Debbie W. (yomama1) - , - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Blackhouse (Lewis, Bk 1)
The Blackhouse (Lewis, Bk 1)
Author: Peter May
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/8/2014


I loved this book, and look forward to reading the other two in the trilogy. First time I've read May, and will do so again!


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 8/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As usual, Steph is up to her old tricks involving all the gang; Morelli, Ranger, Lula, Tank, and grandma. Morelli's cousin, Dom, is out of prison for stealing and stashing nine million dollars. The clue to the location of the hidden money is in Morelli's basement! As soon as Dom's associates and family members figure that out, people start ending up dead, and Stephanie is right in the middle of the whole show!


First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 7/17/2009
Helpful Score: 2


As usual, I loved David Baldacci, who writes a compelling story. However, the storyline really bothered me! I don't know why, except it made me think about how corrupt some people can be, and that fiction follows fact. Obviously, many fictional books are based on fact, but to me, this particular story was scary, in that it could very well be true, and probably is in some governmental scenarios. I'm no innocent, but to think that the First Family would stop at nothing to remain in the White House makes me wonder what they would stoop to in areas that affect the whole country, and by proxy, the whole world. And I am certainly not talking about any particular REAL adminstration, present or past. But...you should judge the story for yourself.


Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 12/13/2009


Harper Connelly was hit by lightning when she was 15 years old! Now she can find dead bodies! And...she can tell how they died.
Good book! I've read the three in the Harper Connelly series now, and will read others by Harris.


Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Hardball (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 13)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/25/2010


Excellent book! V.I. is asked to find someone who has been missing for 40 years. Her investigations stir up things others wish would stay hidden, and her niece goes missing in the middle of everything! Now, Warshawski must find her niece, and solve the missing person riddle before she loses her own life!


The Husband
The Husband
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 424
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Excellent read! I sat up until 3 a.m. to finish it! I absolutely could not put it down!


The Lost Bird (John O'Malley, Bk 5)
The Lost Bird (John O'Malley, Bk 5)
Author: Margaret Coel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A new favorite series for me. Father John O'Malley, priest of the mission at the Arapaho Wind River Reservation, and attorney Vicky Holden, team up to find the parents of a "Lost Bird"; a woman seeking her birth parents. Although the elders insist that no Arapaho infant was ever given up for adoption, an old conspiracy is uncovered by O'Malley and Holden when they discover a long-buried secret.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1042
Review Date: 11/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I would really love to sit down and have a conversation with Dan Brown! The subject matter of his novels fascinates me! And The Lost Symbol is no exception. I'm actually still reading the book as I write, but it is a must read. Whether you have read Dan Brown (The DaVinci Code) before or not, this book is captivating! Recurring character, Robert Langdon, finds himself embroiled in yet more intrigue as he is summoned to speak at a conference in Washington, D.C. When he arrives, he discovers that there is no conference. As he is wondering what to do next, a commotion occurs in the rotunda of the Capitol Building, where Langdon was to have given the talk. What Langdon discovers next is the first in a series of clues to hidden symbols, and cryptic messages guarded by the Freemasons for hundreds of years. In order to save the life of a friend, kidnapped to lure Langdon to D.C., Langdon must find and decipher the codes, thought to be the answer to the Ancient Mysteries. But the CIA has other ideas. Under no circumstances do they want these mysteries revealed!


Mary, Mary (Alex Cross, Bk 11)
Mary, Mary (Alex Cross, Bk 11)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 575
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Excellent read! Alex Cross is back! This is as exciting as Patterson's earlier Cross novels.


Mockingjay (Hunger Games, Bk 3)
Mockingjay (Hunger Games, Bk 3)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 12/18/2012


Enjoyed the book overall, but not as much as the first two in the series. I was a bit disappointed in the end, but that's from a personal standpoint.


Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas, Bk 5)
Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas, Bk 5)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/2/2013


As usual, this "Odd" book doesn't disappoint! Odd experiences all the weirdness that Koontz can conjer for Thomas' strange abilities. A must-read for Odd Thomas fans.


Relentless
Relentless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 10/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Dean Koontz is absolutely one of my favorite authors. As always, this story grabs you at the beginning, and doesn't let go until the very end! Koontz's mastery of our language is excellent, and his use of synonyms is beyond what most writers dare. Relentless is the story of a writer (Cubby Greenwich) who is reviewed by "poison pen" critic, Shearman Waxx. Cubby intends to ignore the review until he happens to find out where Waxx will be having lunch. He just wants to get a look at the man. Waxx is not what Cubby expects, and neither is the terror that follows. This book is a must-read for Koontz fans especially, but also for any lover of the thriller!


1 to 12 of 12