually, so is the book."


Marian's Christmas Wish (Signet Regency Romance)
Marian's Christmas Wish (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/4/2007


"Miss Marian Wynswich had not been raised to be a proper young lady. Instead she had been educated to be as good as any man in everything from reading Greek to playing chess.

Thus it was with dismay that she saw what falling in love could do to the most sensible of females, as she watched her sister Ariadne turn giddy when a gentleman captured her heart. Never, Marian vowed, would she ever commit that feminine folly.

Then the dashing Lord Gilbert Ingraham came to pay a Christmas visit. And the question was not only if this worldly lord would make Marian break her vow... it was also if this man who could have any woman he wanted would also break her heart..."


Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways, Bk 1)
Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 769
Review Date: 7/4/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"When an unexpected inheritance elevates her family to the ranks of the aristocracy, Amelia Hathaway discovers that tending to her younger sisters and wayward brother was easy compared to navigating the intricacies of the ton. Even more challenging: the attraction she feels for the tall, dark, and dangerously handsome Cam Rohan.

Wealthy beyond most men's dreams, Cam has tired of society's petty restrictions and longs to return to his “uncivilized” Gypsy roots. When the delectable Amelia appeals to him for help, he intends to offer only friendshipâ€"but intentions are no match for the desire that blindsides them both. But can a man who spurns tradition be tempted into that most time-honored arrangement: marriage? Life in London society is about to get a whole lot hotter…"


She's No Faerie Princess (The Others, Bk 2)
She's No Faerie Princess (The Others, Bk 2)
Author: Christine Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 7/2/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Paranormal fans should like this book. I found it cute and entertaining. However, the villain was predictable, Queen Mab doesn't actually have a role in the story, and we don't get to see any of the actual negotiations."


Simply Sinful (Simply, Bk 1)
Simply Sinful (Simply, Bk 1)
Author: Carly Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 4/16/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a short, sizzling read by Carly Phillips. I enjoyed her Chandler brothers series and Hot Zone series. This, however, was a short read for Harlequin and left me a little unfulfilled. The plot seemed a little silly."


Sins of a Duke (Griffin Family, Bk 4)
Sins of a Duke (Griffin Family, Bk 4)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 7/3/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Disappointing...Suzanne Enoch went way off track here. The fraud plot is crazy, Josefina comes out of nowhere and never redeems herself. Sebastian is taken in by her and doesn't even really have a lot of time for interaction with Peep. Should have been Anne!!! Sebastian deserves better."


Texas Viscount (American Lords Trilogy, Bk 3)
Texas Viscount (American Lords Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Shirl Henke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/2/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very enjoyable read. Shirl Henke should be more well-known. However, none of the action takes place in Texas. It all occurs in England, with the hero taking up the title."


Thunder and Roses (Fallen Angels)
Thunder and Roses (Fallen Angels)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/1/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent romance. This is the first book in Putney's Fallen Angels series. Nicholas is a delicious, tortured, and sensitive hero. Clare is a heroine you can root for that is not annoying. Slight echoes of Maddy Timms from Kinsale's Flowers From the Storm, but this book is not nearly as emotionally draining or angsty. Don't get me wrong. Flowers From the Storm is AMAZING. Clare is the daughter of a devout Methodist preacher, but has to find her own peace with her religion and her love. Nicholas is half Welsh, half Gypsy and has had his share of disappointments and betrayals. There is a lot of anticipation and sexual tension in their relationship. Good read."


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: