Lynette G. (DrQ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
2 in the Hat: A Novel of Suspense
2 in the Hat: A Novel of Suspense
Author: Raffi Yessayan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/5/2011


This is a good sequal to the first book-Eight in a box. Interesting characters and good plot twists. If you've not read the first book-you can get by. I'm looking forward to seeing what the next one holds.


The Architect  (Frank Clevenger, Bk 6)
The Architect (Frank Clevenger, Bk 6)
Author: Keith Ablow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/5/2011


The Frank Clevenger books are always worth a read and this one does not dissapoint. I've enjoyed them all and will be ready for the next one.


Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Author: Mo Hayder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 3


By far one of the most complex and best thrillers I have ever read - and I read a lot of thrillers. I generally figure out a book early on and Mo Hayder kept me on my toes till the end. Rich and tragic characters with a multi-layered plot. A must read!!!


Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Birdman (Jack Caffery, Bk 1)
Author: Mo Hayder
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/24/2014


This is by far one of the darkest but best books I've read in a long time. I'm one of those that rarely can't figure out the plot. To look at the writer's picture, you can't imagine how she came up with the story line. Jack Caffery is by far one of my favorite damaged characters. One of my friends didn't finish the book because she was scared. I LOVED it. Be warned it is dark and you'll want to read the sequel to connect the dots. Love this series!


Black Flowers
Black Flowers
Author: Steve Mosby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/4/2015


I put off reading this book because I had several other books that I wanted to read first. I'm sorry I waited. It moved quickly and was an interesting read with just enough complexity to keep me interested. I went back and have added more of his books to my wish list. I hate when reviewers tell me too much about a book. I hope this is helpful.


Bone by Bone
Bone by Bone
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 1/5/2011


If you have not tried Carol O'Connell your missing out. I always like her Mallory series but she took on new characters for Bone by Bone and Judas Child-both of which are her best. I truly enjoyed this book. It had very interesting characters, great plot twists, and saddness about the murder of a young boy. I hope she keeps trying out these new characters!!


The Book of Air and Shadows
The Book of Air and Shadows
Author: Michael Gruber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 4/11/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This is a mystery thriller with interesting and complex characters. The background of the book world and collection of books makes for a very interesting read. This is not like a James Patterson with 1 page chapeters but actually wants you to pay attention to what is going on. I just hope they don't put Tom Hanks in the movie....


Borkmann's Point (Inspector Van Veeteren, Bk 2)
Review Date: 4/4/2013


For those of you who are not yet hooked on the Euro writers, give Hakan Nesser a try. The build up of the characters is great and the story is interesting. I for one am always looking for the mext one and in this case the Inspector Van Veeteren series has me hooked


The Burning (Maeve Kerrigan, Bk 1)
The Burning (Maeve Kerrigan, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Casey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2013


Very good debut to a series. Although there is not too much of a mystery the tension and plotting keep you engaged. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.


The Burnt House (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 16)
The Burnt House (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 16)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 1/27/2009


As always-a very good read.


Call the Dying
Call the Dying
Author: Andrew Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/25/2009


The best of the Lydmouth series. Andrew just gets better and better. I just keep looking for more.


The Dead Path
The Dead Path
Author: Stephen M. Irwin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/3/2010


This is a debut suspense book and it had some great chills. A cross between King, Koonze, and Straub. Interesting characters and several twists. Don't want to say much about the story to spoil it for others. I'd read his next novel too.


First Evidence (Colin Cellars, Bk 1)
First Evidence (Colin Cellars, Bk 1)
Author: Ken Goddard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Really enjoyed this book. Good forensics, interesting characters, little sci-fi-has it all.


The Four Last Things (Roth, Bk 1)
The Four Last Things (Roth, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/28/2009


A very good British read with a lot of character development. Part of a Trilogy but can be read alone.


The General's Daughter (Paul Brenner, Bk 1)
The General's Daughter (Paul Brenner, Bk 1)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 3/24/2014


Another great book by a wonderful writer. You simply don't want to stop reading it. Twists and turns everywhere. Don't be fooled by the movie. keeps you guessing.... and I love that.


The Ghost (aka The Ghost Writer)
The Ghost (aka The Ghost Writer)
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 1/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Read a lot of reviews before finally getting a copy of The Ghost to read but it is a very good book with interesting characters and plot.


The Gold Coast (John Sutter, Bk 1)
The Gold Coast (John Sutter, Bk 1)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 3/24/2014


One of the best writers out there. He's written many books but this is one of the best. Some may find it boring but the writing itself is worth the read. Great story, good plot, interesting characters who could ask for more!


Heart of Ice
Heart of Ice
Author: Gregg Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 3/24/2009


This was a good read with good strong characters. Nice and complex.


Heartland
Heartland
Author: David Wiltse
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/11/2010


Wow-Billy Tree is a great new character! If you like your characters internally scarred and trying to survive-this is your guy. Really liked it a lot..


In a Dry Season (Inspector Banks, Bk 10)
In a Dry Season (Inspector Banks, Bk 10)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is top notch. If you like some of the British writers like Val McDermont or Mo Hayder you will enjoy this Inspector Banks book. It is complex and compelling with a multi-layered mystery.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: